Follow @PoliticsIE

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Second Irish Republic

Politics.ie Newbie
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Default Second Irish Republic

Good evening,

Due to the current great difficulties that our nation faces I have been trying to think of what I would do if I occupied the Taoiseach's seat. I am so sick of hearing doom & gloom laden market commentary and really wish we could come up with a way forward.

I have a masters Economics degree from a leading university and to be honest, all it taught me is methods of thought, analysis and the ability to see the flaws in others arguments. It did not teach and can not teach a way out of this. Modern economics is by no means a science and only seems to be when hidden behind mathematics / statistics heavy econometrics. I always remember that Keyne's "General theory" contained few equations.

Anyhoo, here is my manifesto for government. It is not fully thought through but I would appreciate peoples opinions on individual points.

1. We declare the Republic to be over and in the French style declare a second Republic. This will create a necessary break with the past and demonstrate to our citizens that we mean business.

2. The Republic will be based on enlightenment ideals i.e. Liberté, egalité, fraternité whilst bearing in mind the individual charecteristics of the Irish nation. There is no point in a nation state if we do not appreciate the extended family nature of the nation.