Follow @PoliticsIE

Page 1 of 20 1234511 ... LastLast

Thread: Note to Labour - No I won't pay for your claptrap.

Politics.ie Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Default Note to Labour - No I won't pay for your claptrap.

I work in the private sector. I employ people. I read every now and again about the Labour party and their sucking up to the public service unions in real Bertie style. I have no problem ploughing my taxes back into the country for everyones shared benefit. But. I have heard enough anecdotal evidence this summer of public servants holidays in the south of France or wherever to be rightly pissed off. I don't pay taxes to fund public servants jaunts to villas in the south of France in this time of "austerity". I don't mean the 'fat cats' I mean everyday public servants who claim to be really suffering because of a few cuts. I do not support the Croke Park deal and I will not pay for it. I find it disgusting that everyday public servants think they are entitled to thr same flights of fancy that Gilmore so readily attacks when it is FF politicians who enjoy a great old time at the expense of a broke country. Warning to Labour - I don't need to base my business here at all and I won't pay for FAS, Ivor Callely or the public service's expensive foreign holidays, no bloody way, not when my taxes should be going to regenerating the country. So Labour when you are going after the 'rich guys' remember what people who drive the economy are willing to pay for and what they are not and we are for the most part very able to move our business elsewhere.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

tl;dr?
    If Labour enter government, he'll move his business out of the country unless they cut the salaries of public servants to such an extent that none of them can afford a holiday in the south of France. Or wherever.
    Nothing will motivate the lazy / apathetic / Americanised / west-British types to embrace their culture and the Irish language.

Politics.ie Member
    Mentioned