Page 1 of 55 1231151 ... LastLast

Thread: I hate cyclists!

I hate cyclists!

There. I've said it. I hate cyclists. Maybe some are safe but it seem to be a tiny minority.

Today, near where I live (there is a dual carriageway outside) I saw 4 people in less than 5 minutes cycle the wrong way up the dual carriageway.

I used to live beside a once-way street. Half way up was a Christian Brothers School. When the school day ended every day up to a hundred kids would cycle the wrong way down the street. I don't know how many times I saw cars swerving to miss a clump of cyclists tearing towards them the wrong way down the street. God help any driver or pedestrian who got in the cyclists' way.

Some months ago I saw a cyclist mow down someone who was crossing O'Connell Street. They had the right of way. All the cars were stopped. But some nob end on a bike whizzed through the cars and send a young man who had been crossing, flying through the air. Luckily the kid was just shaken. But was the cyclist apologetic? Like f*ck he was. When the young man, still shaking, headed down North Earl Street, the f*cker got on his bike and cycled after him screaming "you broke my mirror, you f*cking bastard!" and proceeded to ride at him, shouting "you'll f*cking pay to get a new one, you c*nt!" Before he had a chance to attack the young man he had knocked down, who at this stage looked terrified, a garda saw him and ran towards them. So the cyclist cycled on down O'Connell Street at high speed on the footpath, barely missing people.

I had my own bad experience two years ago. It was lashing rain and a cyclist was knocked down and injured when they ran a red light. All the traffic was stopped. I was in a taxi. The taximan inched over to the kerb to let me out. As I always do I checked the wing mirror for any cyclists cycling along the kerb, and there was none. The car was only a couple of inches from the kerb so it would have been physically impossible for a cycling to pass kerb-side. The driver had also put on his hazard lights. So I opened the door, only to find a cyclist smah into it at high speed. The f*cking eejit was cycling on the footpath between people so there was no way I could have seen him. Cycling on footpaths is banned for a very good reason - because it is dangerous. I ended up badly concussed with a cut arm. The cyclist, as they do, began screaming how I was in the wrong. Luckily one of the gardai heading to the accident ahead was coming behind the taxi and saw the accident. He arrested the cyclist for some traffic offence - I forget what the name of it was. I was too busy dealing with a cut arm and ripped suit to pay much attention - leading the cyclist, as they so often to, to cry "victimisation". The taxi driver had a wrecked car door. I spent the next six hours in casualty. The cyclist somehow had only a sprained wrist. (He was lucky neither I nor the taximan got near him or he would have had a lot worse wrong with him.) But instead of admitting that he was in the wrong he demanded the guard arrest me and the taxi driver for damaging his wheel.

Last week a friend of mine saw an old woman in Ranelagh knocked down by a cyclist who having knocked her down got up, on his bike and cycled away, leaving her on the ground.

(Actually that reminds me: I once saw two cyclists try to cycle at speed THROUGH the Swan centre - a shopping centre - in Rathmines!)

At this point it is rare to find a cyclist in Dublin who actually stops at red lights, who doesn't cycle through pedestrians when they have right of way, who doesn't cut corners, and cycle on footpaths.

We need to get tough on these maniacs.

The rules should be simple.

ALL cyclists should be required to be ensured.

EVERY cyclist who cycles on a footpath should have their bicycle confiscated.

ALL cyclists should be required to have done a course on same use of the roads, and be required to be licenced.

Cyclists always complain about how unfair other road users are to them. The truth is simple: the biggest cause of cycling accidents, and the biggest cause of cycling accidents, are cyclists themselves.* They need to wise up.

* [size=7]By the way, one of my college friends was herself killed in a cycling accident when she was hit by a car on O'Connell Bridge. She was the cause of the accident when she tried to cycle through a red light and straight through the quays, stupidly thinking she could outride traffic crossing the bridge to go down D'Olier Street.[/size]
    [color=#FF0000](Guys, when I type in capitals it isn't shouting. I have technical problems which makes using italics difficult. Please don't take offence if you see capitals used!) [/color]

I am a hypocrite.

Generally I cycle - and I hate motorists. I am also a motorist - and I hate cyclists. To top it all off, I sometimes get the bus - and I detest bus drivers.

Politics.ie Member CookieMonster's Avatar

Couple of years back I was crossing from Stephens Green at the Baggot street corner and some cyclist git decided red lights didn't apply to him and cycled right into me while I was crossing the road.

He knocked me down and basically cycled over me. Happily he sent himself flying over the handlebars. When I picked myself up and realised what had happened I started kicking the ************************ out of his bike, fired some very harsh words his way and continued off down Baggot Street.

Cookie does not like cyclists.
    A poster of some consequence...

I hate local authorities who do not cater adequately for cyclists.

I hate less aware motorists who do not use their mirrors to watch for cyclists.

I'd also like to see bicycle Gardai enforce traffic laws on cyclists. Because let's face it, there's a-holes in all walks of life.

P.s. I've never been a cyclist. My driving instructor had a student kill a cyclist during a test though so it was always drilled into me.
    The future saviour of the Irish Economy:

I've seen several cars and a truck reversing down the M50 over the last couple of years.

Cyclists on the wrong side of a dual carriage-way may be bad, but it's not as bad as that.
    "I put down the welter of corruption in Irish politics to Burke's escape from retribution after that exposure in 1974. It gave everybody in the game a licence to steal."

- Joe MacAnthony

SPN

I saw a stupid situation today where a cyclist refused to move onto the hard shoulder.

When I passed him (no oncoming traffic) I gave him a toot (after I passed him - no need to spook him!) because the traffic behind me was going to arrive behind him just as the oncoming traffic was going to arrive at the same spot.

Did he realise he was a menace to himself (and others)?

Did he f*ck!

Luckily the driver a couple of hundred yards behind me realised what was going to happen and slowed the following traffic - but the boy on the bike didn't know but there was a Micra coming up behind him, and he could have very easily ended up dead (and it would have been the car drivers' fault).

Shoot the barstewards (all barstewards!) who don't give a fiddlers about the effect their behaviour has on other road users.
    "Always do right. This will gratify some people and astonish the rest." Mark Twain

“When a government is dependent upon bankers for money, they and not the leaders of the government control the situation, since the hand that gives is above the hand that takes. Money has no motherland; financiers are without patriotism and without decency; their sole object is gain.” Napoléon Bonaparte

Politics.ie Member CookieMonster's Avatar

*gone*
    A poster of some consequence...

You might want to delete that Cookie. One person died and another never recovered. It was subject to quite a high profile court case. I'm all for a bit of humour but it's a tad inappropriate.
    The future saviour of the Irish Economy:

This is certainly a huge issue, and one which I've seen drag on for ages on talkboards. This could easily go to 100 pages.

Basically, the very few people in Ireland who choose not to walk or take motorised transport are by definition the people with the weakest herd instinct. Thus, you'll find they break rules whenever it appears convenient to them.

But go to any city in Europe where cycling is a normal way to get around, and you'll see far less law-breaking.
    When you see the words "Mises" or "Hayek" in someone's post, just ask yourself: do I really want to ban paper money and go back to gold?

You have to pity the kind of people who buy into conspiracy theories. I find the following to be the saddest words on the internet: "Re: connection between Bilderberg puppet lady gaga and viral outbreak in ukraine "

Politics.ie Regular Victor Meldrew's Avatar

I'm with John here..... guilty as well.

with respect to NDS's comments, bikes are cheap and liberating and a far more positive force than cars on our urban and suburban roads. As someone who used to rely on the auld bike I can tell you that being knocked off your bike is common and unpleasant at best. Bikes should be allowed a degree of latitude (turn left on red, etc) as they get out of the way given a chance.

I agree on the footpath issue though, totally out of line. bad cyclists deserve the same treatment as bad motorists.

Page 1 of 55 1231151 ... LastLast