Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Government in Ireland is a mess: Better say Yes?

Quote Originally Posted by alltheway View Post
    I dont believe the current mess is any more of a reason to vote yes.

It has nothing to do with that, Lisbon is about reforming how the EU works and making it more efficient, if Lisbon had been passed the first we would still be in this mess

I voted yes the first time but will vote no the second unless i see actual concessions
    The good people of Lithuania seem to have made a choice. They have rejected their main party candidates and elected their EU Commissioner - who ran as an independent - to the Presidency.

Politics.ie Newbie Ambassador Mollari's Avatar
    Backwater forgotten by the Universe, also known as Donegal

Yes, yes this is a good reason for pushing through our grand design, what do you call it the constitution, I mean Lisbon.
    The political class in Irland have become complacent, and if a shakeup is needed and a new order brought in, so be it. The voting class have already clearly demonstrated their ineptitude by voting the wrong way the first time. If this keeps up we will soon have a precident for revisisting every refendum held in that part of the empire, where would that leave us. No this little region needs to be brought into check, with firm governance from the corridors of power.
    Londo Mollari: "Ah arrogance and stupidity, all in the same package.How efficient of you." ..."The quiet ones are the ones that change the universe... The loud ones only take the credit."
    [about the Humans] "They have an expression: "Pride goes before a fall. And their pride was their undoing. I know. I was there."

Yes - -Eire is indeed an uncivilised place in a lot of perspectives .
    Health Care - Basic Democracy - Environmental Protection - Infrastructure.etc
    Good thing about this is that the Irish don't know... lol

Mick O'Leary says, reasonably, that Ryanair would not exist without the EC policies on competition.

In a mixture of gratitude for that historic fact, which is not affected one way or another by the Lisbon treaty, and a couple of other reasons, he is spending, he says, five hundred thousand euro (tax deductible) on a Yes campaign.

Here is his second reason:

“Without Europe and the Euro, the Irish economy would be run by our incompetent politicians, our inept civil service and the greedy public sector trade union bosses, who through social partnership have in recent years destroyed Ireland’s competitiveness, created an epidemic of useless quangos and feathered the nests of the public sector at the expense of ordinary consumers in Ireland. I believe that Ireland must vote “Yes to Europe” on 2nd October; otherwise our economic future will be destroyed by Government and Civil Service mismanagement and the narrow vested interests of the public sector trade unions.

That qualifies him for a place on this thread.

Michael does not mention currying favour with the Commission which has a critical role in approving concessionary deals he strikes with airport and regional authorities as a reason, so it must not be one.

ang

Well doesn't his point seem somewhat contradictory. He is giving out about all of our inadequacies, throughout the last few years. He wants us to vote yes to solve these issues. Whilst pointing out we are members of Europe while all this has been happening. Why should we give Europe more powers to allow us to become further inept.
    A Better Ireland For All. Get Rid Of Fianna Fail

Quote Originally Posted by He3 View Post
    Government in Ireland is a mess. The ripe stench of incompetence and corruption wafts through the corridors of power. People die on trolleys, others lose their homes, flee the country, cower from the thought police.

Reason enough to vote Yes to Lisbon in the Neverendum?
    You said it buddy...yet we have no sackings, no resignations, no revolutions, no mass public outrage..no anything...and so it continues to Chapter 489 -NAMA!

Economic Left/Right: -6.75
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -3.44

Politics.ie Regular kerdasi amaq's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by anlkestony View Post
    Lisbon will pass through scaremongering and fear over the economy
    Or so the Yessies fervently hope and pray. If you want to cause real pain and mental anguish to those Kildare Street Clowns, voting NO, is the way to do it! A YES vote is a reward for failure. I want to see them hurting!

The Irish People must face up to their problems honestly. Hiding behind the EU's skirts isn't going to do anyone any good. Ireland has many unique problems and the EU hasn't got a clue how to fix them. The single biggest obstacle to the progress of Ireland is the Fianna Fail party. It was in 1932 that everything started going wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by He3 View Post
    Government in Ireland is a mess. The ripe stench of incompetence and corruption wafts through the corridors of power. People die on trolleys, others lose their homes, flee the country, cower from the thought police.

Reason enough to vote Yes to Lisbon in the Neverendum?
    YES!!!! I was a No voter previously and although i am dismayed at my vote not being accepted - as I predicted when I posed the question to Mary White on Q&A before Lisbon 1 Vote, I will now say that anything that will take power away from the useless, corrupt, patronising shower that we call a government , is a good thing and thus I will now vote Yes!!

Economic Left/Right: -6.75
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -3.44

Quote Originally Posted by loaded32 View Post
    YES!!!! I was a No voter previously and although i am dismayed at my vote not being accepted - as I predicted when I posed the question to Mary White on Q&A before Lisbon 1 Vote, I will now say that anything that will take power away from the useless, corrupt, patronising shower that we call a government , is a good thing and thus I will now vote Yes!!
    I know the feeling.

But tell me why do you assume that the replacement government at EU level is not also a 'useless, corrupt, patronising shower', with the added drawback that you have no power to sack it?

http://www.politics.ie/foreign-affai...arliament.html

http://www.politics.ie/justice/90849...tles-guns.html

http://www.politics.ie/lisbon-treaty...-minister.html

http://www.politics.ie/europe/36585-...odoo-doll.html
    Last edited by He3; 27th August 2009 at 12:36 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by loaded32 View Post
    Interesting. No thought of voting in National elections in a manner that puts a different group of people into the Dáil? Put control of the State into the hands of an outside group?
    Why the hell did so many fight against an outside group for so long to achieve national independence?

Why, oh why, did we ever break away from Britian?? We can't govern ourselves, we need some strong outside group to govern us. We're useless, pathetic, unable to do anything right, we're too thick to have a government of our own.

Why don't ye get up off yer knees and be a human? Do you honestly believe that a yes vote to Lisbon will get rid of Fianna Fáil or get them out of office? A guarantee you can believe is that a yes vote on Lisbon will be claimed as a mandate for FF to stay in power.
    The enemy of my enemy is the enemy of my enemy. There are lies, damn lies and Fine Gael confusions. "I don't understand." Alan "it's only 79 punts" Shatter

Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast