Page 39 of 47 FirstFirst ... 293738394041 ... LastLast

Thread: Local elections in Waterford 2009

Quote Originally Posted by Partizan View Post
    so selling out on your principles and moving head long to the centre ground is the way forward then, is it?

The fact of the matter is that despite the crap that the WP has endured over the last number of years, we still pulled in a very strong performance.

Regarding the service charges issue, we will be proven to be right.
    no the wp should stick to there principles look at the success it has brought you!

Quote Originally Posted by waterford FG View Post
    This is for all those who didnt give young John Cummins a chance....

Clearly the people have spoken and wanted new faces, not only did he poll 539 1st preference votes he picked up solid transfers across the board which shows he was a popular choice.

To all the WP, Joe Tobin's vote in East was not a WP vote it was a personal vote, he is a genuine nice man, this shows that people are now voting more for the person rather than party. Willie was very unlucky but he wont run again from what I gather, WP will have to find new candidates for all 3 wards next time!
    local fg can be proud of the job they done on mary o halloran.

Quote Originally Posted by cityvoter View Post
    local fg can be proud of the job they done on mary o halloran.
    It was always going to be hard with 2 candidates alright. But at least between the 2 of them they significantly increased the FG vote in the ward, although that will be of little consolation to Mary.

Quote Originally Posted by Cyberspaced View Post
    It was always going to be hard with 2 candidates alright. But at least between the 2 of them they significantly increased the FG vote in the ward, although that will be of little consolation to Mary.
    john cummins is on his own now.might find it hard in 5 years to find a running mate after what happened with o halloran.

What happened with mary o'halloran? The party decided they were running 2 candidates, not John! He ran with Mary and the people choose him as their 3rd choice in Waterford city south! I would say fair play to the party, their strategy worked brilliantly despite what all the 'experts' agreed would happen, John got in! Vote up 130% on previous election, thats excellent.. The young man has a lot of work to do over the next 5 years to retain his seat but lets give him some time to find his feet! Im sure he will be well advised by his father!

Quote Originally Posted by blueshirt101 View Post
    What happened with mary o'halloran? The party decided they were running 2 candidates, not John! He ran with Mary and the people choose him as their 3rd choice in Waterford city south! I would say fair play to the party, their strategy worked brilliantly despite what all the 'experts' agreed would happen, John got in! Vote up 130% on previous election, thats excellent.. The young man has a lot of work to do over the next 5 years to retain his seat but lets give him some time to find his feet! Im sure he will be well advised by his father!
    up 130% with 2 candidates this time.only one candidate in 2004.o hallorans vote dropped by about 35 votes.she didnt get the same support as john did from fg.

Quote Originally Posted by cityvoter View Post
    she didnt get the same support as john did from fg.
    Based upon what?

Quote Originally Posted by Partizan View Post
    You had to get a pathetic pop at the WP there didnt you. Talk about begrudgery. Davy Walsh comfortably held onto his seat in the end beatinig Joe Kelly of SF. It is a testament to his hard work on the ground that he is once again representing his constituency. Willie Moore was unlucky to lose out in the final count to Cha O'Neill where we knocked out Tom Murphy and Joe Tobin lost by a mere 8 votes in a predominantly middle class ward (Waterford East). Tobin picked up alot of votes and transfers from Labour, Davy Daniels and FG. This shows that the WP is a) palatable to voters unlike SF and b) is addressing the concerns of the voters and working hard on the ground on local issues. The votes reflect the strong performance of the WP in Waterford. We beat SF soundly in 2 of the 3 city wards. I think we can draw many positives from our election in that we have a very strong base to work off given what has happened to us down through the years.

Many like you had us written off. You were writing the Party's obituary yet we are still here. Regarding the leaflet, it didnt hurt us 1 bit. We were right before the election, we are right now and when water and further refuse charges will be introduced, we will be proven to be right. Davy Walsh will do his upmost to defend the working people of Waterford like he has done for 30 years by opposing resoultley the unjust service charges - double taxation that are imposed on the PAYE worker. Our detractors time and time again will be wrong and come the general election which will happen sooner rather than later, the WP will have a strong candidate.

You can put your gaff on that.

Workers party have no idea how to fight a fair battle. On election day there were members of the workers party in the st.saviours church car park from 7am walking up with people as they walked in to vote telling them not to forget Willie. The guards approached them on a number of occasions during the day.
    You may think you knocked Tom Murphy out. But the reality is that Tom did very well considering the what he was up against. He had the FF backlash, Waterford crystal, recession etc. He was fourth highest in 1st preference votes! Personally I think Ballybeg is at the lost. They have no councillor of their own. Regardless what you say Tom was a very hard worker on the ground and always put the community first. If you think about it the size of Ballybeg it should be able to elect both Willie and Tom... Its such a shame that the wp have to engage in dirty tactics.. But I agreed the leaflet did back fire. Willie got 65 transfer votes from Halligan whilst Cha got 89 votes. THat tells a story in itself...

Quote Originally Posted by juneflynn View Post
    Workers party have no idea how to fight a fair battle. On election day there were members of the workers party in the st.saviours church car park from 7am walking up with people as they walked in to vote telling them not to forget Willie. The guards approached them on a number of occasions during the day.
    You may think you knocked Tom Murphy out. But the reality is that Tom did very well considering the what he was up against. He had the FF backlash, Waterford crystal, recession etc. He was fourth highest in 1st preference votes! Personally I think Ballybeg is at the lost. They have no councillor of their own. Regardless what you say Tom was a very hard worker on the ground and always put the community first. If you think about it the size of Ballybeg it should be able to elect both Willie and Tom... Its such a shame that the wp have to engage in dirty tactics.. But I agreed the leaflet did back fire. Willie got 65 transfer votes from Halligan whilst Cha got 89 votes. THat tells a story in itself...
    they also had a fella in the church car park in st pauls with the wp leaflet.to be honest id say he did more damage then good.

ctr

First off to say I am a Labour voter.

But I voted WP No. 2 so I believe I earned a right to comment on the result.
    The leaflet backfired regardless whether you believe it was accurate or not or whether predictions of water taxes etc. come to pass. This is politics and you need to act smart. This was not smart.

Don't shoot the messenger!
    People here said they changed their vote. Others did likewise. Tobin lost by 8 votes. Do the Maths.

The correct thing to do was to do noting and not antagonise other candidates and their supporters. I did not change my No. 2 but it was on my mind.

Sticking to your principles ridgely will not help your supporters if it keeps you from a position of power.

You cannot, in politics, stay utterly true to an ideology, by its very nature compromise is necessary to progress the interests of your base support.

I vote left to achieve this end even though the WP would not be a natural home for me. You guys need to reach out and woo more people like me.

Transfers are essential (look at how SF suffer because of this) to get elected.

Page 39 of 47 FirstFirst ... 293738394041 ... LastLast