Page 11 of 22 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast

Thread: Martin Ferris arrested for Drink Driving

Quote Originally Posted by KeithM
    Quote Originally Posted by MartinM
    Quote Originally Posted by caminoed
    Also if Ferris shows such mazing stupidity as to drink while drunk he is obviously of such bad judgement that he should not be representing the people.
    OK, I confess. I have on occasion shown similar 'mazing' stupidity.
    Yes, but you're not a public representative. The days of turrning a blind eye to what our "betteers" got up to are gone, public representatives, priests, bankers etc can no longer get away with the stuff they did.

so , what, this is two elections in a row where ferris has been arrested weeks before an election?

ya'd swear the gardai are part of his campaign team

HBP:
    "Are you suggesting that many of the posters on this thread who are now criticising Ferris have also driven while over the limit? If so, which ones?"

Are you one of them?

As to me, in my younger years on occasion I may have driven over the limit. Of course it was a more generous limit eight or ten years ago, if memory serves me, so perhaps I wasn't over the limit. I'll never know, since I was never breathalyzed.

If Ferris is culpable, and as usual FF PDs FG etc unite in denying a man the presumption of innocence (these are of course the same crowd who gave us, and still operate a system of juryless courts) then it was an unwise thing for him to do. He's old enough to know better. But compared to the disgusting crimes of FF and their fellow-travellers it is of little moment.

In a hundred years who will remember Martin Ferris or whether or not he was over the limit? Yet in a hundred years our descendents will still be dealing with the lunatic policies of FF/PD, who on behalf of the Irish rich classes combined to destroy the historic Irish nation, and foist an ugly poli-Irish changeling on us in its place.

He hasnt been found guilty.
    I wouldn't read an awful lot into his arrest- the cops in Kerry would arrest him for anything.
    Ill guess that he was drink-driving, but under the limit, and once the copper found evidence of drink, they took him to Chinatown in the hope of pinning Drunk-driving on him.

Quote Originally Posted by meriwether
    I wouldn't read an awful lot into his arrest- the cops in Kerry would arrest him for anything.
    Ill guess that he was drink-driving, but under the limit, and once the copper found evidence of drink, they took him to Chinatown in the hope of pinning Drunk-driving on him.

Clutching at straws.......I would say

Quote Originally Posted by Bart

Yes he hasn't been found guilty, and the rule of law means that we have to have his guilt demonstrated in court. However attempts by some republicans on this site to spin a claim that it is somehow a set-up is nauseating. They don't seem to realise that as a party in a democracy they cannot hang around on the fringes, and try to claim that anything that reflects badly on someone is somehow a set-up. If they are willing to back the PSNI (and I applaud them for that) then they also have to back the gardaí. If Ferris is found guilty they need to be able to accept that and condemn him for drink driving.
    Nill illigitimi carborundum - don't let the b*stards get you down.

Economic Left/Right: -4.13
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -4.36

My guess is that he had 2 pints, felt fine, and drove.
    Whether this will be enough to be a drunk driving offence could depend on any number of factors, including whether he had a big dinner, had a packet of crisps with his pint, or went for a slash before he left.
    Itl be tight.

Meri's FG is he not?
    Poni welwch chwi hynt y gwynt a'r glaw?
    Poni welwch chi'r deri'n ymdaraw?

Also if Ferris shows such mazing stupidity as to drink while drunk he is obviously of such bad judgement that he should not be representing the people.
    I do most for my drinking while drunk too... :wink:

So KeithM, is this an assault on democracy that you are proposing? Surely the electorate can choose who represents them without your assistance, and if they show 'bad judgement', what of it? It wouldn't be the first time...

[quote=C. MacConaglaigh]
    Quote Originally Posted by FakeViking
    Quote Originally Posted by "Miriam Cotton":13txux34
    As for this stuff about it being a set-up: cop on. Stop putting your heads in the sand. You support a party that, more than any other party, has disregard for the law, ethics, morales and indeed life.
    Oh come off it! When are we going to have an end of this hypocrisy. The history of Sinn Fein, Fianna Fail and Fine Gael are identical - the only thing separating them is a few decades. The tactics by which we gained our independence are identical to those deployed in the North by the Republican side and for the same reasons. Speaking as a pacifist, I find it all equally repugnant but let's have no more of this holier than though rubbish about SF from FF, FG and indeed the PDs who, if they meant a word of what they said, wouldnt be forming coalitions with FF or contemplating one with FG - by the same token.
    Are you excusing Drink Driving?
    Did she say she was? She is pointing the hypocrisy of some members of these parties![/quote:13txux34]

I amn't actually a member of the PDs, but in truth that is because they are very poor at getting back to potential members!

How is it hypocritical of me to detest SF because of the actions of many of their members and politicians - actions which I find in the most part rotten. Actions which SF find perfectly fine and justified.

Anyway this isn't about SF and criminality. It's about one dope who happens to be a SF TD. In fairness - court cases regarding Drink Driving are basically a formality. If you are pulled up and fail the test, your over the limit and that is that.

It shouldn't be a party political issue though. As can be seen in SF policy, drink driving is not their "cup of tea". How the party deals with this will tell alot about whether or not SF has moved with the times at all. Before, they would have realised this would win them support from the county people who carry a "liberal" attitude to having a few and drinking. Nowadays, TDs and candidates who do things like this are expected to be given the boot.
    Minds cannot be managed, only inspired.

Page 11 of 22 FirstFirst ... 91011121321 ... LastLast