Page 9 of 54 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast

Thread: Laois and Offaly, Local Elections 2009

Quote Originally Posted by Effin Effer!!! View Post
    Agree with most of your post.

Dooley is a good addition to the ticket and will do well. Personally I can see her taking a seat at the expence of one of the lads. Can't see us getting three in the current economic climate.

Met the new U.D.C. candidates at the Ard Fheis. All come across well. I'd love to see Shane Murray get in, keeps his head down and a very hard worker!

The disagree part:

I come from a farming family, actually I still live on the farm and my Father and my Uncles are all members of the I.F.A., we're all life long members of Fianna Fail and come form a strong Fianna Fail family background, coupled with our deep interest in all aspects of Offaly G.A.A. and none of us has ever heard of Ger Plunkett!!!

Most people up in North Offaly when talking about him say "is he a brother of Marks?". He's also going to get landed with canvassing the Geashill/Daingean area of North Offaly which is of course a Fine Gael stronghold.

Ye dont get out much so, you're info is not great again.

Ger Plunkett is a member of Fianna Fail, if you're so connected check it out with HQ or from CDC list, maybe you will chat him at the meeting tonight.

Also, a lot of people from Ballinagar to Walsh Island to Killeigh know him . His father was strong in the IFA, and as for your deep interest in GAA - he played with Tullamore, Raheen, Durrow and Kilcavan in Laois.

The subtle sly inferences to his brother Marks connection to Barry Cowen etc and Barry Cowens influence are disengenuous. And again, double check you're info as to who nominated him , I think you'll find Barry Cowen did not nominate him!

Someone is either working hard here to discredit local candidates or has a major bit of sour grapes!

You'd be forgiven for thinking Offaly FF is in a tizz altogether. What does your local TD make of the whole thing? It hardly says much about his ability to marshal the troops in his own backyard, never mind FF backbenchers.
    Have you read my blog?

as quoted by Sarah Carey in the
    on 12/08/10

Quote Originally Posted by aodh_rua View Post
    You'd be forgiven for thinking Offaly FF is in a tizz altogether. What does your local TD make of the whole thing? It hardly says much about his ability to marshal the troops in his own backyard, never mind FF backbenchers.

I think you'll find the both the local troops and the backbenchers will pull together as a team when it counts

Politics.ie Regular Effin Effer!!!'s Avatar

Another Independent???

Fidelma Doolan from Rhode has this morning announced that she is resigning from the Fianna Fail party and her job as political secretary to Cllr. John Foley. T.C. citing her dissatisfaction with the selection process as her reason for leaving.

She also announced her intention to run as an independent candidate in the Edenderry L.E.A.

Is Liam Quinn from Rhode? He seems to have his campaign up and running'

Quote Originally Posted by Quiet Man View Post
    Ye dont get out much so, you're info is not great again.

Ger Plunkett is a member of Fianna Fail, if you're so connected check it out with HQ or from CDC list, maybe you will chat him at the meeting tonight.

Also, a lot of people from Ballinagar to Walsh Island to Killeigh know him . His father was strong in the IFA, and as for your deep interest in GAA - he played with Tullamore, Raheen, Durrow and Kilcavan in Laois.

The subtle sly inferences to his brother Marks connection to Barry Cowen etc and Barry Cowens influence are disengenuous. And again, double check you're info as to who nominated him , I think you'll find Barry Cowen did not nominate him!

Someone is either working hard here to discredit local candidates or has a major bit of sour grapes!

I get out a hell of alot more than you do by the look of it!!!

From what I hear Plunkett attended an Edenderry C.C. meeting there a while ago. He turned up late, sat at the back, never introduced himself and left well before the meeting ended. Spin it what-ever way you like but the fact is that most of the members in North Offaly (the people he expects to canvas for him) don't know who he is or even what he looks like!

Quote Originally Posted by vista View Post
    He is indeed.

Quote Originally Posted by Quiet Man
    I think you'll find the both the local troops and the backbenchers will pull together as a team when it counts
    Hmm - it seems they'll pull together on a number of teams. You've now got two independent FF candidates, and I think there'll be a few more in the Edenderry area come June. I don't think that level of indiscipline and revolt can be easily dismissed when you're talking about the Taoiseach's constituency.
    Have you read my blog?

as quoted by Sarah Carey in the
    on 12/08/10

Quote Originally Posted by vista View Post

He is indeed! For Fine Gael. Seems to be well got there too. But he would have needed Geashill and Daingean (both large F.G. voting areas) to get in. Michael Fox's addition to the ticket by H.Q. will scupper his chances in my opinion, which is a pity as it would be good to get some new blood into the area. He's boxed in by Nicola Hogan in Edenderry Town and John Foran in Clonbullogue in the other directions.

Quote Originally Posted by Effin Effer!!! View Post
    Fidelma Doolan from Rhode has this morning announced that she is resigning from the Fianna Fail party and her job as political secretary to Cllr. John Foley. T.C. citing her dissatisfaction with the selection process as her reason for leaving.

She also announced her intention to run as an independent candidate in the Edenderry L.E.A.
    sure u might give it a shot yourself

Quote Originally Posted by Quiet Man View Post
    sure u might give it a shot yourself

Don't think anyone outside of cyberspace has heard of Effin Effer???

Page 9 of 54 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast