Follow @PoliticsIE

Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: What do I do now???

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Default What do I do now???

I was self employed for the last 4 years. I worked with the same company all that time. I could earn up to 70K per year. It was in the terms of the contract. I was let go last April, and have worked on some of the biggest projects in the country.
    Because I was self employed
    I cannot get the dole, and because my wife earns over the threshold (and not by much) I cannot get job seekers.
    I cannot get on any back to work scheme (you have to be in receipt of dole or job seekers)
    I cannot get any of the college places that the unemployed receive (you have to be in receipt of dole job or seekers)
    If I never get a PAYE job again, I will never ever receive any payment from the gov.
    I cannot access the funding to do a post graduate as I do not qualify as I am not in receipt of any government handouts

I have a primary degree, with two post graduate diplomas. I have three children, ages 6, 2 (with down syndrome) and 8 weeks

What do I do now??
    Dear Lord Baby Jesus, I want to thank you for Pink Floyd

Politics.ie Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

This is a dilemma encountered by many right now and illustrates the reality behind the statistics.

I know of many in similar situations. Easy to say, I know, but you have to think outside the box. I will pm you. Perhaps I can be of some help.

Politics.ie Member fluffykontbiscuits's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Quote Originally Posted by controller View Post
    I was self employed for the last 4 years. I worked with the same company all that time. I could earn up to 70K per year. It was in the terms of the contract. I was let go last April, and have worked on some of the biggest projects in the country.
    I cannot get the dole, and because my wife earns over the threshold (and not by much) I cannot get job seekers.