Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Register of Members' Interests published

Politics.ie Royalty toxic avenger's Avatar

I noticed Sean Haughey's one alright, I wondered did he inherit a fair chunk of that when his old man passed over the River Styx?

I also noticed that the fragrant Beverley declares precisely nothing. Seems a bit unenterprising for our Bev...

Does anyone maintain that TDs are paid too much?

I think the next Dail, the salary should be set at no more than twice the Average Industrial wage. FFS diamond mines, vested interests in banks, and Sean H still has the CRH shares!

why doesn't it say how much the shares are worth?
    What does the Irish President spend their time doing. Work in progress

Quote Originally Posted by hopi watcher View Post
    Not a patch on Sean,

"HAUGHEY, Seán (Dublin North-Central)
    2. Shares …………………….. 25 ordinary shares of €1.27 each: Larchfield Securities, 20 Upper Mount St., Dublin 2: family holding company; (1) BP: 1 St. James's Square, London SW1Y 4PD, UK: integrated oil and gas; (2) Royal Dutch Shell: Carel van Bylandtlaan, 16, 2596 HR Den Haag, Postbus 162, 2501 An Den Haag, Holland: integrated oil and gas; (3) Tesco: New Tesco House, Delamare Road, Cheshunt, Hertfordshire, England, EN89SL: food retail; (4) Lloyds TSB: 25 Gresham Street, London EC2V 7HN, UK: banking; (5) Royal Bank of Scotland: Gogarburn, Edinburgh, Scotland: banking; (6) Templeton Emerging Market Investment Trust: The Adelphi, 1-11 John Adam Street, London WC2N 6HT, UK: investment trust specialising in investing in mid-cap companies in Emerging Markets; (7) Alcoa: 201 Isabella Street, Pittsburgh, PA, 15212-5858, U.S.A: basic materials; (8) Total: 2 Place de la Coupole, La Defense 6, 92400, Courbevoie, France: integrated oil and gas; (9) CRH: 42 Fitzwilliam Square, Dublin 2: construction and basic materials; (10) Grafton Group: Heron House, Corrig Road, Sandyford, Dublin 18: construction and building materials; (11) Kingspan Group: Dublin Road, Kingscourt, Co. Cavan: building products; (12) Vinci: 1 Courts Ferdinand de Lesseps, F-92851 Rueil-Malmaison, Cedex, France: construction and building materials; (13) AIB: Bank Centre, Ballsbridge, Dublin 4: banking; (14) Bank of Ireland: Bankcentre, Baggot Street, Dublin 2: banking; (15) BNP Paribas: 16 Boulevard des Italiens, 75009, Paris, France: banking; (16) Commerzbank AG: D-60261 Frankfurt am Main, Germany: banking; (17) Continental AG: Vahrenwalder Strasse 9, D30165, Hanover, Germany: auto parts and equipment; (18) Impax Funds Environmental Markets: Broughton House, 6-8 Sackville Street, London WIS 3DG, UK: investment trust specialising in renewable energy; (19) National Grid: 1-3 Strand, London, WC2N 5EH, UK: utilities; (20) Unicredit Spa: Piazza Cordusion 20123, Milan, Italy: banking; (21) United Drug: Magna Drive, Magna Business Park: pharmaceutical distribution; (22) Altria Group: 120 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10017, USA: tobacco; (23) E.On: E.On-Platz, 1 40479 Dusseldorf, Germany: utility; (24) J.P. Morgan Japanese Investment Trust: JP Morgan Asset Management, Finsbury Dials, 20 Finsbury Street, London EC2Y 9AQ: investment trust specialising in Japanese equities; (25) Bank of America, 100 N. Tryon Street, Charlotte, NC 28255, USA: banking; (26) J.P. Morgan Euro Fledgling Investment Trust: 120 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10017, USA: investment trust specialising in smaller European companies; (27) United Utilities: Haweswater House, Lingley Mere Business Park, Green Avenue, Great Sankey, Warrington, Cheshire WA5 3LP: utility; (28) Edinburgh Dragon Investment Trust: 10 Queen's Terrace, Aberdeen AB10 1YG, Scotland: investment trust investing in large companies in Asia; (29) Fidelity European Values Investment Trust: Fidelity Investments International, 25 Cannon Street, London EC4M 5TA: investment trust specialising in European companies; (30) Perpetual Income & Growth Investment Trust: Perpetual Park, Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire RG9 1HH, UK: investment trust specialising in higher dividend yielding UK companies; (31) Roche: Roche Holding AG, Grenzacherstrasse 124, CH-4070, Basel, Switzerland: pharmaceuticals.

Other Information Provided: (7) sold part of holding in June '08; (15) since disposed of in Oct '08; (16) & (17) since disposed of in July '08; (18) & (20) since disposed of in June '08; (19) since disposed of in February '08; (21) since disposed of in August '08; (22) disposed of in March '08; (23) disposed of in July '08; (24) & (25) disposed of in Jan '08; (26) & (27) disposed of in Feb '08; (28)-(30) disposed of in June '08; (31) disposed of in July '08."
    Wasn't there a story in the Herald in the glory days of the tribunals estimating that the patriarch's ill-gotten gains ran to about £40 million? In the global scheme of things, it didn't match the kind of dividend that a few African dictators achieved, but it could well be a European record. Even after our customary vigorous enforcement of tax regulations recovered at least, what, tuppence ha'penny?

Isn't it good to see that such an entrepreneurial clan are not on their uppers just yet?
    Laws are like cobwebs, which may catch small flies, but let wasps and hornets break through.
    - J. Swift

Quote Originally Posted by lostexpectation View Post
    Er what relevance would it have ?

Seriously given share prices go up and down every day its pretty pointless to put a ficticious value on them.

Shares in private companies are pretty worthless so how do you value them ?

Given declarations are made at different points then using share prices to value would mean it never gets done or you add additional cost for no benefit in getting a public servant to do it. 166 Dail plus Seanad means 2-3 people doing the valuation.

@

Interesting that Bertie refers to income from his compère role on the road to Croker but Willie again doesn't mention his regular gig at the Sindo?

Either Willie is paid the going rate and so should declare it or he is not paid in which case it is an advertising piece which he doesn't pay for and he should declare it as a benefit in kind. The only way in which he should need to mention it is if he pays for the column space at the going rate for the Sindo.
    Dan Sullivan. I was back but we still couldn't all have a vote.

number of shares would be a better indicator as if the last year has taught us anything the notional value can go all over the place.

case in point mary harneys over (by how much mary? ya didnt say that! in bertie speak we could be talking multiples) 13k in bank shares. at the height you could be talking only around 928 shares or so.

IVE got more than that now cause i bought at 34c and i aint on harneys money.

some of em DID declare how many shares they had, but most seemed to just stick in the name of the conscern. looks to me , like in other things to do with the gov, theres a VERY lax attitude in terms of how you fill theses things out.

TBH i outright dont belive some of em dont have anything to declare.

that said reading that list has coloured how i will see politicians from now on when they bang on about "how we all lost the run of ourselves " during the celtic tiger. considering the massive amount of property, multiple properties in many cases, owned by our representatives its clear theyre actually just talking about themselves as they were up to their necks in it.

even the taoiseach has more property to his name than shares (in fact he's NONE of them)

i honestly dont know ANYONE with more than two properties let alone 14 ! and fecking DIAMOND mines? what the hell does willie o dea know that the rest of us dont . it was interesting to see RTE radio had to apologies to frank fahy this morning for smearing his name for being involved in the blood diamond trade. seems willies no problems with it to line his pocket.

and speaking of fahy it looks like he owns half of europe !

theres TWO things ive taken from this register.

1. boi and aib wont be nationalised as half the dail OWN it

2. property tax wont happen as even eamon gilmore is a landlord.

Politics.ie Royalty toxic avenger's Avatar

Gilmore,I think, just owns land there through family and rents it out, it doesn't make him a slum landlord or a magnate like Fahey, in fairness.

Senan Moloney was on Pat Kenny a while ago discussing this, he made the interesting point that they don't have to declare interests held by spouses, or transferred to spouses (there's no CAT on inter-spousal transfers at all, I believe). So the whole thing is a bit of a charade. He also mentioned, as referred to above, his noting that Beverley Flynn lists absolutely nothing...

Because share value can and does change on a rapid basis. Print one value and by the time you read it, it's different.

You can probably look up the present values on the Stock Exchange.
    The enemy of my enemy is the enemy of my enemy. There are lies, damn lies and Fine Gael confusions. "I don't understand." Alan "it's only 79 punts" Shatter

ah i know toxie.

i was just referencing that very show where pat called him a landlord. the gaff is empty and it sounds like agricultural land to me which is better giving a job than lying idle so i was just being mischeivios.

its undeniable though that a substantial number of TDs are up to their tits in property so i cant help looking a little askance at em when they go on about "tightening our belts" when theyve got all this extra rental money coming in ON TOP of their TDs wage and expenses.

your right about how vague this fecking thing is and it needs a complete overhaul to get a grip on whats actually going on. we dont have a right to know what a TDs spouse holds but we sure as feck are entitled to know if theres conflicts of interests there or if shares are being deliberatly being put in their names by TDs to cover their interests.

that can be simply and confidentially done by revenue. after all its hard to buy land and stocks left right and centre if youve no independant wage

of course this is dependant on TDs writing laws to this effect, and whats the odd on that ?

alot of the "nil" responese dont ring true to me either. i mean how funny is it a hell of alot of em DONT consider their TDs salary as an occupational wage and neglected to put it down ?

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast