Politics.ie
Advertise on Politics.ie

Go Back   Politics.ie > Regional Discussion > Leinster

Parlon will vote Kenny as Taoiseach

This is a discussion on Parlon will vote Kenny as Taoiseach within the Leinster forums, part of the Regional Discussion category on Politics.ie. I thought when I heard it first that it was just an urban myth but I have come across too ...

View Poll Results: Is the PDs existence as a party on the line in this election?
Yes 31 72.09%
No 12 27.91%
Don't know 0 0%
Voters: 43. You must be logged in to vote on this poll. Please login or register for free

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10th May 2007

Default Parlon will vote Kenny as Taoiseach

I thought when I heard it first that it was just an urban myth but I have come across too many people who have experienced it first hand, or directly from voters.

First FG canvassers, and now FF canvassers, have been reporting over the last few days that voters in Laois-Offaly have been told by Parlon canvassers that they do not need to vote for FG to ensure the election of Enda Kenny as taoiseach. Bizarrely some PD canvassers have been telling voters that Parlon will support Kenny also!

According to what is apparently being said, people are being told that there is a real likelihood that Tom Parlon will be the only PD TD and that in that case he will vote for Kenny in the vote to nominate a taoiseach.

I dismissed it the first time I heard it, as being an urban myth. But now a number of canvassers and senior canvassing staff have been told explicitly by voters that they were told that by PDs on their doorstep. FFers have also been reporting back the strange phenomenon. It is so widespread that within all the main parties, the story has been reported back to headquarters level.

It raises two questions:

1. Are the PDs so worried for Parlon's seat that they would make such a bizarre claim on the doorsteps?

2. Do they really believe that their party is in danger of losing most if not all its seats, including Liz O'Donnell, Mary Harney and Michael McDowell?

Certainly FF and FG believe that the PDs are effectively finished, and will be lucky to hold on to two seats. Even McDowell's now looks shaky, with Harney's seen to be under major danger, and Liz O'Donnell's probably gone. The PDs organisationally say privately that things are looking bleak for the party. But are they so bleak they are willing to tell people in Laois-Offaly that Tom Parlon is likely to be the only PD left?

Economic Left/Right: -4.13
Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -4.36

Advertise on Politics.ie

Old 10th May 2007

canvassers speak out of both sides of their mouth during general election campaign shock!

Meanwhile, notorious p.ie windbag The Analyser starts another moronic thread…now with poll attached!

I don’t know which I find the least interesting

"I'm a bit of a green myself" Charles Haughey 1989
Old 10th May 2007

Send a message via MSN to The Trinity Politick

Parlon should join FG and then he can do what he bloody likes in relation to voting for Enda. Flanagan will take that seat off that smug idiot and rightly so. It was on loan to him and now the rightful owner wants it back.

Vote FG to get FG
Old 10th May 2007

Careful Tom the blueshirts down here are chomping at the bit to return Flanagan and will not be transferring to Parlon and be damn sure we wont be either.
Old 10th May 2007

Send a message via MSN to Jim84

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Trinity Politick
Parlon should join FG and then he can do what he bloody likes in relation to voting for Enda. Flanagan will take that seat off that smug idiot and rightly so. It was on loan to him and now the rightful owner wants it back.

Vote FG to get FG
Who is more smug? Parlon or a party believing that they own a seat?
Old 10th May 2007

Send a message via MSN to The Trinity Politick

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim84
Quote:

Vote FG to get FG

You know what i meant. Flanagans have held that year since Jesus was born, and people seemed pretty happy with that up until 2002
Old 10th May 2007

[quote=The Trinity Politick]
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by "The Trinity Politick":2plf1kic

Vote FG to get FG

You know what i meant. Flanagans have held that year since Jesus was born, and people seemed pretty happy with that up until 2002[/quote:2plf1kic]

Yea the Flanagans held a seat pretty much since the Nazis were in power :wink:
Old 10th May 2007

[quote=Biffo]
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by "The Trinity Politick":vj6o6pz2

Vote FG to get FG

You know what i meant. Flanagans have held that year since Jesus was born, and people seemed pretty happy with that up until 2002
Yea the Flanagans held a seat pretty much since the Nazis were in power :wink:[/quote:vj6o6pz2]

You'd be one of those simple people who don't see the ideological similarities between the Corporatist PDs and the Corporatist National Socialist Party then?

This thread is about getting the modern day Nazis out of power - and the sooner that hypocrite Parlon is sent back to his farm the better!

“When a government is dependent upon bankers for money, they and not the leaders of the government control the situation, since the hand that gives is above the hand that takes. Money has no motherland; financiers are without patriotism and without decency; their sole object is gain.” Napoléon Bonaparte
Old 10th May 2007

Send a message via MSN to Jim84

[quote=The Trinity Politick]
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by "The Trinity Politick":2ht4mq5b

Vote FG to get FG

You know what i meant. Flanagans have held that year since Jesus was born, and people seemed pretty happy with that up until 2002[/quote:2ht4mq5b]

Nice to see democracy is healthy in Ireland, and that seats have been rightfully inherited by FG, in Laois/Offaly, since the great socialist Jesus walked the earth.

I do hope that the regicide committed by Parlon is avenged, by the true and worth TD for Laois - Offlay, Sir Flanagan!
Old 10th May 2007

Mark my word, Parlon will be back shovling ******************** on his farm very soon.

He was like a rotten school girl over the weekend. The typical gombeen in it for himself.