Follow @PoliticsIE

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Halloween Bonfires

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Default Halloween Bonfires

Dreading next week's devastation of the green space across the road and all that goes with it (the drunk teens, the fumes from burning wheelie bins, the wait of a week for the place to be cleaned up), I called in to my local DCC office yesterday to ask if there is anything that can be done to help prevent this year's bonfire. A most unpleasant member of staff dismissively informed me that it was up to the residents to sort out. I explained that I am a resident and I am trying to sort it out, so could I have some assistance please. I had hoped that I could, at the very least, get a number to ring if I saw a bonfire in the making, so the council could take the wood etc. away, but apparently not. I asked if there was a leaflet I could drop around to the residents in the area and he went off and he came back with ONE leaflet about safety at Halloween, then reiterated that it wasn't the council's problem. I had to walk out at that stage as I was so annoyed.

So there you go, I'm trying to nip this destruction in the bud, it's going to cause all sorts of damage, pollution and expense, fingers crossed it won't cause any injury to anyone, but DCC can give me no assistance.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Hmm. That doesn't sound right. The council were trying for a long time to create designated areas under supervision with free firework displays etc.while removing unofficial bonfires. It worked pretty well in most areas bar the really dodgy spots. Dunno if budgets were cut or something. It makes our lives much easier that's for sure. I will make some enquiries and get back to you if I hear anything.
    Life is hard
    That's why no-one survives

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Thanks Firefly, I appreciate it!