Page 1 of 26 12311 ... LastLast
Like Tree54Likes

Thread: Derry Bid for Fleadh lost, due to dissident republican bombings

Politics.ie Regular Nemesiscorporation's Avatar
    Skåne Sweden, Donegal Ireland and Belfast Northern Ireland.

Derry Bid for Fleadh lost, due to dissident republican bombings

I think it is a disgrace that Derry lost the Fleadh due to so called republican bombers, although wreckers of everything would be a better description.

The Fleadh would have been a brilliant thing for Derry. It might even have dragged some of its inhabitants out of the 5th century into maybe the 21st century.

See these links for the breaking news:

Security fears halt Derry Fleadh bid - Local - Derry Journal

Derry's Fleadh Bid Refused - Northern Ireland News

Derry’s bid for the Fleadh denied over threat of bomb attacks · TheJournal.ie

BBC News - Dissident bombs blamed for collapse of Derry fleadh 2013 bid

That'll teach the Brits
    Robo, Ifor Bach, Mushroom and 2 others like this.

There was some republican bint McClusky I think her name was that didnt want the Fleadh going to Derry because the full name of the festival had Londonderry and UK mentioned in it. Fair play to the Fleadh organisers for seeing through the attempt at trying to hijack the event. A pity they have had to cancel
    Aindriu and Astral Peaks like this.

Politics.ie Regular Astral Peaks's Avatar
    @

Quote Originally Posted by Dylan2010 View Post
    There was some republican bint McClusky I think her name was that didnt want the Fleadh going to Derry because the full name of the festival had Londonderry and UK mentioned in it. Fair play to the Fleadh organisers for seeing through the attempt at trying to hijack the event. A pity they have had to cancel
    Outstanding!!!!! Great word in that context!

(Good post too, btw, agree wholeheatedly!)
    Bu, indi bütün uşaq mavi var!

Feckin neanderthal eejits the lot of em.
    One of the moderators on here really wrecks my head with his/her power mad ego

stroke citys Fleadh bid refused

It was mentioned in another thread but I think it’s worthy of discussion.. A bid to hold the All-Ireland Fleadh in Londonderry/doire has failed, after the Ulster Council said the threat of bomb attacks in the city was too great.
    A festival of Irish music, song and dance, the Fleadh Cheoil na hÉireann has never been held in Northern Ireland.

UTV News - Derry's Fleadh bid refused

Couple points...

i actually think it’s a shame the bid has been turned down; it was a chance for the ‘cockpit of the troubles’ to have truly wide ranging cultural year. The UK city of culture events would presumably would promote all ‘sides’ (and none), the maiden city festival promoting mainly ‘pul/british’ culture and the fleadh promoting mainly ‘cnr/irish’ culture.

I have no insight to the workings of the, Comhaltas Ulster Council so I maybe I am just a backward unionist cynic when I ponder the ‘speed’ of the decision after the recent bombs, given that a few weeks ago the bid was been considered for rejection on the grounds of ‘uk’ city of culture.
    Last edited by between the bridges; 23rd January 2012 at 03:57 PM. Reason: typo
    Cruimh likes this.
    Nec Aspera Terrent... má meas a bheith agat mo chultúr, beidh meas a bheith agam do chultúr.

As a Derry man and proud republican I am absolutely disgusted at this news. The Ulster Council didnt want to give the Fleadh to Derry anyway so when those bombs exploded last week I'm sure they were rubbing their hands together.
    Nemesiscorporation likes this.

The Irish Fleadh or the UK's City of Culture activities aren't of any interest to me but I had hoped both would be held in Londonderry. I didn't like Martina Anderson's efforts to Politicise the latter event nor do I like the Fleadh's county deliberation against the city based on the award of the latter either. But it is disappointing that the city didn't get to organise the Fleadh. Events like these show the wide culture of an area, bring in thousands of tourists with subsequent economic boost and also have a tendency to lft the morale of a city. God knows that city could do with some sort of lift.
    Cruimh and vinoboy like this.

Quote Originally Posted by Dylan2010 View Post

The flat earth is alive and well up there. I heard that silly old cow on the radio, it would make you weep!

This Fleadh thing is an over rated event,and crowds attending are not as big as alleged.

Page 1 of 26 12311 ... LastLast