Follow @PoliticsIE

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Banks Still Alive - Why?

Politics.ie Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Default Banks Still Alive - Why?

Pardon my ignorance, Im a layman and not an economist.

Its dawned on me that my doom predictions for the banks over the last year have thankfully not come about.

Ive got it wrong. They have not collapsed.

Keeping my first line in mind, can someone with greater knowledge than myself explain how there has not been a run on the banks given the following:

Roughly 1,000 Billion owed by the country between public and private debt.

The State is taking on 50 + Billion of bad loans racked up by banks/developers.

The State which is running massive budget deficits saying it can guarantee your deposit.

Shrinking Tax take and soaring unemployment & outward migration.

So why is there still between 80 ~ 180 Billion on deposit with Irish Banks (Depending on which figure you believe)?

On the face of it you would think that leaving money on deposit with a bank that is only existing due to a guarantee made by a bankrupt government is not guaranteed at all.

Have I been way off the mark, or is a run on the banks inevitable?
    Alexander Suvorov: "The bullet is a fool, the bayonet is a fine chap."

Politics.ie Member Squire Allworthy's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

The state has made itself liable and has guaranteed the deposits and more besides.

So the question becomes much more interesting, how will the country fair?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

(a) Think of the facts of the situation as it really is - the figures as they stand; the opinions of properly detached economic observers who have done their time in economic science; the historical precedents of countries who have experienced similar economic and social phenomena as us; the bent of the ruling politicians and big business who are symbiotically intertwined and whose intentions are quite clear to most independent thinking people...