Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Cowen snubs greens on reshuffle

Cowen snubs greens on reshuffle

Taoiseach will overlook calls for second junior minister, despite John Gormley arguing an agreement was in place with Bertie Ahern

The taoiseach believes that any case the Greens had for a second post evaporated last year when five junior ministries were culled in a money-saving exercise, according to senior government sources.

He may offer his coalition partners the consolation of upgrading their junior minister to “super” status, a post that would give the party an extra voice at the cabinet table but not an extra vote.

Green TDs and senators failed to return phone calls about the reshuffle last week and a party spokesman would only say the appointment of ministers was a matter for the taoiseach.

Senior sources indicated that John Gormley, the leader, would press the party’s case with the taoiseach, arguing that an agreement for a second junior ministry was reached with Bertie Ahern, Cowen’s predecessor, in 2007, when the number of junior ministries stood at 17.

Cowen snubs Greens on reshuffle - Times Online

The poor greens.......oh well.....suck it up like the rest of us.....
    The hurt of one is the hurt of all, the honour of one is the honour of all.

Native American Indian Traditional Code of Ethics

Quote Originally Posted by Newsy View Post
    Taoiseach will overlook calls for second junior minister, despite John Gormley arguing an agreement was in place with Bertie Ahern

The taoiseach believes that any case the Greens had for a second post evaporated last year when five junior ministries were culled in a money-saving exercise, according to senior government sources.

He may offer his coalition partners the consolation of upgrading their junior minister to “super” status, a post that would give the party an extra voice at the cabinet table but not an extra vote.

Green TDs and senators failed to return phone calls about the reshuffle last week and a party spokesman would only say the appointment of ministers was a matter for the taoiseach.

Senior sources indicated that John Gormley, the leader, would press the party’s case with the taoiseach, arguing that an agreement for a second junior ministry was reached with Bertie Ahern, Cowen’s predecessor, in 2007, when the number of junior ministries stood at 17.

Cowen snubs Greens on reshuffle - Times Online

The poor greens.......oh well.....suck it up like the rest of us.....
    What ever happened with the Green musical chairs game. Is Gormley definitely going out?
    "Gods are fragile things; they may be killed by a whiff of science or a dose of common sense." - Chapman Cohen.

“They are not going to get the second junior post because the government would fall. The Fianna Fail lads would say that is just too much,” said a senior figure last week. “The Greens have been behind a lot of the crises this government has faced because of their ineptitude. They have handled this really badly. What are they contributing except disharmony and crisis? This will not happen.

Well, greenies.....this is what ff think of you......who'd a thunk!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by imokyrok View Post
    What ever happened with the Green musical chairs game. Is Gormley definitely going out?
    It appears that he is staying.....or at least, wants to.

Politics.ie Member H.R. Haldeman's Avatar

What are they offering?? Erm, well I can think of 6 things off the top pf my head.

Quote Originally Posted by imokyrok View Post
    You mean the game that only existed in the minds of the media?

Media: "Are you shuffling your Ministers?"
    GP: "No."
    Media Headline: Greens planned to shuffle Ministers, but then don't
    A demagogue is someone who will preach doctrines he knows to be untrue to men he knows to be idiots.

Politics.ie Regular DeGaulle 2.0's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by goosebump View Post

Are you saying that there wasn't an agreement to rotate ministers?
    Vive le Québec libre ! Ag beathú na dtochardán ón mbliain 2007.

Quote Originally Posted by DeGaulle 2.0 View Post
    Are you saying that there wasn't an agreement to rotate ministers?
    I'm not if you can point me to a single reputable Green Party source who says that there was.

Disgruntled ex-Green Party members are pretty common these days, and this story obviously came from one of them.
    A demagogue is someone who will preach doctrines he knows to be untrue to men he knows to be idiots.

Quote Originally Posted by goosebump View Post

Mattie McGrath, a Fianna Fail deputy from Tipperary South, said the taoiseach couldn’t possibly concede another post to the Greens. “It is a no-go area, we can’t accept it,” he said. “They did well with their six TDs when they entered coalition. They got two seniors and an important post for a junior. They have notions above their station.
    '.....notions above their station'......and do ye????

Niall Collins, a Fianna Fail TD for Limerick West, said the taoiseach should not yield to the Green claims. “The reduction in the number of junior ministers has changed everything,” he said. “There is no case for that deal any longer
    The greens haven't denied that a deal existed.

Very smart move by Cowen.
    Every one sees what you appear to be, few really know what you are, and those few dare not oppose themselves to the opinion of the many, who have the majesty of the state to defend them.

- [SIZE=2]Niccolò Machiavelli[/SIZE]

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast