Page 11 of 17 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast
Like Tree60Likes

Thread: Queen Elizabeth II, 60 years on the Throne today

A crime family syndicate who (so far) have got away with the proceeds of drug dealing, war crimes among other crimes against humanity.

The Saxe Coburg und Gothas are a pan European organized crime family >> who's evil deeds make those of the Hussein's & Gaddafi families, appear petty in comparison.

Quote Originally Posted by gracethepirate View Post
    Long may she reign, but not over any of Ireland. She is a good monarch. Her son Charles will be a good monarch when he succeeds her, though Anne would be a better one.

The British royals are OK and do a good show.
    Yes ,particularly this one.

Harry's Nazi Gaffe Stirs More Outrage
    It's only a bit of craic

Quote Originally Posted by TheLastLazyGun View Post
    Built in Germany? My history book tells me that Elizabeth II was born at 17 Bruton Street in Mayfair.
    Oh, well, that settles it then.

Quote Originally Posted by Dr Pat View Post
    Oh yes, good idea, let's have less democracy then! Eejit.
    Seven of the Top 10 countries in last year's Democracy Index were constitutional monarchies, and I don't think it was merely a coincidence.

So to say that constitutional monarchies are less democratic than republics cannot be more wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by Northtipp View Post
    Yes ,particularly this one.
    Prince Harry is not a supporter of the Nazis. He was dressed that way because he went to a fancy dress party where it is normal to dress up as a Nazi or a monster. If he wasn't famous nobody would have batted an eyelid.

But even if he IS a supporter of the Nazis (which he isn't) and hates Jews then he is no more different than some Irish Presidents and Taiseachs have been, such as Hitler-loving anti-Semite de Valera.

Prince Harry is not a supporter of the Nazis. He was dressed that way because he went to a fancy dress party where it is normal to dress up as a Nazi or a monster. If he wasn't famous nobody would have batted an eyelid.

But even if he IS a supporter of the Nazis (which he isn't) and hates Jews then he is no more different than some Irish Presidents and Taiseachs have been, such as Hitler-loving anti-Semite de Valera.
    That makes it all okay then.

This guy? Prince Philip pictured at Nazi funeral | Mail Online
    It's only a bit of craic

Seven of the Top 10 countries in last year's Democracy Index were constitutional monarchies, and I don't think it was merely a coincidence.

So to say that constitutional monarchies are less democratic than republics cannot be more wrong.
    Noticed that the Republic beat the UK, though, by a clear six places - 12th for the Republic compared to 18th for UK. Care to explain that?
    Democracy Index - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia - see the 2011 results.
    Last edited by Dr Pat; 11th April 2012 at 08:39 PM.

That doesn't stop 87% of the people of the Republic of Ireland following a religion of which the leader is a sectarian monarch.
    An absolute monarch for that matter.
    Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Wouldn't say I am a monarchist, would say I am a constitutional monarchist though, as long as the monarch has no real power I am happy.

The English monarchy is 1000 years old and it is important part of the islands tradition and hertiage, that is why tourists from all over the world go to see the changing of the guards at Buckingham Palace, it is a link to a tradition and a past that many countries do not have alive today. I believe keeping a link to the past is very important, it is no different that people in Ireland trying to turn back the clock and encourage Irish as a first language - its a link to the past.

If a new country started up, I would advice them to be a Republic, because a monarchy that has no history, no tradition, it is pointless. But to get rid of a 1000 year monarchy with no power, just because you want to vote in a failed politican with no power every 4 years is just neglectful, it is like the Irish government building a motorway over Tara.

The anti-monarchists are just cherlish imo, if all the monarchies of the world disappeared, the world will be the less rich becuase of it.
    Love me. Cherish me. I'm a unionist.

Anyone here that might be able to have a quite word with this family ! ! !

Tell them; "to keep a low profile for awhile as the Dole fraud inspectors are under pressure to nail some big offenders. The heat may die down if the keep their heads down though "

Page 11 of 17 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast