Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

Thread: Taoiseach suggests new Government Jet required

Bom

Re: Taoiseach suggests new Government Jet required

All the truly silly sh1t that he really believed-in he feels at liberty to come out with, now!

For those of you who hadnt realised how dim that poor twat is.....say hello to the real Bertie.
    Grow spuds and be true to yourself...

Politics.ie Member CookieMonster's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by bboruimhe
    But we don't have a state airline anymore.
    I know! It's great, isn't it. You'd think the Finns would cop on that it costs them less to have a few planes for their politicans when they need it than having a state airline.
    A poster of some consequence...

Quote Originally Posted by CookieMonster
    But we don't have a state airline anymore.
    I know! It's great, isn't it. You'd think the Finns would cop on that it costs them less to have a few planes for their politicans when they need it than having a state airline.
    The point being that Finnish politicians are not as ridiculously pompous and self-important as our own. The state airline actually served us the people as well. All fur coat and no knickers. Our health service is in crisis, our children are taught in rat-infested schools, parents of children with special needs have to sue our own government to get their rights as citizens recognized. And what concerns Bertie? That he can't stand upright in the shiny new toy he bought for himself in 2004. We vote these morons into power. We are a laughable race of people.
    "Man is the only animal that blushes. Or needs to." Mark Twain

Quote Originally Posted by droghedasouth
    I suppose his next complaint will be that he cant stand-up in his ministerial car and that doesn't come with toilet facilities either.

Really, if I were him I would wonder whether all this Taoiseach stuff was worth the effort.

Maybe that explains his shock resignation with dignity on April 2nd.
    He was probably afraid that he would start wetting his canary-yellow pants if he stayed on as Taoiseach any longer.
    I assumed that was why they were canary-yellow in the first place.....
    "Elite - a small superior group; esp one that has a power out of proportion to its size." (Oxford English Dictionary)

The majority cannot therefore be the elite.

In FInland, similar population to Ireland, they have no government jet. They use the state airline for travel. Supports native industry and sets a good example. But we don't have a state airline anymore.
    I hate defending Ahern but a government jet is vital. You try having to go to an emergency ecofin meeting called for 11.30 and then find that you cannot get a flight. Before we had a government jet when a minister had to get somewhere for a crisis meeting an a flight couldn't be arranged, we had to phone the British Ministry of Defence who contacted the Queen to get permission for one the Queen's flight to fly to Dublin to pick up a minister.

Oh and BTW anyone who thinks the Irish government jet a luxury has never been in it. One former government aide used to pull sickies if he was ever meant to go on it because he found it cramped and uncomfortable. Flying on the thing used to terrify it. He said that he felt that one big fart would blow the thing to bits! Lap of luxury it ain't.
    [color=#FF0000](Guys, when I type in capitals it isn't shouting. I have technical problems which makes using italics difficult. Please don't take offence if you see capitals used!) [/color]

Quote Originally Posted by Winston Smith
    No 32 Royal Squadron (formery Royal or Queens Flight) provide services primarily to the Royal Family (head of state) and has been significantly wound down over the last number of defence spending reviews in the UK. Their use by government ministers has diminished over this time too. The squadron has no intercontinental capabilities. The UK Government can not "call on" BA aircraft since it is no longer state owned. They lease aircraft as necessary for PM and government (apparently a broker in Gatwick is the current organiser) or utilise scheduled services.
    Do any of them have nappie changing facilities?

When the troubles were on, these planes were very necessary for the transport of Irish staff to the Maryfield Secretariat. Due to threats from loyalist paramilitaries, they had to be flown to Belfast in these, then to Maryfield buy British Army helicopter.

Anybody who thinks travelling by plane to another city for work and then back in the same day is a fun thing to do has obviously never done it.

Quote Originally Posted by tallman
    Quote Originally Posted by Winston Smith
    No 32 Royal Squadron (formery Royal or Queens Flight) provide services primarily to the Royal Family (head of state) and has been significantly wound down over the last number of defence spending reviews in the UK. Their use by government ministers has diminished over this time too. The squadron has no intercontinental capabilities. The UK Government can not "call on" BA aircraft since it is no longer state owned. They lease aircraft as necessary for PM and government (apparently a broker in Gatwick is the current organiser) or utilise scheduled services.
    Do any of them have nappie changing facilities?

Who for harry?

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345