Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Dublin public bike scheme an unprecedented success

Quote Originally Posted by Supermanpolitician View Post
    A success but not an unqualified success. Let's keep a grasp on reality.

1. What is the unit cost per bike?
    2. What is the maintenence cost per bike?
    JC Decaux do all this in exchange for the advertising. People have costed the advertising and it's not a good deal on those terms in terms of opportunity cost etc.

However ongoing cost and maintenance is zero as it's part of the deal. As in DCC pay nothing, JCD maintain the bikes, replace any that go missing (none so far)
    We need to radically change every system that has enabled the wholesale destruction of the Irish landscape, rural and urban. There is no time for incremental step by step measures. The systems have failed utterly and the only hope for a real recovery requires the rule book to be torn up completely.

Hell with all the dead members of the Catholic Church

Quote Originally Posted by Evil Eco-Fascist View Post
    Wheels are in motion to expand hugely successful city council bicycle scheme

Well done to all involved in the planning! It's great to occasionally see the Irish learning from other countries' mistakes.
    Ah yes, the 'free' bike scheme that you have to pay for. I await the findings of a future Tribunal into the awarding of such a massive amount of prime advertising space for such a paltry sum.

Still, glad that it is working, didnt see that one coming!

Politics.ie Member Supermanpolitician's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by alonso View Post
    JC Decaux do all this in exchange for the advertising. People have costed the advertising and it's not a good deal on those terms in terms of opportunity cost etc.

However ongoing cost and maintenance is zero as it's part of the deal. As in DCC pay nothing, JCD maintain the bikes, replace any that go missing (none so far)
    I thought DCC pay fot the bikes......am I wrong?

Toblakai, no one in DCC or JCD ever called this a free bike scheme. It's a tenner for a year and any trips under 15 minutes (or half an hour, can't remember) are free. So if you replace 2 trips by taxi in the same area by a bike you've done enough.

SMP, Decaux runs rings around council in Tour of Dublin - The Irish Times - Fri, Aug 28, 2009

jc decaux - The Irish Times - Search=

I know, i know. It's pesky research but sure give it a spin (no pun intended)
    We need to radically change every system that has enabled the wholesale destruction of the Irish landscape, rural and urban. There is no time for incremental step by step measures. The systems have failed utterly and the only hope for a real recovery requires the rule book to be torn up completely.

RTE News at 9 just reported that this scheme will be extended over the next 5 years from 500 to 5,000 bikes and to cover an area from Whitehall to Clonskeagh.

Dublin will be a city of bikes in a few years. I have experienced bicycle congestion several times over the summer, especially along the Grand Canal, and the annual seasonal drop-off in Autumn/Winter simply has not happened in the last 2 years.

Great stuff

Saw this as well - its very positive news. I hope this scheme also inspires Galway and Cork to look at doing something similar.

Quote Originally Posted by alonso View Post
    One for the nay sayers, the inferiority complex-ridden Oirish eejits and the begrudgers. You should look back to some of the comments made here about this scheme before it launched.

While i opposed the advertising deal and still haven't heard about any of the illegal decaux billboards coming down as of yet, at least the bike element has kicked ass beyond belief.
    you could be no more contradictory, the length to which this deal is trumpeted without mentioning its whole, ie the bikes and billboards is ridiculous, its councillors or wannabe councillors love to say success! success! even if it isn't
    Last edited by lostexpectation; 11th November 2010 at 11:05 PM.
    What does the Irish President spend their time doing. Work in progress

LE i was looking through other threads and saw some of your comments. While i agree about the billboards, the placing of the bicycle at the centre of Dublin transport culture was the overall aim. In that regards it's a huge success. It has to be extended 10-fold FFS!!!

Quote Originally Posted by lostexpectation View Post
    you could be no more contradictory, the length to which this deal is trumpeted without mentioning its whole ie the bikes and billboards is ridiculous, its councillors or wannabe councillors love to say success success! even if it isn't
    Is the combination of bikes and billboards not a recipe for disaster for motorists? In fairness they have to be up there in the Top 10 Causes of Accidents.

The bikes by the way don't take cars off the road in the city they just put pedestrian traffic onto the road.

Never used it myself as current locations don't suit but if they ever put a "rank" (or what ever they are called) at Heuston Station I reckon the comuters would be fighting each other for them every morning. Kudos to the DCC Cllrs and officals who brought this to fruition. One small gripe, stop cycling on the footpaths and obey rules of the road please. Ciaran Cuffe nearly killed me one day while breaking the lights near IFSC though in fairness it wasn't one of these bikes he was on.

Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast