• President to make first official foreign visit this month

President Higgins is pictured with his wife Sabina. The President will be making his first official visit this month, which will be to London.
    Photo: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland
    Áras an Uachtaráin have announced this morning that President Michael D. Higgins will be making his first official visit abroad at the end of this month. President Higgins will be accompanied by his wife Sabina on a two day visit to London from the 21st to 23rd of February.

Amongst President Higgins' itinerary is a visit to the London Irish Centre in Camden and a meeting with members of the "Irish Business, Cultural and wider community" at the Irish Embassy as well as attending a production of Juno and the Paycock, which is a joint production by the Abbey Theatre and National Theatre of Great Britain. Higgins will also be making a visit to the Olympic Park where he will meet Lord Coe, President of the London Olympic Games Committee.

During his visit President Higgins will address the London School of Economics, his speech will be entitled "Of Public Intellectuals, Universities, and a Democratic Crisis".

Comments 26 Comments
      statsman -
      Should be quite an interesting speech.
      Mushroom -
      I wonder will he ask them to dig out Bertie's old LSE student file?
      David Cochrane -
      Just to clarify here, that this is not a state visit, just an official visit. My apologies for the error.
      sondagefaux -
      * Thinks back to the time when it looked like Gallagher could have been prez, and sighs with relief again. *
      Mossy Heneberry -
      Who cares.
      statsman -
      Quote Originally Posted by sondagefaux View Post
      * Thinks back to the time when it looked like Gallagher could have been prez, and sighs with relief again. *

+ Any number you care to mention.
      Ribeye -
      Is it London where they say that you are only ever 6 feet away from a disgusting rat? He will be right at home!
      wherethelady -
      its proper that his first visit is to our nearest and dearest. lets hope he lobbies for another royal visit by the queen or perhaps kate and william since the irish people are in a royal frenzy as was proved at the last visit of the queen. perhaps its also a good time to start a discussion about us rightfully rejoining the commonwealth. anyways micky d do you best for us over there and never mind any of the begrudgers, the british are our best allies and friens so represent us with dignity and respect and if needs be appologise for the disgraceful actions by a few gombeen SF/IRA serial killers that brought shame on this island
      White Horse -
      Calling the head of state of part of Ireland "foreign" is rather strange.

Are people from Crossmaglan now foreigners for being in the UK?
      ruserious -
      Quote Originally Posted by David Cochrane View Post
      Just to clarify here, that this is not a state visit, just an official visit. My apologies for the error.
      Why are they stalling on the State visit for Christ sake.
      theloner -
      Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post

Don't know about Crossmaglan but I know a place called Crossmaglen, Armagh, their football team are the All-Ireland Senior Club Football champions. Hopefully that can help you out.
      Nemesiscorporation -
      Quote Originally Posted by David Cochrane View Post
      Is the Irish taxpayer paying for this?

If the Irish taxpayer is paying for this, every person involved should be arrested and made to pay back every cent.
      blokesbloke -
      Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post

Well the head of state herself is foreign because she isn't Irish - she's not from any part of the island of Ireland. That doesn't mean the Irish people she's head of state of aren't Irish, just that she isn't.

The place the President is visiting is also foreign unless you consider London part of Ireland.

So it's true to say he's on a foreign visit - to a foreign country to meet a fellow head of state who herself is foreign but who is head of state of some non-foreign people.
      blokesbloke -
      Quote Originally Posted by blokesbloke View Post
      Well the head of state herself is foreign because she isn't Irish - she's not from any part of the island or Ireland. That doesn't mean the Irish people she's head of state of aren't Irish, just that she isn't.

The place the President is visiting is also foreign unless you consider London part of Ireland.

So it's true to say he's on a foreign visit - to a foreign country to meet a fellow head of state who herself is foreign but who is head of state of some non-foreign people.
      Well I assume so yes. Who else would be paying for the President of Ireland to make a foreign trip?

Did you think he wouldn't be leaving Ireland as President?
      theloner -
      Well the head of state herself is foreign because she isn't Irish - she's not from any part of the island of Ireland. That doesn't mean the Irish people she's head of state of aren't Irish, just that she isn't.

Well I assume so yes. Who else would be paying for the President of Ireland to make a foreign trip?

Did you think he wouldn't be leaving Ireland as President?
      Are you asking yourself questions and answering them, or have I gone mad?
      Riadach -
      Quote Originally Posted by theloner View Post
      Are you asking yourself questions and answering them, or have I gone mad?
      I don't think you should use the fact that he is answering his own questions as evidence that you haven't gone mad.
      ShoutingIsLeadership -
      Quote Originally Posted by Riadach View Post
      I don't think you should use the fact that he is answering his own questions as evidence that you haven't gone mad.
      I wonder what should I make of that comment?
      DuineEile -
      As yes. The obligatory 1st trip to London to get permission to visit other places approved of by our masters and betters.

This could be dangerous though. Our other politicians always bow low to Regal Majesty, but Yoda is already so low, if he lowers himself any more, he could do himself an injury.

GreenBack -
      Quote Originally Posted by DuineEile View Post
      As yes. The obligatory 1st trip to London to get permission to visit other places approved of by our masters and betters.

This could be dangerous though. Our other politicians always bow low to Regal Majesty, but Yoda is already so low, if he lowers himself any more, he could do himself an injury.

have you any idea of the number of Irish people working in London? It's massive and rightly the first place the President of Ireland should visit. The only permission that comes into it is one head of state visiting another state. Surely you realise the British Queen lays no claim over the office of President of Ireland.
      darkhorse -
      An official trip to London?
      In a short space of time, he really has managed to turn the Presidency into a mega-bore