Page 29 of 31 FirstFirst ... 192728293031 LastLast

Thread: Young Fine Gael National Conference 2009

Politics.ie Regular allthingspol's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by bluestar1985 View Post
    Brill weekend! Delighted our motion got through ("Young Fine Gael propose that in case of pregnancy resulting from the offences of rape, statutory rape or incest, the individual affected should have the right to abortion within the State") - some people took it all out of context!

Can't wait for next year we might put something even more controversial in...
    It was interesting to see all men speaking up to oppose this motion, those whom will never have to go through it and will never have to face the agony of it. As was said on the day, imagine if it was your sister, your girlfriend, your family member or your friend who this happened to. It is the most unthinkable thing, and yet it is a reality for women in this country.

I commend those who raised the discussion, I also commend the steering committee for their handling of the appeal. justice was done.

To those who opposed, while I respect your beliefs, the motion was passed, if you were not in the room at the time, then shame on you for coming to a conference and not ensuring you were their to vote on crucial policy motions. The deed is done, let that be that
    "A little government and a little luck are necessary in life, but only a fool trusts either of them."

Quote Originally Posted by Big Bobo View Post
    So what were all the proposed motions then? Let me guess

- introduced a special powers act to imprison black babies
    - arm the guardaí with automatic berettas
    - immiediate repatriation of all non white looking people
    - mandatory euthanasia for the poor
    - segregation of Irish kids from immigrants in order to keep them "pure"
    - send the army in against trade unionists and have marchers put in special camps
    - wage cuts of 25% for all workers earning less than €400 p/w
    - sack 77,000 public workers immiediately

I would be suprised if O'Duffy Youth had not motioned at least 3 of the above
    Well I know what motion I am sending in to the next conference "Detainment and torture of Big bobo" cos you are a big bollix.
    “We’re in this mess, not because Fianna Fáil policies have failed, but because they have succeeded.”
    Enda Kenny.

Quote Originally Posted by geraghd View Post
    Indeed. How this got passed and not the one legalising solicitation and advertising of prostitution I'll never know..

Here here! It was interesting see the only argument for not legalising and regulating prostitution was based on morality. That was the only argument against it. Policy cannot be based on issues of morality, or based on patriarchal notions of society. But it's done and dusted.

On the abortion motion-personally I was not impressed. How can you medically or otherwise define if someone was raped? IF it was to go any further it would open a can of worms that would inevitably lead to abortion being used as a form of contraception with people crying wolf.
    I'm not saying that I cannot understand why someone would want to get one in those particular circumstances, because I do sympathize with the fact that rape is an abhorrant crime and one of the most degrading things to experience. But at the end of the day we are talking about life, and in that respect there should be no question. If it was me, that would be my mothers grandchild, my brother's and sister's niece/nephew and I, nor anyone else has the right to refuse an unborn the right to life.

The motion was passed (unfortunately), and we should just leave it at that.

Congrats to all who got elected, I wish them the very best over the course of the next term. But more importantly commiserations to all who were not successful. You have provided a contest, that is a positive thing, and all those who sought election are huge assets to this organisation. You put your names forward, sought election and each had worthy cv's to do so.

Here's to conference 2010!

Quote Originally Posted by allthingspol View Post
    It was interesting to see all men speaking up to oppose this motion, those whom will never have to go through it and will never have to face the agony of it. As was said on the day, imagine if it was your sister, your girlfriend, your family member or your friend who this happened to. It is the most unthinkable thing, and yet it is a reality for women in this country.

I commend those who raised the discussion, I also commend the steering committee for their handling of the appeal. justice was done.

To those who opposed, while I respect your beliefs, the motion was passed, if you were not in the room at the time, then shame on you for coming to a conference and not ensuring you were their to vote on crucial policy motions. The deed is done, let that be that
    You're right. I stood up and vehemently opposed the motion, but nonetheless accept the Conference's democratic decision.

It's a debate that can never truly have a "right" answer as it deals too much with pure belief and ideaology. I'd like to commend the great debate particularly put forward by the proposer and seconder Audrey Doocey and Lauren Traynor of the Waterford branch.

