Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: North identified as most bigoted place in western world

Politics.ie Founder David Cochrane's Avatar
    @

North identified as most bigoted place in western world

The North is the most bigoted place in the western world, according to research conducted at the University of Ulster.

The finding, which is due to be published in a leading economics journal, is based on a survey of almost 32,000 people in 23 countries.

They were asked how they would feel living beside Muslims, Jews, homosexuals or people of another race. - BreakingNews.ie
    Follow Politics.ie on twitter:

What do people expect when this is encouraged!!???

They must have surveyed the whole shankill road

http://www.guardian.co.uk/race/story/0, ... 13,00.html

Loyalists are behind the high majority (very high) of racial attacks in the north, and belfast is the worst place for this.

I blame the hate preaching politicians.
    Abstinence makes the Church grow fondlers.

Well, no s--- Sherlock!

I wonder how many people were employed and for how long it took to find that out.

St333ve's post kind of proves the thesis conclusively :wink:
    If you don't know, vote Tayto!

Im no bigot, but i am aware of the causes.
    Why do you belive that 99% of racial attacks in the north are in loyalist areas???
    I also believe the problem lies in and around belfast.
    Theres an orange hall almost next door to me, protestants and catholics get along great where i live, they work and socialise together and there is never any trouble where i am.
    I wouldnt feel safe walking around belfast.

Obviously republicans arnt all saints, but when sectarianism is encouraged through orange marches and loyalist paramilitaries are running wild, how does unionist politicians help by......

Abstinence makes the Church grow fondlers.

I would, Steve. Rampant sectarianism does not necessarily mean that the place is dangerous. It's not, by European, British or Irish standards.
    I'd be more concerned about living in Birmingham or Limerick in terms of personal safety.
    But attacks on migrants are commonplace throughout the North, not solely in Belfast. Recent reports also indicate such issues arising in Republican areas too.
    Please sign the petition to establish a national day of celebration in honour of the vision of the United Irishmen!

Quote Originally Posted by JCSkinner
    I'd be more concerned about living in Birmingham or Limerick in terms of personal safety.
    Have lived in Limerick for the last 7 years and have to say would be far more apprehensive about living in Belfast.. never had any bother here as the ASB is relatively contained within a few areas/estates..

The sectarian threat scares me much more than the purely scanger threat! Limerickan scangers mainly keep to themselves, and shoot/stab/maim each other.. leaving the rest of us alone for the main part..
    The one thing I know is I can't know anything else...

in terms of sheer violence and general asb its hard to beat your good old fashioned dublin knackers.....

Quote Originally Posted by Simon.D
    Have lived in Limerick for the last 7 years and have to say would be far more apprehensive about living in Belfast.. never had any bother here as the ASB is relatively contained within a few areas/estates..

The sectarian threat scares me much more than the purely scanger threat! Limerickan scangers mainly keep to themselves, and shoot/stab/maim each other.. leaving the rest of us alone for the main part..
    I'd refer you to comparative statistics on violent crime, personal assault, rape, etc of the two towns.
    Or you could recall the recent EU stats on violent crime in the Republic.
    Your anecdotal evidence is grand, but cold hard facts cut more mustard.
    Please sign the petition to establish a national day of celebration in honour of the vision of the United Irishmen!

Quote Originally Posted by Simon.D

I'd refer you to comparative statistics on violent crime, personal assault, rape, etc of the two towns.
    Or you could recall the recent EU stats on violent crime in the Republic.
    Your anecdotal evidence is grand, but cold hard facts cut more mustard.
    But there are lies, damned lies and stastics.
    There is not 47 walls running through LImerick in order to keep various communities apart like there is in Belfast.
    The Limerick violence is localised, indeed housing estate-ised.
    Belfast has far more underllying violence and feuding than Limerick could even hope to match on a good day/

You offer anecdote, I offer hard and cold facts. That the facts aren't to your taste doesn't change them, but clearly old stereotypes die hard in some quarters.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast