Thread: Barack Obama's All-Star Cabinet

Barack Obama's All-Star Cabinet

Now that the election is over and that Barack obama is the 44th President of the United States, thoughts will turn to the cabinet and who will get the various jobs on offer.

I think Obama has made a good choice for Chief of Staff in Rahaman Emmanuel.

It will be interesting to see who fills the other jobs.

I still think that Bill Richardson has to be a front-runner for the State Department. John Kerry's name is mentioned for this job, but George Mitchell could be a dark horse, as he has excellent credentials here.

Colin Powell's name is linked with a top job, Defence is being mentioned, but I feel he could get the job of National Security Adviser.

Defence is very important with the War in Iraq and Afghanistan still occupying centre-ground. Wesley Clarke's name has been ignored in this regard, but I would not rule him out.

If Obama goes for an All-star cabinet as seems likely I think it will be as follows

President Barack Obama

Vice President Joseph Biden

Secretary of State Bill Richardson

Secretary of Defence: Wesley Clarke

Homeland Security Secretary Chuck Hagel

Agruclture Secretary Kathleen Sibelius

Commerece Secretary: John Kerry

Treasury Secretary: Paul Vockler

Education Secretary: Jesse Jackson

Attorney General: Andrew Cuomo

Energy: Al Gore

Labour: Howard Dean

Health and Social Security: Hilary Clinton

National Security Adviser; Colin Powell

Ambassador to the United NAtions Caroline Kennedy.

Politics.ie Member FutureTaoiseach's Avatar

A clever move would be to appoint Maine GOP Senators Olympia Snowe and/or Susan Collins to the Cabinet, so as to remove a popular Republican from the Senate and give the Democrats a good shot of picking up Senate seat 58. *evil laugh*

Politics.ie Regular Defeated Romanticist's Avatar

Jesse Jackson in a position of responsibility!!

That would be like making Michael Ring minister for finance FFS!
    Liquidate labour, liquidate stocks, liquidate the farmers, liquidate real estate.

Volcker would be tremendous but he's very old.

Jackson? Doubt it too.

I was wondering would he offer a post to Colin Powell.

Put Volcker back in the Fed where he belongs, and get rid of that tool Bernanke.

Rumour going around that the Sage Of Omaha himself might be getting Treasury Secretary.

So what if they are both very old? They're still feckin legends, and still sharp mentally, and that's all that matters.

Who was yer man, advised Clinton on National Security and at the beginning of the Bush years, but Bush completely ignored him? Richard Clarke, that's the boyo.
    Je suis un loo-lah

I've heard that Arnie might in in for an invite
    The Mahon Tribunal found Olivia Mitchell to have received an inappropriate payment from Frank Dunlop at the time of the 1992 Election. F.G. Gael has taken no action against her.

Quote Originally Posted by Queen Scotia View Post
    If Obama goes for an All-star cabinet as seems likely I think it will be as follows

President Barack Obama

Vice President Joseph Biden

Secretary of State Bill Richardson

Secretary of Defence: Wesley Clarke

Homeland Security Secretary Chuck Hagel

Agruclture Secretary Kathleen Sibelius

Commerece Secretary: John Kerry

Treasury Secretary: Paul Vockler

Education Secretary: Jesse Jackson

Attorney General: Andrew Cuomo

Energy: Al Gore

Labour: Howard Dean

Health and Social Security: Hilary Clinton

National Security Adviser; Colin Powell

Ambassador to the United NAtions Caroline Kennedy.
    Way too many big egos there. It would turn the White house into a bag of cats.

Obama is a smart guy. I'd say he'll fill his cabinate with unknown people who owe their position entirely to him. Loyality is maintained only when there is no other option.
    "Who will bailout the IMF after FF is finished with them?"

Quote Originally Posted by Sidewinder View Post
    Put Volcker back in the Fed where he belongs, and get rid of that tool Bernanke.
    Bernanke out, definitely. But, Paul Volcker is 81 years old! Still I suppose if he is willing, then he's exactly what's required.

Given that we have a 'balance sheet' recession, what should he do? I know from reading posts on the pin that you favour higher rates to purge the bad debts. But surely there are downside risks associated with that (sorry for derailing thread, pm me if u like).

Quote Originally Posted by Defeated Romanticist View Post
    Jesse Jackson in a position of responsibility!!

That would be like making Michael Ring minister for finance FFS!
    Or Brian Lenihan

Politics.ie Regular droghedasouth's Avatar

Barack Obama's Notes on His Potential Cabinet Leaked to Press - 236.com - The Room

Barack Obama's Notes on His Potential Cabinet Leaked to Press

You really have to follow this link.
    There are times when you are simply required to be impolite. There are times when condescension is called for!
    - Aaron Sorkin writing as President Bartlet to Obama, NYT 21/09/2008

You can't build a smart economy based on dumb decisions.
    - Richard Bruton 18/12/2008