Page 24 of 25 FirstFirst ... 1422232425 LastLast

Thread: AA Roadwatch report major traffic jams in Newry as public sector workers go shopping.

Come to think of it, those pictures could have been last Saturday.

The AA could have been in on the scam.

Its amazing how the media works. Even if there had been one PS and 4,999 private sector workers the "spin" would still be "spun".

Quote Originally Posted by pd_phoenix View Post
    because everyone belives that there was, no come on just admit it yesterday was a disaster for ye
    Did no private Sector workers go the at all then, seeing as the kids had a day off school.
    'We are all lying in the gutter but some of us are looking at the stars'

Quote Originally Posted by grainne whale View Post
    Did no private Sector workers go the at all then, seeing as the kids had a day off school.
    I dare say that it was a bit of both. Bad PR for the strikers though, regardless of the unfairness of it.
    "Je n'ai pas besoin de cette hypothèse." - Pierre-Simon de Laplace to Napoleon Bonaparte.

of course they did i never pretended that it was all public sector but you can not deny that the public sector stike caused the mass exosus to newry yesterday. Hold your hands up and say it was an awful pr blunder, you might get more sympathay than arguing that they were all mothers with kids or how can you tell did they have a sticker on their car.

I was against the strike yesterday and never hid that, my beef really isn't with the workers themselves but with the unions who do more spin than the media and yesterday it came back and bit them in the ass
    If we were all born equal we would all be white, middle-class, middle-aged men!

Quote Originally Posted by Cato View Post
    I dare say that it was a bit of both. Bad PR for the strikers though, regardless of the unfairness of it.
    On the contrary, let NO one tell me or anyone else when or where they should shop, what next, when or where I get my teeth done!!

Apologies for not being clear. I think that giving out to the PS for shopping in Newry is unfair. That being said though, it is still bad PR. It has allowed the government and the media to paint you guys in a bad light.

C'est la vie!
    "Je n'ai pas besoin de cette hypothèse." - Pierre-Simon de Laplace to Napoleon Bonaparte.

Parents were probably at home teaching the kids, with all the homework the kids have one wonders what exactly a teacher teaches????

Now let me get this Public Sector Logic, if the Public Sector did go shopping up north, there is less money paid to the Irish Exchequer to fund the Public Sector Wages by loss of business revenue.
    Say for instance you buy a bottle of Spirits up here 80% goes to the exchequer and 20% goes to the retailer selling it, out of the 20% the retailer, made he paid his taxes and rates to fund your Public Sector Wages/Pensions.
    Also my rate bill goes toward Public Sector employing Northern Ireland Contracts.

However you as a Public Sector worker would prefer to fund her Majesties Exchequer by buying your spirits etc in the north..therefore going to the Public Sector UK Pensions etc etc. Well fair play to you being so generous as to fund the UK governments Public Sector. Thats solidarity against the masses for ya.........
    Terrific Logic.

LMAO
    Last edited by selfemployedmar; 25th November 2009 at 02:38 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by myksav View Post
    Who was working and who wasn't?
    The private sector was working, the public sector wasn't working.
    Those working didn't go to Newry.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I see a strong note of stridency from PS posters here. Ye got 'caught out' and don't like it.
    Indeed, and whats funny is that KEvin Doyle didnt log on to defend the PS until yesterday evening. Maybe too busy with the luxury shopping?

Quote Originally Posted by selfemployedmar View Post
    Parents were probably at home teaching the kids, with all the homework the kids have one wonders what exactly a teacher teaches????

Now let me get this Public Sector Logic, if the Public Sector did go shopping up north, there is less money paid to the Irish Exchequer to fund the Public Sector Wages by loss of business revenue.
    Say for instance you buy a bottle of Spirits up here 80% goes to the exchequer and 20% goes to the retailer selling it, out of the 20% the retailer, made he paid his taxes and rates to fund your Public Sector Wages/Pensions.
    Also my rate bill goes toward Public Sector employing Northern Ireland Contracts.

However you as a Public Sector worker would prefer to fund her Majesties Exchequer by buying your spirits etc in the north..therefore going to the Public Sector UK Pensions etc etc. Well fair play to you being so generous as to fund the UK governments Public Sector. Thats solidarity against the masses for ya.........
    Terrific Logic.

LMAO
    Don't forget we are in the EU, it's an 'Open Market', any contracts over a certain amount have to be advertised throughout Europe

Isint that very true.
    So you dont have a problem with the Public Sector personnel being replaced by people from the EU working here in our Public Sector, for a lesser amount but equivalent to the the rate in the public sector in their country?

That would makes sense as the lowest paid Public Sector worker is on the same money as a consultant in Spain/Denmark....

Roll on the IMF

Page 24 of 25 FirstFirst ... 1422232425 LastLast