Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Does anybody in Government care about what opposition has to say?

Does anybody in Government care about what opposition has to say?

I am writing this thread in relation to yesterdays budget speech and the replies from the opposition parties. I have watched numerous amounts of these budgets and I always notice the same things. Heckling from the backbenches (which I know happens but I heard Mary Lou McDonald get some awful amount of abuse. And the same issues once again with many TDs just walking out before someone spoke. That has to be sheer ignorance if anything. I believe saying as they are being paid (VERY WELL, might I add) that they should have to stay and listen to what the opposition has to say that being the point of an opposition, If 75% walk away and don't listen to what the other parties think then this cant be good for a society when the people at the top cant wait an hour to listen to what other people have to say. Did anybody else notice this? It happens mostly when SF get their turn but Im sure by the time technical groups who worked hard to get their say in will only be speaking to a handful this is not fair or just I think

Mary Lou - budget cuts hurt the most vulnerable - YouTube
    If you don’t stand for something you will fall for anything

Of course they listen.

Some good ideas presented by SF & FF

ULA didn`t bother with anything, just massive generalisatons.
    Buy one get one free - Vote DELUDED Fianna FAIL and get the IMF thrown in FREE
    ...........ABFF 147 DELUDED 18 GAGGED 1

Mehole Martian - Keeping Ireland FIANNA FAIL FREE FOR the FORSEEABLE FUTURE

FG/Lab couldn't give a shyte they have a massive majority . So the boys on the oppostion could be swinging from the roof and they wouldn't give a fly n fxxk

Now, if Ronald McDonald had anything worth listening to, it might be a different matter.
    Anger is an acid that can do more harm to the vessel in which it is stored than to anything on which it is poured. - Mark Twain

Quote Originally Posted by hammer View Post
    Of course they listen.

Some good ideas presented by SF & FF

ULA didn`t bother with anything, just massive generalisatons.
    Ye there is some good ideas but why cant these be taken seriously and used possibly? At the moment the country needs ideas that benefit us all and not the pride of a government id rather take a good idea that ff or sf have and use it than have angela merkel tell me what to do. I dont honestly think they care, if SF or FF had the ultimate idea of the lot it would be just threw out in the bin from government. At the end of the day we are living in what is the next best thing to a dictatorship until the next election and then we could be in the same thing again the majority is too great and nobody has a say its way too unfair in these troubled economic times we need to add all the good ideas together and sort this for the people of Ireland once and for all

Quote Originally Posted by Fractional Reserve View Post
    FG/Lab couldn't give a shyte they have a massive majority . So the boys on the oppostion could be swinging from the roof and they wouldn't give a fly n fxxk
    Exactly if SF and FF had a football game as they discussed the budget they wouldn't give two sh1ts.

Politics.ie Regular Grumpy Jack's Avatar

In response to Howlin yesterday, Fianna Fail's Sean Fleming said - and I jest not here:

"These decisions will impact harshly on some people but the Government has been careful to protect some of its well-paid friends and cronies."

WHISKEY. TANGO. FOXTROT?

Why in the name of Jaysus would anyone take that shower of shysters seriously after a line like that?

Quote Originally Posted by statsman View Post
    Now, if Ronald McDonald had anything worth listening to, it might be a different matter.
    I myself thought Doherty would have been the best choice for the speech but seems the leadership didn't think so.

It was interesting in the FF presentation that they reckoned a 5% levy on off-licence sales would generate €100 million, Yes €100 million in receipts.

That quantifies off-licence sales at €2 billion per annum

We drink too much.
    Buy one get one free - Vote DELUDED Fianna FAIL and get the IMF thrown in FREE
    ...........ABFF 147 DELUDED 18 GAGGED 1

Mehole Martian - Keeping Ireland FIANNA FAIL FREE FOR the FORSEEABLE FUTURE

Does anyone (outside of government) listen to opposition grand standing? Personally I try to avoid the lot of them as most of them just want to score political points. When someone agrees with the some of the government decisions I am more likely to listen as might hear some constructive points.
    hammer likes this.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast