Page 3 of 19 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
Like Tree26Likes

Thread: Martin McGuinness reviews position on Queen Elizabeth

[QUOTE=Northtipp;4850784]
    Quote Originally Posted by Maírtinmác View Post

No offence caused. But I disagree. To meet is not to legitimise. I didn't think that when mates and Adams met on newsnight etc. I don't think when Martin puts the hand out to Donnelly in Derry that he is legitimising the disso campaign. Not at all. That said you have to keep pushing the boundaries. What's wrong with meeting her and telling her you disagree with what her troops did in Ireland and that you don't believe in the union.

I think like a lot of issues it is with time that events unfold. It's part of the process. Sure look at how long it took to get the DUP to walk in the same room. But you can't let the boundaries hold yo back. For example if Martin had got the presidency he would have had to meet many heads of state including the Brit queen. I'm not saying it's an easy pill to swallow. In fact I am not even saying I def agree. I would think about it though and here you have an insight into the type of thinking that goes on.

Again MMac, no offence taken. I just don't like cheap shots at SF because they are trying to keep progressing. The are enough bitter dissos in here creeping the boards spewing vile Shyte with chips on their shoulders the size of Andytown leisure centre. I don't have you in that bracket which is why your comment surprised me. I have no issue whatsoever with disagreeing but I just thought the shot was a little cheap.

Anyway, onward and upward.

Im not sure we can compare an event such as newsnight to a royal visit, imagine what way MmcG would have to conduct himself while meeting her, it would be the usual lording session, and It is highly unlikely that he would be able to question her reign or her troops role in the north.

Politics.ie Regular merle haggard's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by DavidCaldwell View Post
    , my sub-conscious will eventually classify the likes of factual, Northtipp (and BetweenTheBridges) as equals, as members of the group, as friends (I hope this is not presumptious on my part).
    you dont seem to grasp the fact that its precisely because you view others as lesser that im quite happy to insult you , to express my dislike of your ridiculous mindset and to express my aversion to ever becoming your freind . Im choosy about freinds and insit they be of good character no matter what their background. I think your political ass should be kicked as opposed to licked .

Then their ideas will start to influence mine (and, hopefully, vice versa). Just give it time and an absence of hostility.
    your bigotry is your own responsibility and its not my responsibility to pander it . If youve a problem with a negative reaction to your personal refusal to se others as equals thats your problem and I'll not be pandering to it . Although i can see why your enthusiastic about the fact others do pander to your affliction . Someday if they prostrate themselves sufficiently you may well invite them round for tea and im sure theyll be too polite to be insulted about the newspapers you spread over your furniture first , much less the clothes peg on your nose.

I however have this self respect thing going on ,where i view someone who views me as lesser as being political scum . Hence we are unlikely ever to be freinds .

[QUOTE=Maírtinmác;4850799]
    Quote Originally Posted by Northtipp View Post

Im not sure we can compare an event such as newsnight to a royal visit, imagine what way MmcG would have to conduct himself while meeting her, it would be the usual lording session, and It is highly unlikely that he would be able to question her reign or her troops role in the north.
    Ah that is presumptuous MMac. It's the parameters of any such meeting that would be key. No need to doff any cap at all. Look at this from the other side. It would I imagine, be a bitter pill to swallow if you were for example in a wheelchair for life having been shot on the Andytown road whilst serving as a Brit, to see your queen meet MMcG. It's a two way street.

I do agree with you on one thing. It would be a hard sell.I know lots of SF supporters, friends of mine who would have very serious issues with this. But it should be talked about.
    It's only a bit of craic

[QUOTE=Maírtinmác;4850799]

she could always ask a few questions about his role in 'the north'...
    Nec Aspera Terrent... má meas a bheith agat mo chultúr, beidh meas a bheith agam do chultúr.

[QUOTE=between the bridges;4850813]

Yes. See my follow on post in a similar vein. It's a two way street here.
    It's only a bit of craic

[QUOTE=Northtipp;4850817]
    Quote Originally Posted by between the bridges View Post

Yes. See my follow on post in a similar vein. It's a two way street here.
    everything is, it's just there are one way signs at both ends!!
    Nec Aspera Terrent... má meas a bheith agat mo chultúr, beidh meas a bheith agam do chultúr.

[QUOTE=between the bridges;4850820]

everything is, it's just there are one way signs at both ends!!
    In fairness to the unionists they have been pretty good in terms of meeting our president.
    RIRA not in my name-Traitors to Ireland MMcGuinness; People are entitled to cultural & social equality MLMcDonald; We have a length to go understanding unionism GAdams

[QUOTE=between the bridges;4850813]

I think we all know why he decided to join the ranks of the Irish Republican Army,

The Orange state formented a particular coldhouse for the Nationalist people in the late 60s early 70s, which paved the way for a formiddable manifestation...

[QUOTE=factual;4850835]
    Quote Originally Posted by between the bridges View Post

In fairness to the unionists they have been pretty good in terms of meeting our president.
    Thats because there are free passports and golfing breaks to receive..

Quote Originally Posted by merle haggard View Post
    his remarks are idiotic and also highly unlikely to turn you or anyone else for that matter into a republican . You prefer to encourage his type of post republican discourse simply because its an apologia for British rule and institutions in Ireland.
    Lets say that's true. So if voters for SF aren't real republicans any more and given the fair and free elections held in the North and Republic, and the complete failure of any other "more republican" parties to make any sort of impression, does that mean there just aren't that many republicans left?
    RepublicOfLuas likes this.
    If you're the first out the door, that's not called panicking.

Page 3 of 19 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast