Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

Thread: What should a TD be doing??

Quote Originally Posted by consultant View Post
    Was it not the case that FG 'head-hunted' Lee?

Looks to me like an FG/Kenny screw-up. Are they confused as to the role of a TD?
    This isn't a Kenny/FG screw up. How could they have predicted when they asked him to run that once elected he'd sit around doing nothing, waiting for his ego to be stroked?

Quote Originally Posted by Baron von Biffo View Post
    This isn't a Kenny/FG screw up. How could they have predicted when they asked him to run that once elected he'd sit around doing nothing, waiting for his ego to be stroked?
    My point is, it wasn't Lee who expressed his desire to enter politics, he was invited to join having been targeted by Kenny/FG.

They obviously saw him as an asset but didn't develop a job description for him that they could live up to. Waste of time, money and effort on everyone's part but initiated by FG.

Quote Originally Posted by consultant View Post
    My point is, it wasn't Lee who expressed his desire to enter politics, he was invited to join having been targeted by Kenny/FG.

They obviously saw him as an asset but didn't develop a job description for him that they could live up to. Waste of time, money and effort on everyone's part but initiated by FG.
    Ah come on, 'develop a job description.' He wasn't looking to be a junior filing clerk.

Policies like providing a proper infrastructure with pothole free roads?

We need government not management. If Lee wanted to be an economist rather than a legislator he should have looked to go on the staff of FG not seek a mandate as a parliamentarian.
    Fixing potholes in the road is not a policy, it is common sense.
    Unenthusiastic about any of the buggers.

Quote Originally Posted by Chrisco View Post
    Fixing potholes in the road is not a policy, it is common sense.
    Now if we could only have a government that adopted common sense as a policy.

No arguments from me on that one!
    Unenthusiastic about any of the buggers.

Quote Originally Posted by Chrisco View Post
    Fixing potholes in the road is not a policy, it is COMMON SENSE.
    Which probably why the country is in danger of falling into one giant pothole.

On the argument that it would be politically inept to not attend funerals, considering that politicians have to spend so much time in Dublin and therefore miss lots of funerals, it doesn't really equate that attendance is vital for re-election.

Personally when i was younger and more naive and Brendan Smith turned up at me grandfathers funeral i was chuffed for my grandad, thinking he was thought of, it didn't take to much more life experience though to udnerstand what a right eejit i had been.

Politics.ie Regular gombeennation's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Gael Nua View Post
    On the argument that it would be politically inept to not attend funerals, considering that politicians have to spend so much time in Dublin and therefore miss lots of funerals, it doesn't really equate that attendance is vital for re-election.
    ahaha ahahaha good one - attendance in Dublin.
    the bert himself who LIVES in dublin doesnt bother 85% of the time

Ahern misses 85pc of Dail votes since leaving office - National News, Frontpage - Independent.ie

does anyone have a link to dail attendances?
    I would imagine King of the Gombeens ( JHR ) and the like dont get up to the big schmoke too often.
    I'd like to see the figures though.

Quote Originally Posted by Gael Nua View Post
    Personally when i was younger and more naive and Brendan Smith turned up at me grandfathers funeral i was chuffed for my grandad, thinking he was thought of, it didn't take to much more life experience though to udnerstand what a right eejit i had been.
    Sorry for your loss.
    So you copped on that these guys were using the funeral to further their career?
    Fair play to you for that.
    The problem is , some people fall for that type of scumbaggery.

Quote Originally Posted by Cato View Post
    Yes

Yes

No. And politicians would not have been welcome.

No.

Balls to that.
    Basically the same here.
    And the one 'politico' was an ex-politician who was actually a cousin. He came as family with the family, not a politician.

Btw, the one politico that did offer "assistance" did so well after the funeral. About three weeks after, which was tolerable.
    Last edited by myksav; 10th February 2010 at 11:39 AM.
    The enemy of my enemy is the enemy of my enemy. There are lies, damn lies and Fine Gael confusions. "I don't understand." Alan "it's only 79 punts" Shatter

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast