Got it this morning. I also got one from a local TD urging a yes paid for by the Dail. Is that allowed?
Got it today in the post - still to trying to figure out if I can sue them under the Trade Descriptions act - seeing as its called " the Truth about the LisbonTreaty" and then proceeds to spend the rest of the leaflet "quoting" anything and anybody but the Lisbon Treaty
on top of the that - its the most patronising guff I've ever read outside a Coir poster - do they really think that the Irish people are that stupid?
Once again I think they have overreached big time - the No hardcore will be masturbating all over it - but , like the Coir posters ,its making it very easy for Yes canvassers like myself on the doorsteps of the cautious and undecided - and the tide is slowly turning towards Yes - the shrill and OTT lingo in this leaflet only helps this.
But for Lisbon 1 you said:
"Just in after another depressing evening on the canvass trail - This treaty campaign is going down in flames and its nothing to do with the Lisbon Treaty.
There is so much anger out there and bit by bit its all falling into place for me.
The comments in general what Im getting are as follows:
1) we are losing our identity and if we vote for this treaty we will lose it forever
2) economic uncertainty - will there be enough jobs for us all and particularly my children
3) Social services and facilities at stresspoint - too many people looking for too few services
4) we need to slow down and start caring care of our own and giving priority to our own
This in the leafy streets of Dublin 6.
So what has changed? Same document same doors?
The truth is incontrovertible, malice may attack it, ignorance may deride it, but in the end; there it is.
Yes - the atmosphere has changed big time - dont ask me to put my finger exactly on it - but the fact is that we (the irish people) are not feeling half as bolshie,up our own backsides metaphorically speaking as last time out - people are still giving out - but that anger is being directed towards the current government and the people are distinguishing between the treaty and the current government - also our plunging economic fortunes and the fact that the general population are just about seeing the exact extent of the hole we are in - has resulted in some strategic re-evaluation
Also - the NO campaign - being as disorganised as it is - has made some major strategic errors - mainly in putting up "definite" "figures" and "facts" in their communications - making it so much easier to rebuff on the doorsteps cos even the electorate themselves are finding the shrill, OTT and strident language used and heard from the NO camp a bit hard to take seriously this time out.
Dont know what Ganley is playing at TBH - he wont have the impact he had last time - he's yesterdays man and of the bright smart young things he surrounded himself with the last time - all he is left with is McGuirk - who ,in my personal experience of working with on a few campaigns with - doesn't know when to stop -particularly on the negative campaigning - I wouldn't be surprised if he has been advising the Coir people -
As I told the NO folks here at the start of this current campaign earlier in the summer - I said that this referendum will be decided on the economic atmosphere in the country - that is the NO campaigns major major problem - the populace, in general, really couldn't give a monkeys about abortion,militarization etc etc and all the rest of that mad guff about freedom etc etc - the NO campaign have nobody or nothing credible to say about how voting NO will enhance peoples economic prospects - seriously - they dont - look at the candidates?
Sinn Fein -enough said.
Coir - whats an economy? - can it be aborted?
Joe Higgins - to paraphrase LBJs 1964 presidential campaign - "in your heart you feel he might have a point or two - but in your guts you know he's nuts"
Declan Ganley - should be the most credible economic candidate - but he did himself irreperable damage during the EP campaign -he's much more a known quantity than the last time - and the whoppers he told on abortion and other non-economic issues have come back to haunt him big time - also the fact that he's had no businesses worth talking about in Ireland - paid feck all tax here - will all count against him too.
Im sure the NO people will be on here to savage what I've said above - but the membership and viewership of P.ie will not decide this referendum - it will be sides whose spokespersons and canvassers sound more sane and credible on the doorstep where the number one issue is jobs and the economy - the fact that Brian Lenihan is actually making a very good impression of somebody who knows what they are talking about over NAMA - whether he is right or wrong - is making a strong impact on the doorsteps and is actually helping the YEs Campaign- Note Bene Fine Gael!
Oh, NAMA, the collapse of the property bubble, negative equity, public sector pay, the Irish business cost base, the incompetence of the people we elected, the lack of adequate regulation, the biasing of the economy towards the friends of Fianna Fáil - that sort of thing.
There's a lot to be said for keeping the EU on side, getting Lisbon out of the way, and getting down to work.
Never let the best be the enemy of the good.