Thread: Irish Priest in Texas

Irish Priest in Texas

Father O'Malley rose from his bed. It was a fine spring day in his new
    Texas mission parish. He walked to the window of his bedroom to get a deep breath of the beautiful day outside. He then noticed there was a jackass lying
    dead in the middle of his front lawn. He promptly called the local police
    station.
    The conversation went like this:
    "Good morning. This is Sergeant Flaherty. How might I help you?"
    "And the best of the day te yerself. This is Father O'Malley at St. Brigid's. There's a jackass lying dead in me front lawn. Would ye be so kind as to send a couple o' yer lads to take care of the matter?"
    Sergeant Flaherty, considering himself to be quite a wit, replied with a
    smirk, "Well now father, it was always my impression that you people took care of last rites!"
    There was dead silence on the line for a long moment.
    Father O'Malley then replied: "Aye, that's certainly true, but we are also
    obliged to notify the next of kin."

"The hope of a secure and livable world lies with disciplined nonconformists who are dedicated to justice, peace and brotherhood."
    Martin Luther King, Jr.

Good one.....

but is it really supposed to spark off a debate?? About what exactly?? 8)
    A Horseman rode by.

I bet a Native American did it. You know what they're like...

Quote Originally Posted by Yeats
    Good one.....

but is it really supposed to spark off a debate?? About what exactly?? 8)
    I
    Think
    Its
    Meant
    To
    Be
    A
    Joke
    ?

Well I laughed anyway? Dont see whats to debate, cops are jackass's the world over, case closed.

Unless you have a theory about the jackass itself?

Major in the living room with a steel carrot to the back of the floppy ear?
    If I could mass-sterilise the planet, I would. Seriously.

Libero,

Quote Originally Posted by Libero
    humor/humour:

1. The quality that makes something laughable or amusing; funniness: could not see the humor of the situation.
    2. That which is intended to induce laughter or amusement: a writer skilled at crafting humor.
    3. The ability to perceive, enjoy, or express what is amusing, comical, incongruous, or absurd.

racism:

The belief that race accounts for differences in human character or ability and that a particular race is superior to others.
    Discrimination or prejudice based on race.

Now please explain to me what you are implying by bringing Native Americans into the equation of the joke I posted above!
    "The hope of a secure and livable world lies with disciplined nonconformists who are dedicated to justice, peace and brotherhood."
    Martin Luther King, Jr.

Do Irish-Americans really speak like that?

Those foreigners, eh?

Quote Originally Posted by Seabird
    Libero,

humor/humour:

1. The quality that makes something laughable or amusing; funniness: could not see the humor of the situation.
    2. That which is intended to induce laughter or amusement: a writer skilled at crafting humor.
    3. The ability to perceive, enjoy, or express what is amusing, comical, incongruous, or absurd.

racism:

The belief that race accounts for differences in human character or ability and that a particular race is superior to others.

Now please explain to me what you are implying by bringing Native Americans into the equation of the joke I posted above!
    Hypersensitivity:

Extreme sensitivity.

Anyway, I thought you thought you were Irish?
    "If there is a future, it will be Green." - Petra Kelly.

Libero,

humor/humour:

racism:

I wouldnt worry about someone who thinks having a pop at you for your convictions is funny. Its a cheap laugh, thats all! And not even funny, at that!
    If I could mass-sterilise the planet, I would. Seriously.

green,

a*s hole
    n 1: insulting terms of address for people who are
    stupid or irritating or ridiculous

2: excretory opening at the end of the alimentary canal [syn: anus,
    arse, arsehole]

The OD,

Now that is funny. LOLOLOLOL
    Martin Luther King, Jr.

Typical maturity from Seabird. Please grace us with your wit again before long.
    "If there is a future, it will be Green." - Petra Kelly.

Libero,

humor/humour:

racism:

Wow, I bet you're great fun.