Page 3 of 22 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Thread: Adams and the "average industrial wage"

OD & Co the point of the thread is to point out that adams (and several other prominent SFer's) say they take only the AIW wage, thus implying that's what they live on, so can relate the "Da working man", however as they also have other (and totally legitimate) incomes its a bit disingenuous to imply (as they do) that they live on the AIW.
    Enda Kenny on FF government: “We’re in this mess, not because Fianna Fáil policies have failed, but because they have succeeded.”

Quote Originally Posted by drbob1972
    OD & Co the point of the thread is to point out that adams (and several other prominent SFer's) say they take only the AIW wage, thus implying that's what they live on, so can relate the "Da working man", however as they also have other (and totally legitimate) incomes its a bit disingenuous to imply (as they do) that they live on the AIW.
    Who implied that they live on the AIW alone? I'm sure many of them do - in fact I know many of them do.

I'm also sure many of them possibly have other incomes. The issue is whether or not they receive their full salaries from their elected positions or just receive the AIW from that.

Surely the profits from the books that Adams has written go back to the movement. I can't imagine that people are allowed to personally profit from their position within the Republican Movement. The AIW is a sound policy if equally applied. Within Sinn Féin however some pigs are more equal than others.

Quote Originally Posted by michels
    Surely the profits from the books that Adams has written go back to the movement. I can't imagine that people are allowed to personally profit from their position within the Republican Movement. The AIW is a sound policy if equally applied. Within Sinn Féin however some pigs are more equal than others.
    So you think that any member of SF who has another income or whos partner has another income of any sort should donate it all to the party do you?

The AIW is a sound policy and fair play to SF and indeed Joe Higgins that do it. If anyone else does it and I have missed that I apologise and fair play to them also.

If all the other TDs in the Dail want to do the same and only accept the AIW form their TDs salary then I would welcome that also, regardless of whether they have any other income or not.

What do you think, will they do it?

If the arrangement re. AIW is similar to that of Joe Higgins, then it's all smoke and mirrors. Joe donates the rest of his income to campaigns such as anti-bin charges etc., all of them platforms for his re-election. So, effectively, he lives on the AIW and puts the rest into his re-election fund. That is before any mention is made of TD's expenses , which are generous to say the least.

Gerrry do you honestly think any profit would be made from the books he writes were it not for the fact that he is President of Sinn Fein and leader of the Republican Movement. Secondly do you actually believe he writes the books himself? The point is he is personally profiting from the labour of others and from the position he has been elected to by the membership of Sinn Féin. Maybe they should get a cut of his salary. If people are making an additional income elsewhere then don't pretend that Adams and co are living on the average workers wage. I don't know too many workers who have all of their expenses paid by their employer.

Quote Originally Posted by kintama
    Just spotted El Matadors comment about McGuiness et al. I understand that McGuinness lives in a modest house in the Bogside which is more than can be said for El Mat. Clearly those on the SDLP payroll are not satisfied with drawing an industrial wage.
    Huh? How the hell would you know what my house is like. Are you some sort of stalker? Weirdo.

Or is it a more sinister attempt to put me off criticising the blessed leader with a subtle 'we know where you live' kinda thing?
    "Sunningdale for slow learners"

Quote Originally Posted by Gerrry
    Quote Originally Posted by drbob1972
    Who implied that they live on the AIW alone? I'm sure many of them do - in fact I know many of them do.
    GA did on the debate last night, the radio today and has done so many times
    Quote Originally Posted by Gerrry
    I'm also sure many of them possibly have other incomes. The issue is whether or not they receive their full salaries from their elected positions or just receive the AIW from that.
    no the issue is that they claim to be the voice of the working man, and live like the working man so can relate which is clearly bollix for at least many of their leadership.

i don't begrudge them their money or financial success in the least, i just don't like them aluding they live a AIW lifestyle.
    Enda Kenny on FF government: “We’re in this mess, not because Fianna Fáil policies have failed, but because they have succeeded.”

Re: Adams and the "average industrial wage"

Quote Originally Posted by unicorn
    AIW - So what?
    People often ask about the AIW and why it is so very important that all SF reps - from the top to the bottom - get the AIW with the rest going to SF.

The reasons this is good is as follows:

1. It ensure that SF reps keep in touch with the pressures on those struggling to make ends meet unlike other politiians.

2. It helps reinvest in the party so that the party can continue its growth path unlike the other parties which are in decline.

3. It appeals to the idea that people enter the party for ideals not money unlike the reps in the other parties.

4. It creates a real sense of equality if everyone is on the AIW.

5. Sinn Féin preach equality so its great that the reps are seen to practice it. From the very top of the party down. Unlike some other parties that pay only lipservice to equality.
    RIRA not in my name-Traitors to Ireland MMcGuinness; People are entitled to cultural & social equality MLMcDonald; We have a length to go understanding unionism GAdams

Quote Originally Posted by michels
    Gerrry do you honestly think any profit would be made from the books he writes were it not for the fact that he is President of Sinn Fein and leader of the Republican Movement. Secondly do you actually believe he writes the books himself? The point is he is personally profiting from the labour of others and from the position he has been elected to by the membership of Sinn Féin. Maybe they should get a cut of his salary. If people are making an additional income elsewhere then don't pretend that Adams and co are living on the average workers wage. I don't know too many workers who have all of their expenses paid by their employer.
    I never said Adams was living on the AIW and to be honest i didnt think he ever said that he lived solely on the AIW. I said that is what he received from his salary. Thats the issue not whether people have a second income from elsewhere. Do you think people should not be allowed two incomes?

Page 3 of 22 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast