Your some bollox.
"Fun and Games" reference was a piss take to what I perceived as the the utter "Black Adder" "is n't war great" codology that your post was dosed in. WW2 certainly was not fun and games
There was not one utterance from you about jews there, either, so your being entirely dishonest. Your post spoke about the excitement of war etc as if fighting in a war was great stuff all together. I assume you have read Sigfried Sasson. "Fun and Games" term was not to be taken seriously. Next time you write in such a manner about war, think of the Jews.
By the way , feck the Jews. Millions of Russians (some Jews) died in the war too, in fact they got the heaviest causalities (without Russia it WW2 would have taken longer), no one utters a word about them. (granted some was self induced, and what they did afterwards did not help). More Non Jewish Russians died in the War. Many civilians
The war was not about the Jews, the stuff was heard about (well the significance of it) after the war. Not even Fine Gael's WW2 cheerleader, James Dillion gave too much taught for the Jews when the was one of very few Irish people who spoke out against Irish Neutrality. Churchill, for very good reasons, did not talk about "fighting in the beaches" etc for the Jews.
Who came to Ireland's aid during our wars? French and Spanish , but sure they only came because it suited them - enemy is our enemy etc and never in real numbers.
What arguments do you not buy?. Care to actually share your academic findings with us so? What actual archives and documentary evidence do you know about to support your case?
DeV had very good reason to have a problem with Britain. Many people did. But why go to war with a country who has part of your island? Nothing to do at all with the certain carnage of the country. Some people learned lessons of WW1. Not being bullied by Britain, is an independent stance.
Would Dev joined up? Unlikely, he even mussed that question himself. He gave no special favours to America.
If you are going to get all revisionism, at least provide evidence and lay off Captain Hindsight.
Last edited by walrusgumble; 11th January 2012 at 11:27 AM.
Sorry folks, if ye want to have a debate on Ireland's place in WWII, please start a new thread as the two of ye are miles off topic here.
A rising tide raises all ships.