Page 11 of 11 FirstFirst ... 91011

Thread: Irish Times questions Irish people's sanity - again.

I believe the wind is with the no side in the last few days,the rant yesterday by McGarry
    and the two intellectuals with their red cards has brought down the standard of debate, insults and stunts will convert nobody,all that has to happen now is when Dukes appears is for someone to get under his skin and his arrogance will be exposed,They yes side may still win it but not a hope with their present attitude,The attacks on Mary Lou and Joe Higgins which had nothing to do with the treaty shows that they are still afraid to debate the treaty.We hear the yes side saying abortion, neutrality had nothing to do with the treaty, What has the killings in the north to do with Lisbon
    Last edited by turdsl; 22nd August 2009 at 09:40 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by He3 View Post
    They are a zombie party.
    And as Science says, it is always best to kill the zombies before they spread.

Regards...jmcc

Quote Originally Posted by turdsl View Post
    I believe the wind is with the no side in the last few days,the rant yesterday by McGarry
    and the two intellectuals with their red cards has brought down the standard of debate, insults and stunts will convert nobody,all that has to happen now is when Dukes appears is for someone to get under his skin and his arrogance will be exposed,They yes side may still win it but not a hope with their present attitude,The attacks on Mary Lou and Joe Higgins which had nothing to do with the treaty shows that they are still afraid to debate the treaty.We hear the yes side saying abortion, neutrality had nothing to do with the treaty, What has the killings in the north to do with Lisbon
    If No voters are 'lunatic', it becomes thinkable that they should not have the right to vote.

Thinkable too that the rules should be changed so that these lunatic people cannot say No in future.

Thinkable even that they might not be regarded as European.
    'Personally, I find the notion of changing our constitution in exchange for a loan absolutely disgusting'. - Tin Foil Hat

Well,I am sure if we get a no vote again its certain that that the likes of Gay Mitchell
    and Roche will be able to come up with something which they think would be best for the country

Quote Originally Posted by He3 View Post
    If No voters are 'lunatic', it becomes thinkable that they should not have the right to vote.

Thinkable too that the rules should be changed so that these lunatic people cannot say No in future.

Thinkable even that they might not be regarded as European.
    For God's sake lads, would ye ever get a bit less precious about the word "lunatic". As I said earlier, if anyone wrote a newspaper article now, saying "the people were lunatics for voting Fianna Fail back into power in 2007", it would hardly raise an eyebrow, and would just be accepted as arguable, but at least fair, political comment. You wouldn't have the few remaining FF supporters howling and wailing about their sanity being questioned. McGarry obviously takes the view that voting No was a stupid thing to do - whether he's right or wrong is one thing, but the point is that he is a) entitled to that opinion; and b) entitled to express it.

So seriously, less of the faux outrage. The Looney Left don't complain that their sanity is being questioned every time they're called the Looney Left. They know its just a phrase. Ye lads need to cop on and do likewise.
    "Elite - a small superior group; esp one that has a power out of proportion to its size." (Oxford English Dictionary)

The majority cannot therefore be the elite.

Quote Originally Posted by hiding behind a poster View Post
    For God's sake lads, would ye ever get a bit less precious about the word "lunatic". As I said earlier, if anyone wrote a newspaper article now, saying "the people were lunatics for voting Fianna Fail back into power in 2007", it would hardly raise an eyebrow, and would just be accepted as arguable, but at least fair, political comment. You wouldn't have the few remaining FF supporters howling and wailing about their sanity being questioned. McGarry obviously takes the view that voting No was a stupid thing to do - whether he's right or wrong is one thing, but the point is that he is a) entitled to that opinion; and b) entitled to express it.

So seriously, less of the faux outrage. The Looney Left don't complain that their sanity is being questioned every time they're called the Looney Left. They know its just a phrase. Ye lads need to cop on and do likewise.
    And your the biggest idiot on this thread....if your going to defend Enda Kenny ...you must support FG... so wheres your FG avatar??? a closet FG supporter I know...i dont blame you...if i supported Enda Kenny i would be ashamed 2...if you have something to say to me...say it on one of my posts..dont be bad reping me for nothing

Politics.ie Regular flavirostris's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by kimble View Post

And your the biggest idiot on this thread....if your going to defend Enda Kenny ...you must support FG... so wheres your FG avatar??? a closet FG supporter I know...i dont blame you...if i supported Enda Kenny i would be ashamed 2...if you have something to say to me...say it on one of my posts..dont be bad reping me for nothing
    If you're still flying the FF avatar you're either hopelessly deluded or clinically insane..an Oliver Cromwell avatar would be more popular at the moment

Quote Originally Posted by hiding behind a poster View Post

I believe you are right,do not give one ounce of heed to those people advocating a yes vote,
    we on the no side are every bit as intelligent, nothing happened to change the treaty, Just vote no the same as the last time

Irish Times columnist likens Lisbon No campaigners to Lockerbie bombers

Tony Kinsella recalls a dead friend.

I have often tried to picture Bernt as the 747 swung northwest to New York. Thirty-six minutes after Pan Am 103 had taken off from Heathrow, a bomb ripped it apart 9,400m above Lockerbie. Bernt, aged 50, was one of the 270 people killed.

Then he compares people who think the Lisbon treaty should not be ratified to the people who killed his friend.

We now face what is either a new challenge, or one recycled from the dark ages of human ignorance and illiteracy – fact-free arguments. Protagonists now feel free to advance arguments that have no basis whatsoever in reality in the belief that nobody can, or will, challenge them. [...]

Interpreted facts can sometimes lead to barbarous actions – as they did over Lockerbie. Ignorance invariably does, making it lethal for our very humanity.

Fact-free political debate can have lethal consequences - The Irish Times - Mon, Aug 24, 2009

Between this scurrilous article and the Patsy McGarry 'lunatic' rant one has to ask - what exactly is the Irish Times trying to do here?
    'Personally, I find the notion of changing our constitution in exchange for a loan absolutely disgusting'. - Tin Foil Hat

Page 11 of 11 FirstFirst ... 91011