Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: OFF sock it to the Provos.

Quote Originally Posted by baldur0300
    It makes a statement and highlights an issue. Nothing wrong with that. Whether it will actually change anything in the short term is unlikely but it's hardly wrong to make the point.
    A point that's been made ad nauseum for the last 80 years, although usually by FG and the Sindo!

FF become more like some bizarre parody of 1970s Fine Gael with every passing day.
    Je suis un loo-lah

Quote Originally Posted by meriwether
    So you think that it is right for organisations to use the term Oglaigh na hÉireann other than the Irish Army? Or do you just think that we shouldn't highlight that the true inheritors of that title have problems using it because of the various paramilitary groups that like to play pretend and call themselves Oglaigh na hÉireann?
    Do you think a motion to the Ard Feis makes a bit of difference?
    It makes a statement and highlights an issue. Nothing wrong with that. Whether it will actually change anything in the short term is unlikely but it's hardly wrong to make the point.
    Its stoopid. Thats what it is. A big whole waste of time, especially calling on the head of the defence forces to effectively stop other organisations using Oglaigh na hEireann as a name.
    I wonder what he's going to do about it exactly?

CJH

Re: OFF sock it to the Provos.

Quote Originally Posted by CJH
    Anyhow, we get hyperbole a go-go further down with
    are surely the most ludicrous and repugnant words to come from a member of Fine Gael since Eoin O’Duffy left to fight for Franco.
    Really marvellous stuff.
    Meri, what's more embaressing for ye blueshirts - that O'Duffy went to fight for Franco, or that his band of gob************************es were so useless that the Spaniards told them to feck off after one battle?
    Aah, someones a bit k************************y!
    As we speak, Im just knocking up a motion to our next Ard Feis condemning O'Duffy. It will be full of fire and brimstone, and completely pointless.
    Happy?
    Not cranky at all, old bean. Just thought one cheap shot deserved another!

Quote Originally Posted by gaelach
    Come on Meri, spell it write at least, ÓFF and ArdFheis.
    I was in love with the Ogra site, but Im going to divorce that site, marry your comment, and have little illiterate babies with it.
    Ah what a gob************************e I am Mind you its still Ógra
    Equality — It is new strung and shall be heard

So you think that it is right for organisations to use the term Oglaigh na hÉireann other than the Irish Army? Or do you just think that we shouldn't highlight that the true inheritors of that title have problems using it because of the various paramilitary groups that like to play pretend and call themselves Oglaigh na hÉireann?

pah easy. gen mulchay called an army convention to ratify the treatry gen mulchay lost gen mulchay set up a new army called the national army. a bit cheeky in my opinion concidering they where only 'alloud' in 26 counties of that nation. after the civil war in late 23 -24 by act of leinster house the national army also took the name ONH even though there was another ONH and so began the tradition war of words over the coolest name in irish history
    all the latest from the rossport solidaridy camp
    provided by those nice people in the anarchists. apparently 300 gardai two navy boats and one gardai chopper as of thurs 25th june. so if you want to rob a bank or pirate a ship of say wexford do it this week.

Quote Originally Posted by Sidewinder
    A point that's been made ad nauseum for the last 80 years, although usually by FG and the Sindo!

FF become more like some bizarre parody of 1970s Fine Gael with every passing day.
    Yawn......... Repeated silly insults aside, I doubt you would find any FFer believing that the title should not belong exclusively to the Army. Why do you have a problem with that?
    “Common sense is the collection of prejudices acquired by age eighteen” - Albert Einstein

Its stoopid. Thats what it is. A big whole waste of time, especially calling on the head of the defence forces to effectively stop other organisations using Oglaigh na hEireann as a name.
    So its stupid to say something in an Ard Fheis clár that is not achievable in the short term? Should I just post up every FG AF Clár for the last ten years or will you save me the trouble?
    “Common sense is the collection of prejudices acquired by age eighteen” - Albert Einstein

Re: OFF sock it to the Provos.

Cathaoirleach of Meath West Ógra Fianna Fáil moved a motion calling on the Minister for Defence to do all in his power to stop this practice, defend the good name of the Irish Defence Forces and to protect the historical legacy of the Easter Rising and the War of Independence for all of the Irish people.
    Like yourself meriwether I was going to laugh it off, to indulge in mockery and scorn but then I noted something I think you might have missed.

The motion was proposed by the CATHAOIRLEACH of Meath West Ógra. Not some ordinary scrote of a member, or even the runaí or the Leas-Cathaoirleach, but the bloody Cathaoirleach. A chap whose weighty pronouncements on everything from Irish culture to genetic splicing are taken with the utmost seriousness by the world's great thinkers. On the site Meri refers to the man can be seen wearing a feather boa with a kind of style that would leave many of today's top models breathless with excitement.

Seriously though lads, to be fair, we're not that bothered if you boys want to call the Defence Forces after the IRA. I suppose, in a weird way, it's kind of flattering. Don't be worrying yourselves about it.

Probably most people have a slight problem with an organisation calling itself Óglaigh na hÉireann, when its activities have been limited to only 26 of Ireland's 32 counties by the British government.

CJH

Like the Pavlovian dog I am, meri's original post sent me off looking for corresponding ************************e on YFG sites. Unfortunately, the lack of any sort of updating at all means there's little to get interested in.

But I suggest that YFG might have a look at the link to their Trinners branch on their homesite...

link

Is this what Kevin O Higgins died for? What would Alice Glenn say?

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast