Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: LUAS fares for some, free for others...

LUAS fares for some, free for others...

Was on the Luas yesterday and looking at a couple in tracksuits with massive bags full of smyth's toystore toys, must have been worth a few 100.
    Anyway they could afford all this, and not a Luas ticket. When the inspector asked them they just said they were getting off at the next stop anyway, and refused to show any ID. Just kept saying no. Arrive at the stop and they just walk off.
    I've seen this a few times. Any decent working individual seems to have to pay for tickets but not junkies or people from certain areas. In any other country the police would be called and they'd be arrested. I know we don't have the resources for the Garda to do this, but why do only certain types of people have to pay for tickets?

Luas inspectors have no right of arrest. They have no legal power to require you to identify yourself. It is very difficult legally to make travelling without a ticket a crime (or it is if you don't want to put off the punters by having Gestapo-like inspectors demanding your Ausweis!)

They rely on (a) people not being aware of this and (b) the general public's honesty. And there are certain antisocial gobdaws who know this and take advantage of the rest of us by playing on it.

the sooner we get with the programme here the better......imo 60% of those travelling do not pay fares on the luas or the incorrect amount. It is a pathetic system of fare collecting and the option of not paying far outweighs the paying option. Another govt fuk up......anyone seen the phantom station all lit up on the stop before carrickmines going southbound? no wonder this country is bust and may I add will be continue to be bust irrespective of bail out, but that's for another thread.

Quote Originally Posted by Q-Tours View Post
    Luas inspectors have no right of arrest. They have no legal power to require you to identify yourself. It is very difficult legally to make travelling without a ticket a crime (or it is if you don't want to put off the punters by having Gestapo-like inspectors demanding your Ausweis!)

They rely on (a) people not being aware of this and (b) the general public's honesty. And there are certain antisocial gobdaws who know this and take advantage of the rest of us by playing on it.
    ok well really no one should pay until they sort it out. Cities I've lived in in Canada and Australia took a hard line on this and people would end up in a cell for a few days at times. It's not fair on normal people.

Politics.ie Regular Tiocfaidh_Armani's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by gayguy2000 View Post
    Was on the Luas yesterday and looking at a couple in tracksuits with massive bags full of smyth's toystore toys, must have been worth a few 100.
    Anyway they could afford all this, and not a Luas ticket. When the inspector asked them they just said they were getting off at the next stop anyway, and refused to show any ID. Just kept saying no. Arrive at the stop and they just walk off.
    I've seen this a few times. Any decent working individual seems to have to pay for tickets but not junkies or people from certain areas. In any other country the police would be called and they'd be arrested. I know we don't have the resources for the Garda to do this, but why do only certain types of people have to pay for tickets?
    I really hate scum like that.

Moan fecking moan, look away, read a book, stop being so judgemental. Fair play to them I say, the poor in this country should follow the example of their 'betters' and try and get away with anything they can until there is equality of justice in this country.
    You may not be interested in the dialectic, but the dialectic is interested in you - Trotsky

Quote Originally Posted by gayguy2000 View Post
    ok well really no one should pay until they sort it out.
    I disagree. If you use the service, you pay for it. If you disagree with their policies on enforcement, don't use it or write to them.
    Cities I've lived in in Canada and Australia took a hard line on this and people would end up in a cell for a few days at times. It's not fair on normal people.
    I agree. I've lived in Germany and the inspectors have enforcement powers a million times more powerful than here. In Canada they typically give statutory powers to inspectors under the Provincial Offences Act, effectively deputising inspectors as 'police-lite'. It would be complicated legally to do that here, but it could be done. Whether the public wants it or there is the political will to do it is another matter. (Personally, I don't want to have to carry and produce a state ID, which is the simplest way to enforce these things).

Politics.ie Regular RightCentreLeft's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by DJCB33 View Post
    Moan fecking moan, look away, read a book, stop being so judgemental. Fair play to them I say, the poor in this country should follow the example of their 'betters' and try and get away with anything they can until there is equality of justice in this country.
    This is the real problem.

People at the top must lead by example. They dont.

End of story.
    Economic Left/Right: -2.88
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -2.56

Politics.ie Regular Seanie Lemass's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by DJCB33 View Post

He's not talking about 'the poor.' He's talking about free loading scum. Most genuinely less well off people would never dream of doing this. Perhaps that makes them collaborators?

As for the LUAS in general, anyone who has gotten the northern line will know that it is like a private transport service for junkies and dealers who alos use it to prey on other customers.
    RepublicOfLuas likes this.

Politics.ie Regular kerdasi amaq's Avatar

What do you need ID for?

Challenging people for a ticket, may encourage them to buy a ticket next time so as to avoid the inconvenience.
    We have got as much as we are going to get out of Europe; it is, now, time to leave!
    EUROPA CONVENTUS DELENDA EST!...Whistle out the marching tune

Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast