Follow @PoliticsIE

Thread: Do we know the names of everyone who had penalty points cancelled?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Default Do we know the names of everyone who had penalty points cancelled?

I heard a bit of a report on the radio yesterday, about some FOI data on penalty points that was obtained by the Examiner.
    Do we now have the names of everyone who had points written off, or could there still be some politicians who are trying to keep it quiet?
    If there is a future, it will be Green.

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)

No of course not. There are loads of people, the vast majority of whom will have had them cancelled legitimately "It wasn't me in the car, look here's evidence", "I was a doctor on the way to an emergency, look, here's evidence" etc etc. It would be completely inappropriate to just throw the list of names up there when there's no suggestion, let alone finding, of wrong doing on their part.

The examiner don't have the list from an FOI request.
    I'm living in America, and in America, you're on your own. America's not a country. It's just a business. Now f***ing pay me.

Mentioned
    2 Post(s)

Quote Originally Posted by Sync View Post
    No of course not. There are loads of people, the vast majority of whom will have had them cancelled legitimately "It wasn't me in the car, look here's evidence", "I was a doctor on the way to an emergency, look, here's evidence" etc etc. It would be completely inappropriate to just throw the list of names up there when there's no suggestion, let alone finding, of wrong doing on their part.

The examiner don't have the list from an FOI request.
    What basis have you for making such a claim? The whistle blowers didn't seem to think so.
    "It is important therefore that I clarify to the House that in the first instance there are significant monies within Anglo-Irish to take the strain of loan losses arising over the next three or four years, before State support is engaged." Brian Lenihan 15/01/09