Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Limerick Says NO to IMF dictatorship

Politics.ie Regular Spanner Island's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by making waves View Post
    Video produced by Socialist Youth to advertise a series of events in Limerick to mark the IMF visit to Ireland. These events are being organised by activists from Socialist Youth together with others from different groups, movements and none. The details are:

- Thursday July 14th: Free Screening of "New Rulers of the World" by John Pilger, starting at 8pm upstairs in Dolans.

- Saturday July 16th: Open Protest 'Limerick Says NO to IMF dictatorship" starting at 2pm outside Penneys.
    Check it out on facebook: "Limerick Says No to IMF Dictatorship"

Jaysus - can lefties not get anything right FFS?

It's the ECB/EU which is our real problem and not the IMF at all - an organisation which has been a lot more realistic and pragmatic than the morons in Europe have been.
    The €uro is dying. Fiat money is worthless. Long live the Gold Standard!

Politics.ie Regular moralhazard77's Avatar

Well done lads. I wanted to go to the protest in Dublin on Sat but it's a long trip, so this is great, I'll be there. We need a demonstration on Sat in every city in Ireland. Are there any plans in Cork or Galway.
    It's about time we stood up for ourselves. What the EU, ECB, IMF, Banks and politicans are doing to us is wrong and we have a right to peacefully protest against it. I know it's probably not going to change anything but at least we can show we don't agree with it.

Politics.ie Regular RepublicOfLuas's Avatar

I'm sure Minister for Gee Willie O'Dee is piddling in his jocks.

Politics.ie Regular making waves's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Sync View Post
    Or "SWP calls on Limerick to reject the IMF"
    The protest is being organised by a wide range of people and is being facilitated by Socialist Youth which is the youth section of the Socialist Party (not the SWP).
    "Life is beautiful. Let the future generations cleanse it of all evil, oppression and violence, and enjoy it to the full” - Leon Trotsky.

Saw this on the front page of the Limerick Leader today.

Limerick: Protesters drop giant anti-IMF banner from castle | Socialist Party

Politics.ie Regular DeiseRepublican's Avatar
    @

Fair Play to them I say. It's good to see someone standing up and making their voice heard. It'll also the SY/SP in Limerick no harm PR wise, they're still quite new in the city from what I understand.

Politics.ie Regular Socratus O' Pericles's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by statsman View Post
    Limerick says no to a handful of eejits, more like.
    Right on......may I suggest a list:

Patrick O'Donovan
    Niall Collins
    Dan Neville
    Michael Noonan
    Kieran O'Donnell
    Willie O'Dea
    Jan O'Sullivan

Quote Originally Posted by DeputyEdo View Post
    This thread shows why Ireland is in a mess.
    Some one posts about a group who are going to stage protests about the EU/IMF bailout, and straight away people are in to slag them off. There's no cohesion..no bond between Irish people. It all seems to be a "me and them" type of attitude.
    I couldn't care less who is staging the protests, I wish them the best of luck, and if I could join in, I would.
    Unfortunatly, it's far easier to sit at home and let other people do the protesting, and then moan about them on a forum.
    +1

excellently point well made. People need to wake up and stop falling for the old them-and-us/divide and rule tactics, that have been an obvious and ongoing ploy by the PTB since this crisis broke.

Perhaps there should be a who's going to be attacked/blamed/scapegoated this week contest every sunday evening!

Quote Originally Posted by williewatch View Post
    Maybe Keith, but what ever daft ideas they come up with cannot be as totally useless as what your buddy Willie O'Dea has delivered for Limerick over the last 23 years.

A Willie and a ************************************************ in the same picture - is this not a bit porographic?

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123