Page 1 of 53 1231151 ... LastLast

Thread: Does the Southern people care what happened to the Northern Nationalists?

Politics.ie Member HEAVENHELPUS's Avatar

Do the Southern people care what happened to the Northern Nationalists?

Its seems that the Southern media and people never get outraged if a Northern Nationalist gets murdered, but it becomes wall to wall coverage if anyone from the Unionist side is murdered by Nationalists! Surely both are equally wrong!?
    Or are Northern Nationalists lifes not worth as much?

<Mod> This thread has been merged with "Do Northern Nationalists carewhat happened to Northern Non Nationalists?" </Mod>
    Last edited by stringjack; 11th August 2009 at 01:15 AM. Reason: Merged thread.

Its easier for people to not get concerned about us, the partition is a contentious subject and by keeping the nationalist people firmly on the wrong side of the media - people can get on with their lives believing we deserve what we get , and thats its ok to wash your hands of the north.

Ironically the north has quite a history of defending the rest of Ireland.

It would seem the British told them where their country ends and theyre quite happy to go along with it.
    Stereotyping about the north is a larger problem than sectarianism, mainly because its completely ignored.
    I wouldnt say people just dontcare ,there's a sizable amount of people in the south who dispise anyone from the north, in exactly the same way as a loyalist would hate us.

They can identify with crimes against Protestants, their media shares the same unionist desires to point the finger at the general nationalist population in the north.
    Abstinence makes the Church grow fondlers.

Ah now lads, I care equally if either a nationalist or unionist is murdered in clood blood for sectarian reasons, for any reasons actually.

However, there is definitely a mood down here that the north is a complex issue, that some here, would rather ignore.

Oh and, maybe its something to do with the awful sense of humour possessed by ye guys!
    Free Speech, Free the P.ie 3.

Mr Crowley, 5intheface and Gruffalo......

We demand justice for our comrades

Victim Complex?

Bring back Crowley & Merle, they´d be great craic on this thread.

Politics.ie Regular Pat Mc Larnon's Avatar

There is certainly a mood to highlight the cases where nationalists are the perpetrators. SF are the main representatives of the nationalist people and thus, the thinking is, that any bad publicity around certain events will by default reflect on SF. This is much more the case in elements of the print media.
    There can be no doubt that elements of the Harris doctrine still permeate the corridors of RTE. To be fair to the mad man he made no bones about the cynical attitude he took to news reporting, SF bad everything else good.

Quote Originally Posted by st333ve View Post
    Its easier for people to not get concerned about us, the partition is a contentious subject and by keeping the nationalist people firmly on the wrong side of the media - people can get on with their lives believing we deserve what we get , and thats its ok to wash your hands of the north.

Ironically the north has quite a history of defending the rest of Ireland.

It would seem the British told them where their country ends and theyre quite happy to go along with it.
    Stereotyping about the north is a larger problem than sectarianism, mainly because its completely ignored.
    I wouldnt say people just dontcare ,there's a sizable amount of people in the south who dispise anyone from the north, in exactly the same way as a loyalist would hate us.

They can identify with crimes against Protestants, their media shares the same unionist desires to point the finger at the general nationalist population in the north.
    jeez man I thought you were one of the more balanced posters from NI. now I starting to think you are as paranoid as the OP. Don't you think that an element of fatigue with all the killing up there by and of both sides might have a bit to do with it. I for one am more concerned with living my own life. i haven't noticed any bias TBH but then i don't spend much time looking for it. from some of the comments on NI threads I think there is a general polarisation and moral relativism when it comes to murdering people because of which side they are on - for example check out the mccabe thread-on this whole shabby island. A lot of folks could do with an empathy implant imo.

The death of a unionist allows every single reporter and TD to have a pop at Sinn Féin so your answer is there is far more outrgae down here when a unionist is killed as there is far more political capital to be made out of it.

When it comes to the 06, every single political party based in the 26 acts in a hypocritical manner.

No, many Southerners have been brainwashed by the overt neo-unionist partitionism of the Oirish Times and similar, and are only too happy to revel in their ignorance of the North.
    So-called republican and Irish nationalist parties spout rhetoric, yet run screaming from doing anything that might be construed as a move towards unity, such as producing a white paper on the issue.
    The Mexicans are a joke.
    Knowing the calibre of my fellow Ulster people, I am entirely sure that had the British decided to retain some other chunk of Ireland, Ulster people would not have left their brothers behind to be oppressed and treated like second class citizens in a bigot statelet for generations.
    Please sign the petition to establish a national day of celebration in honour of the vision of the United Irishmen!

"The death of a unionist allows every single reporter and TD to have a pop at Sinn Féin "

Yes we wouldn't want to hurt the feelings of the same people who spent 30+ slaughtering Irish people now would we? But then I don't expect someone who uses the name of a moron who killed himself for nothing to have a realistic POV.

Quote Originally Posted by iartaoiseach View Post
    jeez man I thought you were one of the more balanced posters from NI. now I starting to think you are as paranoid as the OP. Don't you think that an element of fatigue with all the killing up there by and of both sides might have a bit to do with it. I for one am more concerned with living my own life. i haven't noticed any bias TBH but then i don't spend much time looking for it. from some of the comments on NI threads I think there is a general polarisation and moral relativism when it comes to murdering people because of which side they are on - for example check out the mccabe thread-on this whole shabby island. A lot of folks could do with an empathy implant imo.
    I wasnt talking about murders specifically, I was talking about the partitionist media in the south which favours the unionist outlook.

Eg.
    RTE’s enduring partitionism @ O’Conall Street

And you know full well how certain people think down south when it comes to the north, they might not stand up on TV and say it but everyone knows that there is a hatered against 'nordies' in the south and I have personally experienced it many times.

Ofcourse it is a minority which do this but its certainly a problem,albeit a widely ignored one.
    The likes of Harris etc. who idolise Trimble and the rest of his unionst buddies have propped up this notion and its not paranoia for people in the north to acknowledge this.

Just look at RTE, a 'national' broadcaster that had a radio competition where people phoned up to name the counties in Ulster, left out Donegal, Cavan and Monaghan yet won the prize!
    http://oconallstreet.com/2009/05/01/...-partitionism/

I dont think there's heirachy when it comes to murder, but in general the south is becoming extremely neo-unionist in certain quarters, infact personally I believe the south's Irish identity is slowly fading away all together.

There is no sence of a nation on this island anymore, thats what the souths media want - and thats what the divide and conquer British wanted from a long time ago.
    Everythings us and them, up here and down there - euro's and sterling north/south protestant/catholic.

The south's media supports the mess that this countries in, the mess is the status quo and you need guts to challenge the status quo even if it is just a journalist writing a few words for a newspaper - but gutsy reporting doesnt exist in the south.

Its a lack of balls is the problem, the easy route is to just hate the north and forget about it, but this is just another way of degrading the pride Ireland once had until one day its full of unionists crying out looking for Mummy England and trying to repent from their dirty nationalistic sins.

The north was Irelands balls for hundreds of years, now Irelands lost its balls but still calls itself 'Ireland' so that the ladies dont realise its missing a set.
    Last edited by st333ve; 6th August 2009 at 03:20 PM.
    Abstinence makes the Church grow fondlers.

Page 1 of 53 1231151 ... LastLast