Page 4 of 12 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Government in Ireland is a mess: Better say Yes?

Quote Originally Posted by ibis View Post
    There has never been a treaty of any kind that was a "1 shot deal". There's a standard two-year period built in:
    What Happens if you Vote NO?
    Rock The Vote Ireland - Home
    If you, and the majority of voters vote ‘no,' then you will leave the constitution unchanged, and Ireland won't ratify the Treaty. The Treaty will not be ratified by the EU unless each and every member state ratifies it, so in the event of a ‘no' vote, the EU would continue to operate under its present rules.

Lisbon Treaty Overview
    What Happens if you Vote NO?

If a majority of the voters vote “no” then the Constitution will not be changed and Ireland may not ratify the Treaty. The Treaty will come into effect only if it is ratified by all Member States. The EU would continue to operate under its present rules.

Nowhere was it mentioned that the vote would be held multiple times till the "correct" outcome was achieved.

Quote Originally Posted by Stublore View Post
    Nowhere was it mentioned that the vote would be held multiple times till the "correct" outcome was achieved.
    The Nice Treaty didn't provide you with a clue?
    Never let the best be the enemy of the good.

I dont believe the current mess is any more of a reason to vote yes.

It has nothing to do with that, Lisbon is about reforming how the EU works and making it more efficient, if Lisbon had been passed the first we would still be in this mess

I voted yes the first time but will vote no the second unless i see actual concessions

Quote Originally Posted by He3 View Post
    Government in Ireland is a mess. The ripe stench of incompetence and corruption wafts through the corridors of power. People die on trolleys, others lose their homes, flee the country, cower from the thought police.

Reason enough to vote Yes to Lisbon in the Neverendum?
    You know what HE3, I actually went on Q&A 18 months ago and asked the question of the Govt rep -Mary White, would a No vote in the Lisbon Ref be actually accepted as a valid vote...and of course I was told "yes of course". I asked, as I knew it wouldnt be counted and I voted no on the basis that the government wouldnt debate the issues so I gathered they were covering something up....

...now although I detest the fact that we are being asked to vote again, I am actually going to vote Yes and here are the reasons why - ANYTHING that can take power away from the corrupt,inept idiots in Kildare Street and deliver us towards the kind of public services that we see in the other countries of Europe HAS TO BE A GOOD THING!!!!!!!!

Politics.ie Regular Clanrickard's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by drbob1972 View Post
    if it were not for the euro and a strong ECB we would in the same mess as Iceland, the only benefit of having our own currency would be the ability to devalue to increase competitivenss, even that aside being part of a large major global currency is far better in the longer term.
    Untrue. Rubbish. Twaddle. It is quite easy to see why this is so.........feck it .......I am sick of explaining this. New Zealand.Switzerland. Norway etc etc. A well run country seen to be well run would not suffer a run on its currency.
    It is hypocritical for feminists and intellectuals to enjoy the pleasures and conveniences of capitalism while sneering at it.-Camille Paglia

Quote Originally Posted by Clanrickard View Post
    Untrue. Rubbish. Twaddle. It is quite easy to see why this is so.........feck it .......I am sick of explaining this. New Zealand.Switzerland. Norway etc etc. A well run country seen to be well run would not suffer a run on its currency.
    OK...so how would we get to the "well run country" bit exactly?
    Never let the best be the enemy of the good.

We need the Minister for Justice, to be kicked out and a complete overhaul of the justice system.

Also the Gardai, need to be revolutionized. No more overweight, inept and callous Guards. Monthly physical tests, drug tests. Better organization, better stations. It's just a whole mess this Country, it really is. And it all stems from this Liberal Democracy.

Of course its in a mess, if I ran my business they way they ran the finances, jesus I would have a pot to pee in... Wages bills have to be cut, all workers have to evaluated, all costing on time and motion study has to be carried out, its stupid to think we can tax our way out of this. Any company worth its salt, tries to reduce overheads, reevaluate loans etc etc, look at the complete overheads and if this does not work wage bill has to be cut, and re quoting for work to just be more competitive it just makes good business sense. These are total idiots, the are relying on economists, who never ran a business and who wouldnt even know what man hrs were in relation to job costing

loaded you might note with the increased opportunities for privatisation created by lisbon those public services may well end up being further out of reach.

Quote Originally Posted by loaded32 View Post
    You know what HE3, I actually went on Q&A 18 months ago and asked the question of the Govt rep -Mary White, would a No vote in the Lisbon Ref be actually accepted as a valid vote...and of course I was told "yes of course". I asked, as I knew it wouldnt be counted and I voted no on the basis that the government wouldnt debate the issues so I gathered they were covering something up....

...now although I detest the fact that we are being asked to vote again, I am actually going to vote Yes and here are the reasons why - ANYTHING that can take power away from the corrupt,inept idiots in Kildare Street and deliver us towards the kind of public services that we see in the other countries of Europe HAS TO BE A GOOD THING!!!!!!!!
    I have a lot of sympathy for that point of view, though I don't share it.

Page 4 of 12 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast