Follow @PoliticsIE

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Paper Thin Solar Panels-Good news

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Default Paper Thin Solar Panels-Good news

This a Swiss company I have been keeping an eye on for the last three years. It is about to manufacture revolutionary ultra thin solar panels (the thickness of paper). These will be much cheaper than existing solar panels and can be integrated into building materials (e.g. roof tiles).

I have no connection with the company. This is just a very cool product.

Flisom: Products

Sounds great to me. I like experimenting with solar ovens and suchlike.

Will keep my eye on the developements now.

If farmers can warm the soil with transparent plastic why not solar heated houses built incorporating these paper thin panels?

Politics.ie Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

just recently had an appraisal for the installation of solar panels (x2) complete with corresponding boiler and flexible connecting hoses...apparently it would guarantee savings of 30% annually...these were raised in much the same way as a velux window..

final estimate....E9000...

anything that comes in cheaper and is flush with the tiles....will sell im sure!..

Politics.ie Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Hardly good news for Irish people as solar photovoltaic power is completely uneconomical considering our standard of infrastructure and location. It's an appropriate technology in Africa, where most people are off-grid and there’s much more sunlight, but here it's a waste of cash.
    "The war against drugs is unique in all conflict: we can win it, simply by ceasing to fight it."

Politics.ie Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Quote Originally Posted by rubensni View Post