Page 3 of 15 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Thread: "Do we need gender quotas to ensure women are fairly represented?"

MPB

Quote Originally Posted by Bobert View Post
    In 1973 Maragret Thatcher was asked about the feasibility of a female Prime Minister. She answered with;Mrs. Thatcher was a woman, this much is true. She was also a very logical and sensible person who always acted in what she thought would be most beneficial for her country and society. Given that today is International Woman’s Day I thought I’d address the subject of gender quotas in the national parliament.

So according to David Farrell of UCD, of the world’s 77 democracies, Ireland comes joint 54th in the number of women MPs. There are 23 women out of 166 TDs in Dáil Éireann. Firstly, I don’t see this as a problem but some people do. To me the number of female TDs is about as relevant as the number of TDs who smoke or the amount who drive. Off course the argument that “Well more women would show how progressive we are and those women would look out for women’s interests.”

Off course, this is true but in terms of the national parliament’s purpose, this is not it’s duty. Its duty is to legislate for all sections of society in spite of the gender of parliamentarians. There are off course ways for more women to become involved in politics. Indeed, any woman can put herself forward as a candidate, and indeed, any party can select a woman to be a candidate. Seeing as well that the overall choice rests with the electorate, most parties will select a candidate who they think can win and in most cases gender is irrelevant.

To pass over a better male candidate in favour of a female one is stupid and sexism in itself. In fact, it is the worst type of sexism as it suggests women are totally inept and can only be elected if measures are introduced to ensure this. My own suggestion is a humble one; we all recognise that women make valuable contributions to society as do men and that they are just as capable as men in government and therefore should be given every opportunity to represent their constituency at all levels once they can get elected. If not, we won’t whinge about it.

Oh, and 8 years after she answered that question, Margaret Hilda Thatcher became the first and only female Prime Minister of Great Britain and Northern Ireland as a result of her own intelligence and hard graft.
    How many of the 23 are on the front benches?

whether you agree with Thatchers policies is another matter. She got to the top in the 1970s in the tories. She didn't campaign "as a woman" or that mna na heireann krap Mary Robinson reduced herself to. She was deemed the best PERSON for the job.

Jaysus - if the quoto bunch have their way, Mary Coughlan will get a run in Finance.

and of course, some of our fine male hard-grafters do nearly fall out of helicopters... women tend to drone
    and work harder than men in politics and get less recognition.
    Last edited by Christine Murray; 11th March 2010 at 10:31 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by MPB View Post
    How many of the 23 are on the front benches?
    Why is that relevant?
    Every one sees what you appear to be, few really know what you are, and those few dare not oppose themselves to the opinion of the many, who have the majesty of the state to defend them.

- [SIZE=2]Niccolò Machiavelli[/SIZE]

if we seek excellence in our politics regardlesss of gender then we should not be so forgiving of the hapless
    shower that have sullied them so -

But sure thats a whole 'nother thread!

we are at less than 14% representation, interestingly I wonder if de Burca's departure kinda tipped that BUT I know
    shyte about math.

I know President Mc Aleese tipped it over two terms, so it will descend lower when we get a boy for president.
    Lower indeed than sub-saharan Africa! We are unique.

Quote Originally Posted by Christine Murray View Post
    women tend to drone and work harder than men in politics and get less recognition.
    evidence or just another sexist comment?

MPB

Quote Originally Posted by Bobert View Post
    Why is that relevant?
    23 is roughly one sixth of the total of TDs.

I might be wrong, but I think there are 7 of that 23 that are on the front benches, roughly one third.

There is inequality in the numbers getting elected alright but it more than evens itself out when front bench positions are handed out.

Quote Originally Posted by toughbutfair View Post
    evidence or just another sexist comment?
    ask the door-steppers, why not ???

Quote Originally Posted by MPB View Post
    23 is roughly one sixth of the total of TDs.

I might be wrong, but I think there are 7 of that 23 that are on the front benches, roughly one third.

There is inequality in the numbers getting elected alright but it more than evens itself out when front bench positions are handed out.
    So one third of the front bench consists of women and you're complaining? You want it 50:50? Grand so. I want a black, lesbian, Jew who is in a wheel chair in cabinet otherwise I'll cry inequality until the cows come home.
    Every one sees what you appear to be, few really know what you are, and those few dare not oppose themselves to the opinion of the many, who have the majesty of the state to defend them.

- [SIZE=2]Niccolò Machiavelli[/SIZE]

Page 3 of 15 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast