Page 3 of 47 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Thread: Kildare GE runners & riders

Politics.ie Regular Effin Effer!!!'s Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by just_society2 View Post
    Would Kildare not be a large swing constituency with young and disaffected commuters in so called 'Deckland'. This area, and Meath, supported FF heavily last time out, I can't see them voting as much for them next time out.

FG should kick themselves if they don't pick up two seats in Kildare next time.

Good chance in Kildare North, in fairness.

Kildare South, with the exception of Newbridge still isn't very urbanised.

As for the newcomers to the area, many were Fianna Fail supporters from Dublin who won't vote no. 1 for Fine Gael come hell or high water. Big question will be where there transfers will go when they've finished voting for smaller candidates and parties or Labour.
    "There are three types of of untruth's in this world.

Lies, Dammed Lies and Statistics!"

Benjamin Disreali

I would also contend that Kildare Tpwn(while a much smaller town than Newbridge) would have a higher percebntage of not from kildare originally people among its population than newbridge would, but generall yes Kildare south is more rural.
    But that rural south of kildare south has a strong FG base vote.
    Dukes was a genetleman, but Im not sure what sort of a personal vote he ever had, any future FG TD in Kildare South will only ever be secure if they develop a personal vote as well as a party one.
    Thats why I think the GAA thing is so important
    "Sometimes the best thing a government can do is simply get out of the way"-Vince Cable

Quote Originally Posted by sandar View Post
    If O'Donnell is Towers chairman that will help him immensely.
    The advantage of being club secretary as opposed to chairman(heydon is secretary i think of laurences) is that you deal almost all of the time with rival clubs.
    I doubt FG headquraters would have paid for an Office in Newbridge if they thought the Nolans were going to use it, they are not serious individuals, and only Mrs Nolan would have personal popularity in the town
    Judging by what I'm hearing on the ground in Newbridge and your local analysis here, it would appear that it's game, set and match for O'Donnell to get the nod for the ticket so. Personally I would see the Fine Gael ticket being O'Donnell and Heydon.

Im twenty seven, and I've played GAA dfor a newbridge club and went to school there and dont know O'Donnell, and I would like to think there are not many of my geberation I dont know in the town, of course there are some though.
    I think O'Donnell lived in the area near the Texaco station. I am seriously open to correction on that one tough. But definitely went to Newbridge College.

Benjamin Disreali

Ah I see. I didnt go to newbridge College, so that would explain that side of it. Also to be fair I wouldnt know a lot of people up that end of the town, I'd know more at spikes end.
    O'Donnell and Heydon would be a good ticket if O'Donnell can get across that he is a newbridge native,
    But you have an FF Logo, so Im worried that we want the same options!
    "Sometimes the best thing a government can do is simply get out of the way"-Vince Cable

I would also contend that Kildare Tpwn(while a much smaller town than Newbridge) would have a higher percebntage of not from kildare originally people among its population than newbridge would, but generall yes Kildare south is more rural.
    But that rural south of kildare south has a strong FG base vote.
    Dukes was a genetleman, but Im not sure what sort of a personal vote he ever had, any future FG TD in Kildare South will only ever be secure if they develop a personal vote as well as a party one.
    Thats why I think the GAA thing is so important

Agreed 100% on Dukes!

The young F.G. cubs will have to do a Sean O'F on it and work long and hard in many different spheres over a number of years before making the breakthrough.

Benjamin Disreali

Ah I see. I didnt go to newbridge College, so that would explain that side of it. Also to be fair I wouldnt know a lot of people up that end of the town, I'd know more at spikes end.
    O'Donnell and Heydon would be a good ticket if O'Donnell can get across that he is a newbridge native,
    But you have an FF Logo, so Im worried that we want the same options!

Ha, Ha, Ha, That end of the town. Your obviously a Sarfields man so!!!

Trust me I'd be quite happy if they threw up Gillis and Daly again!

Just giving objective analysis of what I see going on within Fine Gael and in Kildare in general. Have alot of family all over Kildare, live on the decent side of the border outside Rathangan myself and I've worked in either Naas or Newbridge most of my working life, I'm 28 myself.
    Last edited by Effin Effer!!!; 5th July 2009 at 11:43 AM.

Benjamin Disreali

Dublin, but lived in Tipp, Limerick, Kildare, NI, UK & USA

KN Murphy will romp home she has a capacity 2 get votes outside her own area! Will Durkan go again and will McCreevey Jr. throw his hat in the ring esp. if Fitzpatrick doesn't go? Stagg is safe, however, the day he does hang up his hat could pose problems 4 labour! it'll be FG1 FF1 Lab1 Ind1.

Interesting side note if FG & Lab don't have enough seats, will they have to call on Murphy? can u imagion the competition between herself and stagg if she has to be smoozhed by the government?

Quote Originally Posted by jackryan View Post
    KN Murphy will romp home she has a capacity 2 get votes outside her own area! Will Durkan go again and will McCreevey Jr. throw his hat in the ring esp. if Fitzpatrick doesn't go? Stagg is safe, however, the day he does hang up his hat could pose problems 4 labour! it'll be FG1 FF1 Lab1 Ind1.

Interesting side note if FG & Lab don't have enough seats, will they have to call on Murphy? can u imagion the competition between herself and stagg if she has to be smoozhed by the government?

Wishfull thinking Jack!

While Murphy excelled in the By-Election she won't be elected in a General Election scenario. Party votes are easier to control and manage when all the larger parties put more than one candidate into the field.

Benjamin Disreali

No Im Moorefield and actually from not a million miles from where the texaco garage is, but wiuth the exception of perhaps two estates there, its a lot of new estates and new people, while Im one of those irritating people who is related to half the town and considers ye a blow-in if your grandad wasnt from round abouts!!!!

Know what you mean!

Remember going to the circus when I was young where Dunnes Stores is now. And my Father was an agricultural contractor who ploughed fields where Finlay's and McDonald's are situated. Newbridge has had to take in more than its fair share of economic refugees (Dub's) in the past fews years

Benjamin Disreali

Page 3 of 47 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast