Politics.ie
Advertise on Politics.ie

Go Back   Politics.ie > General Discussion > Oireachtas

Hey there!

It looks like you're enjoying Politics.ie but haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? As a member you get free access to all of our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members and much more. Joining Politics.ie is completely free. Register now!

Already a member? Login at the top of this page to stop seeing this message.

What should a TD be doing??

This is a discussion on What should a TD be doing?? within the Oireachtas forums, part of the General Discussion category on Politics.ie. Originally Posted by gatsbygirl20 The immature jeering of some posters at "social workers" and the "thicks" who elect them, is ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 9th February 2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by gatsbygirl20 View Post
The immature jeering of some posters at "social workers" and the "thicks" who elect them, is sickening. We need something better than the nihilistic "Politicians are idiots. So are the people who elect them".
Total cr4p. You might want vote grabbing strangers there when you and your loved ones are experiencing a genuine loss but please speak for yourself only.

Advertise on Politics.ie

Old 9th February 2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edo View Post
Roc - I have to disagree with you here - meybe in the Dublin you can get away with it - but in Rural Ireland - the funeral thing is vital.

I know that its not nothing to do with how good you will be as a legislator - but thats not the point here. The point here is that the family of the bereaved are important enough in your world for you to take the time out to be there, be seen there and that the family know that everybody has seen you there - from your (in the eyes of the electorate) busy hi-powered world - the fact that you had absolutely nothing on for the evening and were going to spend a few more enjoyable hours adding to your collection of handbuilt Tall ships inside glass bottles is neither here not there - the family keep count and by jesus you will know about it next time you can canvass there.

Irish society - in common with every other society on earth - is class and status obsessed - its hardwired into our biology - everything we do or dont do in life - when you break it all down to its basic components - is down to sex - the fight to get your genes matched with the best genes possible and that the next generation will have the best opportunity to do the same - its a barrier that every ideology comes up against and the best that any of them can hope for is to make an impression on it.

Ye know sometimes I think that whole electoral system is like asking a woman what she wants in a man - you'll get the list in triplicate - it will be the most idealistic, aspirational high falutent job description ever - then you'll see here walking down the street the next day arm in arm with 90kgs of spam - and then you "go figure" as the Yanks say.

There are a lot of intelligent people posting here - a lot of them know seem to know their ideologies and political systems inside out and fair play to them - but they also appear to know very little about human nature and human interaction - a lot of folks here could do worse than just sitting with a cup of coffee inside or outside a streetside cafe and just the watch the world go by and the people in it and how they conduct their lives.

It is possible to beat the electoral odds and really leave your mark and change things - but you are going to have to play smart - you are going to have to take account of the massive divide that exists between what a person will give out about when stuck in traffic listening to Joe Duffy on a rainy afternoon - and what floats their boats in the ballot box on election day. Instead of decrying FF and to a slighty lesser extent FG and the rest - take a hard objective look at what they and their elected representatives doe to get elected and how their machine works - and learn and take what you can for your own advantage..........

I keep coming back to this - Garrett Fitzgerald telling me that politics is all about getting the chance to do one or 2 good things to make up for all the populist bullsh^t you have to do get the chance to do it in the first place - if Garrett had said that on the stumps in 1981 - he would have been horsewhipped, instead he told me many years later in retirement - its as relevant today as ever - Garrett was the celebrity economist who joined FG in the mid 60's to the chagrin of the party's conservative establishment etc etc and look what he achieved- Pity George Lee didn't give him a call for some advice - but then it appears that George knew everything already.
I know the funeral thing is vital.. remember, been there, done that. And that is why we have a Parliament full of politicians who realistically shouldn't be there at all, because when it comes to actually doing the job that they are paid to do, they are not up to it. Jesus, in some cases I know of personally, they arent even interested in legislation.

But unless people actually start to wake up and realise that this is what happens when you expect someone to do something and reward them for it, despite it having nothing to do with what you actually elect them for, then we are going to continue to have sub standard politicians, and carry on with the consequences of it. And there are huge consequences.

This drives me demented, because unlike most here, I've been through it. I've also seen how useless some of the people who got elected ahead of me are in actually doing the job they were elected to. For instance, I sat on a county council strategic policy committee for 5 years, discussing economics by the way, and here are a few examples of some of the elected members on the same committee

One sat in every meeting for 5 years, and made no contribution whatsoever. Nothing. Nada. He literally sat like a stone and didn't open his mouth for 5 years.

Another was drunk at the majority of the meetings. Which was some achievement because they were held at 2 pm in the day.

A third totally ruled out wind power as a means of alternative energy, because of the "emmissions" off the mast the windmills were mounted on. Explaining to him that a windmill was a hunk of metal rotating around, and didn't give off emmissions was futile.

A fourth came to one meeting, and never re-appeared again. Afterwards I found out he claimed expenses for every single meeting.

It was farcical.

But by Jesus.. they were some boys for the funerals.
Old 9th February 2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edo View Post
Roc - I have to disagree with you here - meybe in the Dublin you can get away with it - but in Rural Ireland - the funeral thing is vital.

I know that its not nothing to do with how good you will be as a legislator - but thats not the point here. The point here is that the family of the bereaved are important enough in your world for you to take the time out to be there, be seen there and that the family know that everybody has seen you there - from your (in the eyes of the electorate) busy hi-powered world - the fact that you had absolutely nothing on for the evening and were going to spend a few more enjoyable hours adding to your collection of handbuilt Tall ships inside glass bottles is neither here not there - the family keep count and by jesus you will know about it next time you can canvass there.

Irish society - in common with every other society on earth - is class and status obsessed - its hardwired into our biology - everything we do or dont do in life - when you break it all down to its basic components - is down to sex - the fight to get your genes matched with the best genes possible and that the next generation will have the best opportunity to do the same - its a barrier that every ideology comes up against and the best that any of them can hope for is to make an impression on it.

Ye know sometimes I think that whole electoral system is like asking a woman what she wants in a man - you'll get the list in triplicate - it will be the most idealistic, aspirational high falutent job description ever - then you'll see her walking down the street the next week arm in arm with 90kgs of spam - and then you "go figure" as the Yanks say.

There are a lot of intelligent people posting here - a lot of them know seem to know their ideologies and political systems inside out and fair play to them - but they also appear to know very little about human nature and human interaction - a lot of folks here could do worse than just sitting with a cup of coffee inside or outside a streetside cafe and just the watch the world go by and the people in it and how they conduct their lives.
You are right; it is yet another reason why we need to reduce the proportion of TDs to constituents so it is simply impossible for TDs to find the time to make it a priority to go to funerals, unless it was someone to whom they were personally known.
Old 9th February 2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisco View Post
You are right; it is yet another reason why we need to reduce the proportion of TDs to constituents so it is simply impossible for TDs to find the time to make it a priority to go to funerals, unless it was someone to whom they were personally known.
Why don't we ditch democracy entirely since the voters can't be trusted to elect the right people?
Old 9th February 2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baron von Biffo View Post
Why don't we ditch democracy entirely since the voters can't be trusted to elect the right people?
No, I wouldn't agree with that myself.
Old 9th February 2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baron von Biffo View Post
Probably the most accurate analysis and worthwhile suggestion to appear on this site.

Unfortunately, it has real merit!
Old 9th February 2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockofcashel View Post
Utter bullsh**.. the majority of politicians who attend funeral neither know nor care about the deceased.. they care about been seen. They are legislators, not professional mourners. FFS, I spoke to one FF TD who attended 14 funerals in day.. his family should have told him to cop on as it was making him a laughing stock
I agree, Utter bulls***
And what happens when a house planning application is turned down by the Local planning officer? why! go to your local TD and get the refusal over ruled. It's no wonder the country is in such a mess with the Gombeen (low IQs but super political cunning like Bertie) TDs we have.
Old 9th February 2010

Do TDs ever accept money or gifts for helping people through their clinics?
Old 9th February 2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by consultant View Post
Old 9th February 2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by consultant View Post
Clinics are for the little people - the financial transactions are the other way around - the only currency accepted here is the vote.

What do you think Bertie needed all that ready cash in the safe in St Lukes for?