Politics.ie Regular The Irish Agent's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Tigeress View Post
    Well I know what motion I am sending in to the next conference "Detainment and torture of Big bobo" cos you are a big bollix.
    Dont feed the troll
    Vote yes

Quote Originally Posted by kateanya View Post
    Here here! It was interesting see the only argument for not legalising and regulating prostitution was based on morality. That was the only argument against it. Policy cannot be based on issues of morality, or based on patriarchal notions of society. But it's done and dusted.

On the abortion motion-personally I was not impressed. How can you medically or otherwise define if someone was raped? IF it was to go any further it would open a can of worms that would inevitably lead to abortion being used as a form of contraception with people crying wolf.
    I'm not saying that I cannot understand why someone would want to get one in those particular circumstances, because I do sympathize with the fact that rape is an abhorrant crime and one of the most degrading things to experience. But at the end of the day we are talking about life, and in that respect there should be no question. If it was me, that would be my mothers grandchild, my brother's and sister's niece/nephew and I, nor anyone else has the right to refuse an unborn the right to life.

The motion was passed (unfortunately), and we should just leave it at that.
    I'd have to agree with Johnny Hoare on this one. We cannot "legalise" away all our problems. Morality is argument enough to allow this motion fall in my book. The economic argument was the most enticing with one of the Trinity lads exclaiming that with the tax receipts "we can just ride our way out of recession". Social policy should and hopefully will always be based on morality.

That is exactly what I based most of my argument against abortion on; where do we draw the line? When does a one-night-stand become rape? We can rarely secure rape convictions in this state so how do we legislate for abortion in this instance. I tried to leave the morality of abortion out of the argument but I gave my views on that.

Surely your own views on the right to life of the unborn is based on morality?

Quote Originally Posted by Lanzaspud View Post
    I'd have to agree with Johnny Hoare on this one. We cannot "legalise" away all our problems. Morality is argument enough to allow this motion fall in my book. The economic argument was the most enticing with one of the Trinity lads exclaiming that with the tax receipts "we can just ride our way out of recession". Social policy should and hopefully will always be based on morality.

That is exactly what I based most of my argument against abortion on; where do we draw the line? When does a one-night-stand become rape? We can rarely secure rape convictions in this state so how do we legislate for abortion in this instance. I tried to leave the morality of abortion out of the argument but I gave my views on that.

Surely your own views on the right to life of the unborn is based on morality?
    We are talking about life in the cases of abortion. With respect to prostitution we are also talking about life where organised crime thrives and human trafficking proliferates. Current legislation also doesn't provide services to allow prostitutes to 'get out' if they so wish. If regulated properly, only properly, it would clamp down on that. But it wasn't passed, and I fully respect the democratic vote, and yours and the general consensus of the room!!!

Quote Originally Posted by kateanya View Post
    We are talking about life in the cases of abortion. With respect to prostitution we are also talking about life where organised crime thrives and human trafficking proliferates. Current legislation also doesn't provide services to allow prostitutes to 'get out' if they so wish. If regulated properly, only properly, it would clamp down on that. But it wasn't passed, and I fully respect the democratic vote, and yours and the general consensus of the room!!!
    To be honest Kate, I think a lot of people didn't understand the motion, they believed it was completely legalising prostitution. However you did propose it very well and fair play for proposing it.

Re the abortion motion and I think we should stress how narrow this is - in cases of rape and incest, it was a very well presented motion.
    Everybody knows how hard it is to claim a rape conviction and our criminal justice system really needs to be overhaulded before this could be ever introduced.
    And re. the situation about woman "crying wolf" strict guidelines should be introduced to ensure the woman provides all information which will help to lead to a prosecution i.e. identity and where the identity is not known, DNA samples.
    “We’re in this mess, not because Fianna Fáil policies have failed, but because they have succeeded.”
    Enda Kenny.

Law and morality really don't mix do they?!! Especially not in YFG!!!!!
    Enda Kenny.

I think the fact that the debate continues is testament to how good it was.

Page 29 of 31 FirstFirst ... 192728293031 LastLast