Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Ron Paul- Audit the Fed.

Ron Paul- Audit the Fed.

Ron Paul's views on the failed economic policies that caused the global financial meltdown have proven to be correct. He predicted the financial crisis and was ignored by the usual crowd of paid commentators and hired experts.

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y05RTiECPek"]YouTube - Ron Paul and Peter Schiff Predicted The Economic Crisis![/ame]

His latest move is to try to correct the root of the problem, the massive printing of fiat money by an almost totally unaccountable fed. So far, his bill to audit the Fed has almost 300 signatories in the house and 25 in the Senate. Given that history has proved him right on bubbles and crashes, will he be listened to?

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RYiHE35kCQI&feature=player_embedded"]YouTube - HR 1207 - Audit the Federal Reserve[/ame]
    Ron Paul .com

What are the chances that he will be listened to?

Paul and the Austrians have called it right,put government hates them,because they bring the whip out.Just the way government are now bluffing people that the recession is over,printing money,manipulating stats,wow look at the DJIA etc pure crap pump by the PPT,GS Morgan,false signals.Look at unemployment its bad,the BDI is going down these indicators say different.When the shyte hits GS,Morgan will have taken their profits and left the plebs to suffer.Bammy the puppet knows this .Watch,wait and see.
    A champion of the people emerges with the age-old and appealing promise of "something for nothing" - to be financed through every-increasing taxes. Supply and demand are thrown out of gear - the overhead goes up; the effective use of human energy goes down; the standard of living is lowered because money cannot buy wealth that is not produced.

WEAVER, HENRY GRADY,

Is there any chance of Ron Paul going for the presidency again in 2012? Sorry I don't keep up with this sort of thing, but I have always been very impressed by Ron Paul. He's made me realise where I stand politically and I find him to be very honest.

Quote Originally Posted by plantfirmly View Post
    Is there any chance of Ron Paul going for the presidency again in 2012? Sorry I don't keep up with this sort of thing, but I have always been very impressed by Ron Paul. He's made me realise where I stand politically and I find him to be very honest.
    I would assume he'll make a run. Of course, the key thing is the power of his ideas. Schiff seems to have the same way of thinking.

Far away from shore, under the deep blue night sky

I agree with much of what Mr. Paul says, but he will never be President as he is disinclined to pretend that he is a devout worshipper of some bizarre Southern USA version of God - or, as they call him, GAAWD.

Strange, as the founding fathers went out of their way to keep government and God as far apart as possible.

As for auditing the Federal Reserve, not a chance in hell. Very little is known about this arcane corporation -- even its owners are a bit of a mystery...nobody knows for sure. Most Americans think it is a Federal Institution, owned by the people. It is not. The Fed is a private corporation which occupies a place of enormous power in the world. And nobody is allowed to get too close.

Quote Originally Posted by Capt Blah View Post
    I agree with much of what Mr. Paul says, but he will never be President as he is disinclined to pretend that he is a devout worshipper of some bizarre Southern USA version of God - or, as they call him, GAAWD.

Strange, as the founding fathers went out of their way to keep government and God as far apart as possible.

As for auditing the Federal Reserve, not a chance in hell. Very little is known about this arcane corporation -- even its owners are a bit of a mystery...nobody knows for sure. Most Americans think it is a Federal Institution, owned by the people. It is not. The Fed is a private corporation which occupies a place of enormous power in the world. And nobody is allowed to get too close.
    It is true that great nations collapse from within- the constant prinitng of dollars is destroying the US Dollars position as a reserve currency, yet the institution most direcltly responsible for the decline in American power is also the least accountable.

For me it is a timely reminder for Ireland about the dangers of submitting to remote and unaccountable power.

Quote Originally Posted by seenitallb4 View Post
    It is true that great nations collapse from within- the constant prinitng of dollars is destroying the US Dollars position as a reserve currency, yet the institution most direcltly responsible for the decline in American power is also the least accountable.

For me it is a timely reminder for Ireland about the dangers of submitting to remote and unaccountable power.
    Yes, I agree.

But more worryingly (for America) is the amount of government paper held by China. If they tried to cash it all in America would find itself in an embarrassing position as it simply doesn't have the funds to encash its paper-promises!

I often wonder if, in extremis, the US would simply say "Sod off, we have the nukes!" to its creditors? Remember America has often used force to achieve economic aims in the past.

Quote Originally Posted by Capt Blah View Post
    Yes, I agree.

But more worryingly (for America) is the amount of government paper held by China. If they tried to cash it all in America would find itself in an embarrassing position as it simply doesn't have the funds to encash its paper-promises!

I often wonder if, in extremis, the US would simply say "Sod off, we have the nukes!" to its creditors? Remember America has often used force to achieve economic aims in the past.
    I honestly don't know how it will be resolved. For now, the Chinese can't do much wthout hurting the vale of theor reserves. They seem to be taking a gradualist approach of quietly diversifying and taking steps to internationalize the RMB. When it comes to slowplaying a big hand, there is and never will be anyone better than the Chinese.
    The real question is how should America respond? Do its institutions have the strenght to pay down the deficits, restrain spending and consume less than they produce? Structurally, this will be very difficult to pull off, especially given the amount of econmic activity in the US that is comrised of consumption. It seems that since the Chinese are slowplaying, the Americans do have a bit of time (but not much) to get their house in order. The question is whether the political leaders will level with the people and end the policy of living beyond ones means- in other words, if their politicians are honest, they'll be grand.

Quote Originally Posted by seenitallb4 View Post

... in other words, if their politicians are honest, they'll be grand
    So, nothing to worry about there, then

I agree, the US is basically eating itself. Unless consumption can be curtailed, and savings/fiscal management encouraged then they are heading for a serious fall.

The problem here is that the average American consumer has the IQ of a tumble-dryer. They go to Wal-Mart, with American flags hanging on every wall and "God Bless America" symbolism everywhere, and fill a trolly with cheap crap from China, Malaysia and Indonesia. They have no sense of their individual contribution to the economy and would find this concept difficult to comprehend.

In the US, as elsewhere, we are relying on politicians to take the lead and set the agenda for change.

Of course most politicos don't pay much attention to what will happen when they are safely retired and well out of the firing line. Mind you, our own shower seem blind to tomorrow, never mind ten years down the road!

http://www.politics.ie/us-politics/7...llow-paul.html

I have a thread running on this subject.

Do ye not realise that too many Ron Paul threads upsets Tommy O Brien.

Paul will run again in 2012. It is a certainty. He got 1.2 million votes to McCains 8.5 million. He will not be starting off as a relatively unknown this time. I feel he will name Bachmann as his running mate. His attendance at the minnesota meeting next Friday indicates she is allying herself to him

This bill is going for hearing next Friday also. It has legs and has 2/3 majority in the House with 290 signers.

The Senate is problmatic. That is all the better. Put Dodd in the hot seat as Schiff announced today that he is running.

The Paulites are on a roll

Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast