Page 15 of 15 FirstFirst ... 5131415
Like Tree135Likes

Thread: Stephen Donnelly TD Where has this man been?

Quote Originally Posted by ShoutingIsLeadership View Post
    @Carson
    @H.R. Haldeman

I’ve heard him say it before, which leads me to believe he did not mis-speak on the matter (as he would see it). It’s also the fact that I’ve heard him speak about it before, which leads me to believe his comment related to needing a higher growth rate than countries undergoing a ‘significantly contractionary fiscal policy’, as Carson put it. I fully agree that the way he phrased it would leave one believe he was speaking about growth rates under all conditions.
    I think he's based this on the fact this is secular, is a balance sheet recession and also the research of Ken Rogoff and Carmen Reinhart in this time is different. I bought my copy the day before we turned the corner.

Quote Originally Posted by Tomas Mor View Post
    I will never forgive the modern days Dermott McMurroughs- Fianna Fail for destroying this country with their cronies, banks and builders, and Galway tent and when the sh1t hit the fan called in the IMF. It will take at least a generation to put things right, and at that time they will probably start all over again.
    Don't forget the PDs. Their liberal economics and the populism of FF met its nexus in McCreevy. I was worried about house prices 12 years ago. He kept on accelerating when he should have braked.

Also the FG opposition who had done so well as the rainbow were pathetic, they were trying to encourage even more pro cyclical policies than the economically illiterate McCreevy and Cowen.

Quote Originally Posted by Boy M5 View Post
    Shatter is a solicitor with a department full of public servants and access to SCs at our expense, including those who are expert at constitutional law. Donnelly is an economist and a cub TD acting by himself. If he screwed up this time. He won't next time as he will have learnt.
    If it was his first piece of legislation, then fair enough I suppose. Hopefully this will be a once off for Donnelly. What I don't have is any sense of whether what happened today is a common occurence or not in the Oireachtas, so it's hard, perhaps, without that context to be conclusive on what today tells us about Donnelly as a politician/legislator.

Quote Originally Posted by whooley View Post
    If it was his first piece of legislation, then fair enough I suppose. Hopefully this will be a once off for Donnelly. What I don't have is any sense of whether what happened today is a common occurence or not in the Oireachtas, so it's hard, perhaps, without that context to be conclusive on what today tells us about Donnelly as a politician/legislator.
    Normally legislation is framed by public servants who expert at such matters. Fair play to FG Lab for encouraging such legislation. However, I bet they laughed all last night as they lay in the long grass for the new man Donnelly.

Quote Originally Posted by Boy M5 View Post
    Normally legislation is framed by public servants who expert at such matters. Fair play to FG Lab for encouraging such legislation. However, I bet they laughed all last night as they lay in the long grass for the new man Donnelly.
    I would think that ideally an effective opposition would need to be able to draft legislation. If they could do so with a degree of competence on issues such as that which Donnelly was backing today, it would certainly be a way of upping pressure on the government to act. So I hope that Donnelly will try again.

Edit: It seems that successful Private Members' Bills are extremely rare, but one initiated by Senator Fearghal Quinn in 2010, The Construction Contracts Bill, has been passed. In this context, perhaps Donnelly was just trying to draw attention to the issue. That still doesn't help me to make up my mind on him.
    Last edited by whooley; 3rd February 2012 at 09:17 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Panopticon View Post
    "a couple of months", for a treaty that was only decided a few days ago. Yer spoofing.
    a couple of months from now

what do you think all this bollocksology about sending it to the AG is about ?

kenny KNOWS it requirese a referendum.

this is a can kicking exercise.

jaysus man cant believe ya havent copped that one !

Page 15 of 15 FirstFirst ... 5131415