Thread: Provo planning Priesthood pleas to Pope for pardon.

Provo planning Priesthood pleas to Pope for pardon.

Former top PIRA bomber, Shane Paul O Doherty, from Derry, in an interview with the Boston Globe, has revealed his intentions to become a Priest. O Doherty who was sentenced to 30 Life sentences(luckily they we're in dog years), has renounced violence since the mid 80s. Amongst his victims were Reginald Maudling, former Cabinet member at time of Bloody Sunday, who was injured by one of Shane's letter bombs, and Bishop Gerard Tickle. Tickle was the Catholic chaplain to the British army in the 70s, and irked Shane somewhat when he claimed the Paras did no wrong on Bloody Sunday. O Doherty promptly posted him a copy of the Bible, complete with booby trap bomb in it's hollowed inner parts. The bomb failed to explode. Ironically it is this attack on Tickle, that may stifle Shanes Priesthood plans. Despite his Lazarus like conversion, under Canon Law anyone who kills, or trys to kill a member of the Clergy, is forbidden from becoming a Priest. Only the Pope can pardon O Doherty.
    Should this former Provo be pardoned by His Holiness? I say yes. Tickle placed himself beyond his role as Chaplain, and was himself a supporter of violence. O doherty is undoubtedly repentant, and forgiveness is a basic tenet of the Catholic Church, and anyway the Church desperately needs priests.
    Just 1 gram of cocaine destroys 4m2 of tropical rainforest. Give it up ya selfish b'stards.

i really don't think Ratz is gonna look to favourably on this boyo...but perhaps he become a priest like Sinead O'Connor, who got odained by the mental priest whose name escapes me!
    An eye for an eye makes us all blind
    Mohandas Gandhi

Economic Left/Right: -5.88
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -5.13

Great story. Great alliteration. How long did it take you to come up with the title, or did it just flow?
    And id guess the answer to the question as to whether yer man will be allowed to become a Priest is a resounding no. Not a hope in hell.
    (hollowing out the bible was genius though).

Re: Provo planning Priesthood pleas to Pope for pardon.

ah, what a touching story

Quote Originally Posted by Bogwarrior
    Tickle placed himself beyond his role as Chaplain, and was himself a supporter of violence.
    Which of course warrants a death sentence, (how many people would go missing in the middle of the night KGB-style in that ever elusive 32 county socialist republic, Im pretty damn sure Id be one of the first against the wall)

O doherty is undoubtedly repentant,
    Of course, undoubtedly

and forgiveness is a basic tenet of the Catholic Church, and anyway the Church desperately needs priests.
    Guess what, they aint that f*cking desperate -
    they should tell him to f*ck off

The former Bishop of Derry, Edward Daly, and the current Bishop are backing O Doherty, and have written to the Pope.
    Just 1 gram of cocaine destroys 4m2 of tropical rainforest. Give it up ya selfish b'stards.

Quote Originally Posted by Trojanhorse
    i really don't think Ratz is gonna look to favourably on this boyo...but perhaps he become a priest like Sinead O'Connor, who got odained by the mental priest whose name escapes me!
    Can you imagine True04's reaction if the Nazi-Ratzi recruited a Provo-priest? There'd be a whole load of this sort of bull: LOL LOL

The only good provo's are penitent provo's.

Quote Originally Posted by meriwether
    Quote Originally Posted by Trojanhorse
    Can you imagine True04's reaction if the Nazi-Ratzi recruited a Provo-priest? There'd be a whole load of this sort of bull: LOL LOL
    You could not make it up.

The former Bishop of Derry, Edward Daly, and the current Bishop are backing O Doherty, and have written to the Pope.
    It wont happen. It just couldnt. Though im prepared to offer my support to him, safe in the knowledge that anything I offer support to will fail. (Im talking to you Mr. Ace, a pathetic fourth in the juddemonte today. To the knackers yard.)

Re: Provo planning Priesthood pleas to Pope for pardon.

Quote Originally Posted by watch-this-drive
    ah, what a touching story

Tickle placed himself beyond his role as Chaplain, and was himself a supporter of violence.
    Which of course warrants a death sentence, (how many people would go missing in the middle of the night KGB-style in that ever elusive 32 county socialist republic, Im pretty damn sure Id be one of the first against the wall)

O doherty is undoubtedly repentant,
    Of course, undoubtedly

and forgiveness is a basic tenet of the Catholic Church, and anyway the Church desperately needs priests.
    Guess what, they aint that f*cking desperate -
    they should tell him to f*ck off
    I've just been off the phone to Risteard,and discussed your query. The answer's, Yes. We both agreed that you will be one of the first against the wall....Sorry.