Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Rome or Reykjavik According to Lenihan.

Rome or Reykjavik According to Lenihan.

The Current Minister for Finance asserts that there is increasing support for the Lisbon Treaty because of Financial Crisis, he reckons that the choice is between Rome or Reykjavik: Interesting approach to politics there.

Economic crisis increasing Lisbon support - Lenihan - The Irish Times - Tue, Mar 17, 2009

Is he acknowledging perceived weakness in the Irish Economy, thus the necessity of Lisbon or upping the fear 'cos he can?

Sounds about right . Boston or Berlin my a55! Talk about delusions of granduer!

Jaysus, that almost sounds like something Ian paisley would say.

Roll on an election.

They are very alliterative the FF party:

Peace,Progress,Prosperity.
    Boston and Berlin.
    Rome and ReyJavik.

It's like an unbroken and unscary set of buzz-words or jargon terms that are designed to create a definite set of reactions in voters= Scare the Effing Bejaysus out of Us!

Politics.ie Member FutureTaoiseach's Avatar

It's a load of rubbish from a party desperate to shift the blame. He conveniently ignores that 54% of Icelanders polled now oppose EU membership. They have seen through the opportunism of much of the Reykjavik elites which tried to link the 2 issues - and we will too. The ECB's policy of cheap credit played a huge role in creating this crisis, and is a harbinger of how not all European integration is a good idea.

Quote Originally Posted by FutureTaoiseach View Post
    It's a load of rubbish from a party desperate to shift the blame. He conveniently ignores that 54% of Icelanders polled now oppose EU membership. They have seen through the opportunism of much of the Reykjavik which tried to link the 2 issues - and we will too.
    Rome also is seen, I suppose, as central to the Christian way of life and Renaissance type Civilisation: Rationalism, Materialism , Art and lots of holy stuff for those that way inclined.

:- http://www.liverpoolmuseums.org.uk/w...c/poussin.aspx
    Last edited by Christine Murray; 17th March 2009 at 07:09 PM.

Politics.ie Member CookieMonster's Avatar

Oh f**k off Lenihan!

Rome or Reykjavik my hairy hole.

In other words: Jasis lads, would a look at it this way. We f**ked up, f**ked up bad. But ... but ya know wha', lads... it's like dis. Either yis vote for that Lisbon yoke or it'll be a FG government next time because we haven't got a f**king clue what to do now, not a bull's notion...
    A poster of some consequence...

Ok. here goes. I'll vote yes next time if someone can show me how Lisbon will save this economy!
    Every one sees what you appear to be, few really know what you are, and those few dare not oppose themselves to the opinion of the many, who have the majesty of the state to defend them.

- [SIZE=2]Niccolò Machiavelli[/SIZE]

Politics.ie Member CookieMonster's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Bobert View Post
    Ok. here goes. I'll vote yes next time if someone can show me how Lisbon will save this economy!
    Look, Bobert. It just will, right. You lot voted no last time and now look at the mess we're in. At least if the other lads are in charge they won't waste our money of things like €20m development aid building swimming pools in Caribbean paradises and the like, will they? And there are our "partners" in Europe who love us so much (but only when we agree with them, that is) who will also save us, but not Hungary, so that's now it is.

Bobert, d'ya like fish? Because if you vote no again that's all ye'll be eatin', sleepin' and drinkin'.

Your choice, no pressure. And here, have some money to help you think about it...
    A poster of some consequence...

Bloomberg:Irish to ?Choose Rome Over Reykjavik,? Lenihan Says (Update1) - Bloomberg.com

Indo: The Indo Links directly to the Bloomberg

This is what is generally accepted as negative campaigning; but I doubt the Opposition will take on an iota of what he says- which is really a pity.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast