Thread: Good article on Sinn Féin's economic policy

Good article on Sinn Féin's economic policy

THE FOLLOWING ARTICLE WAS PUBLISHED IN THE LATEST EDITION OF 'THE SOCIALIST' THE NEWSPAPER OF THE SOCIALIST PARTY

"The only party that we would absolutely rule out are the PDs"
    Sinn Fein embraces capitalism
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    By Councillor Mick Barry
    Sinn Fein recently announced its willingness to participate in a Fianna Fail-led or a Fine Gael-led coalition government and has begun to shift its economic policies to the right in advance of the next General Election.

Sinn Fein's longest-serving TD Caoimhin O'Caolain stated on behalf of the party on 1 November that Sinn Fein would "actively consider" coalition after the next election: "Make no mistake about it, however, this is a nettle that Sinn Fein will grasp. The only question is when. The only party that we would absolutely rule out are the Progressive Democrats."

He added: "We have ambitions that can only be achieved in power. I think Sinn Fein is able and has already demonstrated its capacity for responsible government."

Reports have appeared which indicate that a review of Sinn Fein's economic policies, led by party chairman Mitchel McLaughlin and former general secretary Robbie Smyth, has been underway for over a year and aims to shift party economic policy to the right.

The Irish Times, 31 October 2005, highlighted Sinn Fein plans for a 50% income tax rate on those who earn more than €100,000 per annum before detailing a number of plans which indicate a softening of Sinn Fein's position on taxing business: that capital gains tax should be increased but not as far as the 40% rate that existed under the FG-Lab-DL "Rainbow" government of 1994-7; that corporation tax should be increased (from 12%) to a modest 17.5%; and that increasing employers' PRSI back to 12% should be rejected for fear of making "employers' lives difficult."

The Irish Times report says: "In a 1979 Eire Nua (New Ireland) policy document Sinn Fein wanted workers, farmers and fishermen to control the means of production using co-operatives 'based on the principles of industrial democracy'. Private business would have no place in key industries and state incentives would favour co-operatives over any other type of enterprise while foreigners would be barred from owning controlling interests in Irish companies."

According to The Irish Times, the new Sinn Fein policy draft states: "Republicans today recognise that we are in a vastly different world. Today's global economy and membership of the EU mean that the economic protectionism of past years is no longer viable. Ireland, north and south, is part of a wider world and a wider European economy."

However, Sinn Fein are not only rejecting protectionism, they are rejecting control of the means of production by any class other than the capitalist elite. Talk of workers' control of the means of production was always "holiday speechifying" for Sinn Fein, but these policies must be replaced now, no doubt in order to demonstrate "capacity for responsible government".

Sinn Fein will no doubt continue to put on a "left face" in working class communities and build support in the hope that people don't look at the small print. Those who vote Sinn Fein as a protest against the big capitalist parties who are now willing to look at this small print will, however, be shocked to learn that the party would "actively consider" putting FF or FG back in power after the next election. Those who see Sinn Fein as a party campaigning for a "democratic socialist republic" will be shocked to learn that the party embraces big business control of the economy.

Those who want socialist change in Irish society, who reject coalition with right-wing parties and oppose big business control of the economy, are clearly going to have to look well beyond Sinn Fein to find what they are looking for.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    IT IS BETTER TO DESERVE A MEDAL AND NOT GET ONE, THAN TO GET A MEDAL AND NOT DESERVE IT

You know the socialist party are talking through their holes when they open their mouths
    Sovereignty is Democracy

London (aka Lisbon Treaty/PD demise émigré)

what a ridiculous bunch of knee-capping thugs.

They're just saying that they won't go in with the PDs to disguise the fact they are desperate to get int bed with someone and turn the republic into as much of a sh1thole as many of their strongholds in NI.

The decision is made for you lads the PDs wouldn't go near ye.

Can't belive i'm commenting on something from Trot Times... the depths p.ie has sunk me to
    "I thought that I had a duty to help those that weren't as lucky as me." -- John Hume

The Irish Times report says: "In a 1979 Eire Nua (New Ireland) policy document Sinn Fein
    Good to see the Irish Times is up to date, Eire Nua was dropped as a policy document in 1982 at the Sinn Fein Ard Fheis.

Sinn Fein are the only party i would have trust in. They will see the proclamation of the republic implemented. They are about change. If they do go into coalition whats wrong with that? I think they should work with any other political party for the better of this country. They can be a protest party in government.
    If a coalition will speed up the process for a united socialist democratic republic why not go for it? I've faith in the shinners, they will go from strength to strength and will be the leading party in this country.
    The socialists party are one to comment.I wouldn't take any notice from them.
    Up the shinners!

Quote Originally Posted by bikko
    They can be a protest party in government.
    !

protest against themselves???

A bit pointless is it not??
    You Langer

Very smart comment there, but we are talking in relation to a coalition with Fianna Fail or Fine Gael.

So how does a 'protest party in government' actually act?
    Failed liberal traitors:

Republicans want a democratic socialist united Ireland , we want the proclamation of the republic implemented if others do not go about achieving this, i think we have the right to protest.

Quote Originally Posted by smiffy
    So how does a 'protest party in government' actually act?
    I would draw your attention to the Labour Party during their coalition with Fianna Fáil. Not quite in, not quite out.

Further evidence, the PDs during much of their tenure in power with FF.

(Not that I would exactly term the Labour Party a 'protest party').
    "I like you. You're all right. Actually, I like you better meeting you than if somebody had just given me your record."
    Joey Ramone