Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: outcome in new constituencies of Meath east & west

HP

Why are you so confident re Doherty?

I had two FGers at the door the other day urging me to vote FG down the line but they had to check their own leaflet to see what the second candidate (Doherty) was called.

Haven't seen the weekender.

Quote Originally Posted by HP
    Why are you so confident re Doherty?

I had two FGers at the door the other day urging me to vote FG down the line but they had to check their own leaflet to see what the second candidate (Doherty) was called.

Haven't seen the weekender.
    Good reaction from the people I have canvassed for her in South Meath over the past few weeks. She is quite a capable and articulate candidate, who has built up a good profile in her end of the constituency. Considering where the base from which she came - compared to say Hannigan - I am confident that she will show well in a packed field.

Politics.ie Regular bradán feasa's Avatar

Re the wiff about Hannigan see the Weekender or the Phoenix

HP

Hannigan must be doing well..

There were a lot of people pissed off here at the constant blocking of planning permission for Lidl and Aldi by councillors with retail interests, so its not really a surprise that someone with political ambitions might try and get one or other into the town.

Just read the Phoenix and the Drogheda Leader pieces, both sound like smears hinting not only at corruption but also at lifestyle choices.

FF dirty tricks?

Could somebody post a link to these (alleged) FF smear pieces on Hannigan?
    Economic Left/Right: -3.13; Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -1.64
    University politics are so vicious, precisely because the stakes are so small.” Henry Kissinger

Quote Originally Posted by jjcarroll
    Is the Weekender out? Heard there may be something interesting in it.
    "The Weekender" is out tomorrow. Get in line....

HP

Quote Originally Posted by Maximilian
    Quote Originally Posted by jjcarroll
    Is the Weekender out? Heard there may be something interesting in it.
    "The Weekender" is out tomorrow. Get in line....
    They're slow. It was in last week's Drogheda Leader.

Original story was in the Phoenix so if you subscribe to that you can probably check it on line.

I subscribe but the site doesn't recognise my name or i'd paste it in.

May 10 ed of Meath Chronicle
    http://www.meathchronicle.ie/Front_Page ... 76578.html

‘Clear air’ challenge to Hannigan -

The relationship between Colr Hannigan and development companies is explored in a dossier circulated to newspapers in recent weeks. The dossier centres on the development of two retail parks on the outskirts of Drogheda - by DDF Partnership and Mellview Developments Ltd.

Three candidates in the Meath East constituency - Thomas Byrne (FF), Brian Fitzgerald (Independent) and AJ Cahill (Independent) - have called on Colr Hannigan, a member of Meath County Council, to clear the air.

There is no suggestion that Colr Hannigan did anything untoward. The councillor’s election agent, Eoin Holmes, has said that Colr Hannigan was the victim of a “smear campaign”. Colr Hannigan himself this week said everything in a Phoenix magazine article has been in the public domain and on the public record for some time.

Before he was elected a councillor, Colr Hannigan in 2003 objected to plans by the DDF company for a retail park at Rathmullen, in County Meath, suggesting that it would create traffic congestion. He later withdrew the objection stating that he had been instructed to do so by an unnamed client for whom he had been acting in his professional role as a planner.

He said that the client had been intimidated, a claim which was denied by the company.

In January last, despite his previous statements, the councillor proposed an amendment to the draft county development plan on behalf of DDF. The amendment would have cleared the way for a discount food store at the company’s retail park. Colr Hannigan withdrew the amendment when council officials expressed opposition to it.

When Colr Hannigan lodged his original objection to the DDF plan, a rival firm, Mellview developments Ltd, was finalising plans for its own retail park across the Boyne at Waterunder. Architect for the scheme was Brian McClean, who is a partner with Colr Hannigan in 4D Consulting Ltd, based in Dublin.

Independent candidate in the election, AJ Cahill, called on Colr Hannigan to make a full disclosure concerning his relationship with local property developers and to answer all the questions raised in a magazine publication.

He said that while he accepted the questions raised by Phoenix magazine may be unfounded, “I am calling for a full disclosure of Colr Hannigan’s relationship, and that of his business partners, with property developers, in particular those currently active in east Meath,” he said.

Fianna Fail candidate Thomas Byrne said: “He (Colr Hannigan) needs to clear the air and he should be allowed to do so. It seems to be serious but we can’t come to any conclusion until he gives his side of the story.”

Colr Brian Fitzgerald said that if the suggestions in the magazine were accurate, Colr Hannigan had questions to answer. “He has to be given the opportunity to answer it. I will suspend judgement until I get those answers,” said Colr Fitzgerald.

In a statement issued yesterday (Tuesday) afternoon, Colr Hannigan said: “Before I became a county councillor, in my professional capacity as a planning adviser, I did indeed lodge an objection to the Rathmullen Retail Park development on behalf of a client. The proposers of the development were obviously less than happy with my objection and this was made clear to me at the time. My client subsequently instructed me to withdraw the objection.

“Three years later, in December 2006, in my role as a public representative, I was approached by the owners of the Rathmullen Retail Park. They asked to propose a change in the designation of part of their site to allow a cheap food retail store to open. The current designation allowed for a non-food store to be opened, selling goods such as electrical items or carpets.

“I gave the matter considerable thought. Despite my previous negative experience with the owners of the park, as a public representative, I had to look at the broader benefits of having an additional cheap food retailer in the area. I supported the idea of an Aldi store because I believe that competition amongst food retailers is good for consumers. We know choice drives down prices and we don’t have enough low-cost supermarkets in our area.”

He went on: “I put this down as a motion for the County Development Plan. However, having listened to the advice of the planning officials and heard their arguments, I accepted that, in this particular case, the proposed location was not the best one for a cheap food store. Consequently, I withdrew the motion.”

The Labour councillor added that he was “a bit confused about the fuss here. Are my opponents upset that I supported an Aldi in Drogheda or that I didn’t support it enough? What exactly is their problem here? The people of Meath will judge me on my track record, which speaks for itself.”

HP

That little bollix byrne sent round a news letter to our estate detailing his support in our campaign to prevent a load of houses being built behind us...

Needless to say he did feck all! 5 residents (including my hse) and hannigan put in an objection that was sucessful last month but reading the ff leaflet delivered at the last possible minute on wed you'd think the little estate agent was right behind us all the way...

Anyone round here involved in the campaign against those houses will be thinking what a lying little toe rag.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123