Page 20 of 150 FirstFirst ... 1018192021223070120 ... LastLast

Thread: Laois local elections 2009

It might have been Fianna Fáils thinking to take a few votes from Councillor Adebari when they put a non-national on the ticket.
    While on the issue of Councillor Adebari, did anyone see the front page article of the Laois Nationalist this week? Interesting reading. Seemingly Councillor Adebari was made an Irish citizen last week.
    But more interestingly, the article said he gained asylum status in Ireland based on his claims he was religiously persecuted in his home country of Nigeria. However the article goes on to say, after he was granted asylum from religious persecution in his home country he returned there where he was celebrated and made a chieftain of the town he claimed he was prosecuted in.
    Is it me, or does something not sit right with this story?

Quote Originally Posted by Anthony ml View Post
    Joe the Hesh McCormack is running as an independent in Portlaoise.

At 76 he will be the oldest candidate.
    I heard this ok. He has a large extended family and is seen as a bit of a character around the area ( I know this is a bit of an understatement ). He would have a core vote of about 80 votes I would say.

But people are upset and sick of the status quo.

I think his entry is a joke. He is very imobile at the moment and I would question what work he could really do for the constituents of the area.

I really believe this is a wasted vote. But imagine he got more votes than Jack Nolan?

Now that would be funny. You never know!!

Quote Originally Posted by Anthony ml View Post
    Joe the Hesh McCormack is running as an independent in Portlaoise.

At 76 he will be the oldest candidate.
    Go on the Hesh! Hesh for poll topper!!!
    Well probably not...that will be either Stanley (if lone SF candidate) or Aird, but don't rule out him outpolling Nolan and a good number of the FFers. He's down well in the TC elections in the past.

Quote Originally Posted by Swingingdoor View Post
    I hear Fianna Fáil have picked their team for the elections in Portlaoise
    Jack Nolan, Catherine Fitzgerald, Aoife O’Meara, Jerry Lodge, Liam Phelan and a Polish lady by the name of Ala Olsevska.
    She's of Lithuanian descent according to the "Leinster"

Quote Originally Posted by Swingingdoor View Post
    It might have been Fianna Fáils thinking to take a few votes from Councillor Adebari when they put a non-national on the ticket.
    While on the issue of Councillor Adebari, did anyone see the front page article of the Laois Nationalist this week? Interesting reading. Seemingly Councillor Adebari was made an Irish citizen last week.
    But more interestingly, the article said he gained asylum status in Ireland based on his claims he was religiously persecuted in his home country of Nigeria. However the article goes on to say, after he was granted asylum from religious persecution in his home country he returned there where he was celebrated and made a chieftain of the town he claimed he was prosecuted in.
    Is it me, or does something not sit right with this story?
    Ye I think this has to be really examined by the electorate of Portlaoise. He would not be known as avery hard working councillor ( thats been polite ) and enjoys more his celebrity status than the bread and butter issues of council work.

The political and economic climate will be very diiferent for Rotimi this time around.

It is clear ,after Rotimi's heroic return to his homeland, that he was economical with the truth on his aslymum application and many in Potlaoise believe him to be an opportunist of the highest order.

Now it will depend on how many non nationals he has registered this time around, but in my opinion he wont get the vote that he got the last time. Certainly not the Irish vote.

I also want to say that if you are a public rep or you are asking for peoples vote, then those people in turn have a right to question you on your past and present associations.

To this end has councillor Adebari any connections or business interests with Shell in Ireland or Nigeria?

Did councillor Adebari canvass in portlaoise in 2004 with a man who last year was convicted of a serios crime and sentenced to over 10 years? this case was covered alot in the Leinster and Nationalist and I will forward a link to it when i locate it.

Quote Originally Posted by Trans-Siberian View Post

To this end has councillor Adebari any connections or business interests with Shell in Ireland or Nigeria?
    I saw at first hand the operation that Shell have on the Niger delta when in Port Harcourt and it is nothing less than crimenal. Shell, Dick Cheany the US VP and his company Halliburton would be imprisoned in any western country for the sheer brutality of the operation, from the treatment of the local population (by private arm units) to the treatment of the ecology and envoirnment (the locals in Mayo are getting royal treatment).

However to take up 'Trans-Siberian' question, is it based on knowledge or mere speculation, because I would be really shocked for anyone to be associated with the regime that is in action in Nigeria.

Michael Moloney

Quote Originally Posted by Michael Moloney MCC(I) View Post
    I saw at first hand the operation that Shell have on the Niger delta when in Port Harcourt and it is nothing less than crimenal. Shell, Dick Cheany the US VP and his company Halliburton would be imprisoned in any western country for the sheer brutality of the operation, from the treatment of the local population (by private arm units) to the treatment of the ecology and envoirnment (the locals in Mayo are getting royal treatment).

However to take up 'Trans-Siberian' question, is it based on knowledge or mere speculation, because I would be really shocked for anyone to be associated with the regime that is in action in Nigeria.

Michael Moloney
    The second question I posed is fact. All of this information is freely available although I dont think many people would of put the connection together. And it happened well after Rotimi was associated with him, to be fair. But even at the time certain people in Portlaoise were uncomfortable having this man on their doorsteps. The offence and case received national press and the grotesque nature of the crime shocked many.

I personally know people who remember Rotimi canvassing with this man. If a picture was available and that is a possibility, many peolple who have supported Rotimi woul have egg on their faces. This might make the national papers considering they all covered the case,some had it on the front pages.

Now sorry for avoiding your origianal question. To be fair I have no hard proof to back this up. It had been mentioned to me by a businees man not from the area.So no hard proof, but I think it is possible to at least look a little further into this. I will try and I belive there is something there.. Councillor Adebari has his fingers in many pies and no matter what I say about other public reps on this thread they all do some work.

What was said to me was that he was representing SHells business interests here in Ireland on behalf of business men back in Nigeria. I know very little of Shell in Nigeria but have heard their business ethics there are not up to standard. I dont mean to downplay the serious situation you portray.

But no matter what criticisims I level against Councillors on Laois county council I would
    say that none of them would have anything to hide similar to what I mentioned above and they all to some work to contribute to their areas. Adebari just wants to be in front on te cameras

It seems that some people are suffering buyers remorse, regarding Rotimi Adebari. A previous post mentioned that some of those that voted for Rotimi would have egg on their faces ! It may be inconvenient to mention that our elected representatives in Portlaoise elected him as first citizen of the town. (town mayor)
    I always felt that this was political correctness gone askew. Surely this title was more appropriate to lifelong servants of the community.

How did this portray the town,, was it positive or immature.? take you pick.

One has to be careful to remember that as a result of laws introduced by our "betters" , in Ireland to day you can no longer say what you think,

This is one case where Free speech is not tolerated.

Long live............Oh sorry I can't say that either.

Politics.ie Newbie PoliticalRealist's Avatar

Ye I think this has to be really examined by the electorate of Portlaoise. He would not be known as avery hard working councillor ( thats been polite ) and enjoys more his celebrity status than the bread and butter issues of council work.

After Rotimi's heroic return to his homeland, that he was economical with the truth on his aslymum application and many in Potlaoise believe him to be an opportunist of the highest order.
    That's all true. He was a novelty at first but the people of the town are getting tired of him and they haven't saw him "beard to beard" in a LONG time.

Quote Originally Posted by Trans-Siberian
    Did councillor Adebari canvass in portlaoise in 2004 with a man who last year was convicted of a serios crime and sentenced to over 10 years? this case was covered alot in the Leinster and Nationalist and I will forward a link to it when i locate it.
    The second question I posed is fact. All of this information is freely available although I dont think many people would of put the connection together. And it happened well after Rotimi was associated with him, to be fair. But even at the time certain people in Portlaoise were uncomfortable having this man on their doorsteps. The offence and case received national press and the grotesque nature of the crime shocked many.
    The case is still very familiar in Portlaoise town and a large number of people remember the individual in question not only canvassing with Cllr. Adebari but directing areas of his local campaign. I cannot say I've ever saw a photograph of Adebari with the individual but we'll certainly never one now anyway.

RE: Hesh McCormack

In the Laois Nationalist this week he has stated that he is looking for young people to run as Independents alongside himself. Is anything likely to come of this, and has he any extended family in the age bracket for running?

THE Hesh has always banged on about trying to get ‘young people’ to run as Independents alongside him.
    Sure why wouldn’t he.
    No matter what people may think of him, he’s a wily political mover. The Hesh would groom these young candidates, tell them to look for number twos for him and he’d do the same for them. But when push would come to shove the Hesh would conveniently forget to tell the electorate to give their number two to the young candidates.
    As they say here in Laois. A cute hoor altogether. One of his sons ran in the Luggacurren electoral area one time

RE: canvasser with Rotimi Adebari.
    That rumour about the paedophile who canvassed with Councillor Adebari is gaining momentum since it was first posted here a couple of days ago. I was contacted by two people who can recall the man going from door to door with Councillor Adebari during the last town council election campaign.