Politics.ie
Advertise on Politics.ie

Go Back   Politics.ie > Topical Discussion > Transport

DCC 30 kph speed regulations

This is a discussion on DCC 30 kph speed regulations within the Transport forums, part of the Topical Discussion category on Politics.ie. Originally Posted by fiannafailure The plot thickens Cllr Dermot Lacey Crunch talks on 30kph speed storm - City News, National ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 9th February 2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by fiannafailure View Post
Hmm! Let's see now...

Monty Montague the Green party member of the Labour party (Wha! yeah any fair minded opinion of his one sided bias shows his true green colours) has got a well deserved bad press for being uber pro-cyclist by totally ignoring what really needs to be examined by DCC's Traffic section to lower accidents in the city centre.

So the loopy pro-cycling agenda that ignores the real safety issues (hint non enforcement by the Gardai of law breaking by cyclists and terrible cycle lanes by DCC coupled with traffic engineering that encourages pedestrians to jay-walk) brings a divisive bad press on Labour councillors..and they want to have a Labour Mayor elected.

Being cynical we now have councillor Dermo' who has aspirations on becoming an elected mayor (a decent man) but has the savvy to understand the huge groundswell of public anger against the absurd 30 kph zone and if he comes up with a pretend "compromise" it should help boost Labour support and his own profile in a positive way.

It's like a really weird version of good cop/bad cop being played out with the public suffering in the middle.

Now boys and girls councillors all of you, all together, need to vote on this one, Dublin deserves better than for Labour to have hi-jacked the entire issue on its own

Advertise on Politics.ie

Old 9th February 2010

You do all realise that 1.2 million people live in Dublin and only a minute tiny fraction of those are affected by this? Do you really think an election will be fought on this? I admire your naivety, it's refreshing. If the Councillors ignored the media and P.ie/Boards.ie frenzy, the people of Dublin would merely get on with their lives - just like we did when Luas destroyed the city, the no right turn from George's st brought the city to a standstill and when Y2K caused planes to fall on Santry...
We need to radically change every system that has enabled the wholesale destruction of the Irish landscape, rural and urban. There is no time for incremental step by step measures. The systems have failed utterly and the only hope for a real recovery requires the rule book to be torn up completely.
Old 9th February 2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by alonso View Post
You do all realise that 1.2 million people live in Dublin
And all should be able to access the city centre without fear of clamping, excessive fines and points on their liscense to pander to a small vocal biking lobby

Quote:
and only a minute tiny fraction of those are affected by this?
NO this effects a huge percentage of Dublins citizens

Quote:
Do you really think an election will be fought on this? I admire your naivety, it's refreshing. If the Councillors ignored the media and P.ie/Boards.ie frenzy, the people of Dublin would merely get on with their lives - just like we did when Luas destroyed the city, the no right turn from George's st brought the city to a standstill and when Y2K caused planes to fall on Santry...
Rubbish, you'd like to think so, but the slowly slowly creep of banning cars - or just making it so difficult and expensive the people will give up - has been exposed for the short sighted idealogically driven ill thought out nonsense that it is and the small coterie of fundamentalists have pushed it too far with this..... if you think there isn't wide spread anger and disgust (never mind knowledge about who is responsible) you're moving in totally different circles to me.... it even came up in the barbers today to to a chorus of "gobshiites"

Taxi driver on Sunday told me it wont be long before they take action and that will be the start

Alonso this is a nonsense idea ... accept it (oh and i know london very well and 20 mph applies only in specifically engineered RESEDENTIAL areas
Old 9th February 2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by brughahaha View Post
And all should be able to access the city centre without fear of clamping, excessive fines and points on their liscense to pander to a small vocal biking lobby
All of them can do that by a combination of bus, rail, bike and walking.

Quote:
NO this effects a huge percentage of Dublins citizens
Nah. It really doesn't bru. Very few Dubs access the city centre by car compared to the other modes

Quote:
Rubbish, you'd like to think so, but the slowly slowly creep of banning cars - or just making it so difficult and expensive the people will give up - has been exposed for the short sighted idealogically driven ill thought out nonsense that it is and the small coterie of fundamentalists have pushed it too far with this..... if you think there isn't wide spread anger and disgust (never mind knowledge about who is responsible) you're moving in totally different circles to me.... it even came up in the barbers today to to a chorus of "gobshiites"

Taxi driver on Sunday told me it wont be long before they take action and that will be the start

Alonso this is a nonsense idea ... accept it (oh and i know london very well and 20 mph applies only in specifically engineered RESEDENTIAL areas
Well the map above seems to say different with Central areas covered. And taxi drivers, well half of them could fck off anyway and solve plenty of congestion problems - let them have their cap!

I had my say already. I took the time to drive the affected streets and got absolutely fck all useful response from your side of the debate to my proposals. Maybe look back to that post and if there's common ground there's hope. At least acknowledge it

But if you think that 30 kph outside Tara St station, at the HaPenny Bridge, College Green and Dame St at Temple Bar is unacceptable as a speed limit then you are sitting in the same place that the backward ideologue roads engineers that tried their damnedest to destroy Dublin City in the 1970's.

(I edited that to tame the language slightly but i see that it had already been quoted - bah)
We need to radically change every system that has enabled the wholesale destruction of the Irish landscape, rural and urban. There is no time for incremental step by step measures. The systems have failed utterly and the only hope for a real recovery requires the rule book to be torn up completely.

Last edited by alonso; 10th February 2010 at 09:43 AM.
Old 9th February 2010

btw I repeat the mantra that the Taxi drivers and barbers of Dublin all said the same thing about every fcking change in the past 15 years that have made this city better for all resdients, workers and visitors
Old 9th February 2010

but read that earlier post. I'm not wedded to this new limit in all those areas by any means.
Old 9th February 2010

Quote:
But if you think that 30 kph outside Tara St station, at the HaPenny Bridge, College Green and Dame St at Temple Bar is unacceptable as a speed limit then you truly live in an alternate universe so beloved of backward ideologue roads engineers that tried their damnedest to rape Dublin City in the 1970's.
I agree with you on the limits. But, they wouldn't have gotten even this far without strengthening some of the through/orbital routes (eg. Church st., Clanbrassil st) and that was opposed tooth and nail by (I suspect) the kind of people who the car lobby are naturally suspicious of.

On the 1970's plans, I think they should have improved some of those routes, maybe not to the full extent as planned. If that had happened, heavy goods would have been removed from the centre and quays, years ago. The example city, Im familiar with is Munich, where they have two concentric city centre orbital routes, of a similar standard to say Clanbrassil st. and with a handful of bridges/underpasses in strategic places. It means pretty much the entire area inside the inner ring is pedestrianised (never mind a 30km limit).
Old 9th February 2010

Yeh true orbit. That;s the key thing for me when those proposing these ideas look to Europe - and I do the same myself for certain proposals. We have to make do with the fact that we don't have those grand boulevards of 2+2 roads close to the centre to take heavy traffic and that Dame Street, the Quays et al are major through routes. And I am more than willing to accept that Macken St bridge has not thus far fulfilled a role for any journeys bar a few. There is an inner and outer orbital route designated by DCC but does anyone really know it? It's hardly made clear on the ground with those daft signs. A few comments on the general topic, if I may:

- The Bus gate is balanced as a peak hour only facility
- Macken Street Bridge is ill thought out for all users
- The inner orbital needs to be relaunched and resigned (remember that fiasco?)
- The big dig cannot be held up by the recession (we'll need that infrastructure to create a proper boom next time)
- Dublin Bus should not be allowed park anywhere inside the city centre bar their existing depots
- Cap taxi numbers (fck the ideology behind the free market etc - it's simple, there;s too many)
- Do what I proposed on that long post back a page or two
- ENFORCE ALL ROAD TRAFFIC LAW FOR ALL USERS
Old 10th February 2010

It says it all and it says it well !

Old 10th February 2010

feck ya H Iwas gonna post that a few days ago and forgot. The script is bloody hilarious.

Anwyay I heard this morning from Cllr Montague that a few curtailments are being proposed and put out to public consultation. Mainly, parts of the quays will revert to 50kph. It's still more 30kph than I described in that long post but hey, whaddya gonna do