View Poll Results: Is the PDs existence as a party on the line in this election?

Voters
43. You must be logged in to vote on this poll. Please login or register for free
  • Yes

31 72.09%
  • No

12 27.91%
  • Don't know

0 0%
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Parlon will vote Kenny as Taoiseach

The Analyser said:

I thought when I heard it first that it was just an urban myth but I have come across too many people who have experienced it first hand, or directly from voters.

First FG canvassers, and now FF canvassers, have been reporting over the last few days that voters in Laois-Offaly have been told by Parlon canvassers that they do not need to vote for FG to ensure the election of Enda Kenny as taoiseach. Bizarrely some PD canvassers have been telling voters that Parlon will support Kenny also!
    In the last general election most of Parlon's support came from disaffected FG voters. He stated that the PDs would be prepared to coalesce with FG-over two months ago. However McDowell slapped him down. This is typical Parlon cute hoor politics. He is trying to mislead FG voters -to hold onto their support. He is basically trying to hold the support of soft FG voters who drifted to him on the last occasion. If FF and the PDs have the numbers he will support Bertie. He is pretending that he is an FG TD.

Parlan work for the IFA won him most of his votes, I'd hardly say it was just disaffected FG voters.

Although I do agree, Parlan days are numbered. His performance over the last few days leads me to believe he is cosing up to FG (1) to prevent anymore leakage or (2) somewhere to go if the PDs implode.
    The word 'politics' is derived from the word 'poly', meaning 'many', and the word 'ticks', meaning 'blood sucking parasites

Kf

I got as far as "appartenly" and realised this post by analyser was more garbage. Facts please in future.

Politics.ie Regular The Trinity Politick's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by culbair
    The Analyser said:

I thought when I heard it first that it was just an urban myth but I have come across too many people who have experienced it first hand, or directly from voters.

First FG canvassers, and now FF canvassers, have been reporting over the last few days that voters in Laois-Offaly have been told by Parlon canvassers that they do not need to vote for FG to ensure the election of Enda Kenny as taoiseach. Bizarrely some PD canvassers have been telling voters that Parlon will support Kenny also!
    In the last general election most of Parlon's support came from disaffected FG voters. He stated that the PDs would be prepared to coalesce with FG-over two months ago. However McDowell slapped him down. This is typical Parlon cute hoor politics. He is trying to mislead FG voters -to hold onto their support. He is basically trying to hold the support of soft FG voters who drifted to him on the last occasion. If FF and the PDs have the numbers he will support Bertie. He is pretending that he is an FG TD.
    Enda Kenny and Pat Rabbitte BOTH told Micky to fock off a long time ago, so thats a non runner.
    “If you elect a matinee idol mayor, you’re going to have a musical comedy administration.” -Robert Moses

So let me try and collate the views of the blueshirts on this thread.

1. Parlon should only say he will vote for Bertie, even though there is no election pact between the two parties and it looks unlikely that the parties will get the numbers anyway.

2. Flanagan deserves the seat because he used to occupy it and there has been a Flanagan in it for years.

3. Parlon doesn't deserve it because he's from a farming background and should be sent back to shovel animal byproducts.

This all says so much about the blueshirts. I've no fondness for Parlon at all but after the nonsense spouted here, I really hope he hangs on, just to annoy ye lot!
    “Common sense is the collection of prejudices acquired by age eighteen” - Albert Einstein

Politics.ie Regular The Trinity Politick's Avatar

No one deserves a seat. It was a congratulatory comment solely based around how Parlon is a bone fide idiot.
    “If you elect a matinee idol mayor, you’re going to have a musical comedy administration.” -Robert Moses

Look, Charlie Flanagan himself has said that voters went in their 'thousands' from him to Parlon in 2002. Parlon knows he can only survive by holding onto those votes. If he loses them, he's a goner. The 'natural' PD constituency in Laois Offaly, if it exists at all any more as it did when Cathy Honan ran all those years ago, is about 4,000 first preferences. Parlon got 9,000 in 2002, could afford to drop to 6,000 this time and still be in a fight for a seat - but only if he can stay ahead of Flanagan. Hence, it boils down to the same thing again, Flanagan v Parlon, but this time Flanagan is convinced voters will see through the 'fog' created by Parlon five years ago - the fog that made people think he wasn't an FF prop. Parlon knows this so he's now trying to recreate that veil of fog. Will it work?

Quote Originally Posted by Biffo
    Careful Tom the blueshirts down here are chomping at the bit to return Flanagan and will not be transferring to Parlon and be damn sure we wont be either.
    By God, Biffo. That's some U-turn

You've been defending him on here for years
    "The IRA Army Council have a history of telling the truth. If they say they didn't do it, then I believe them" - Bertie Ahern, speaking after the murder of Det. Garda Jerry McCabe

Quote Originally Posted by BarryW
    Quote Originally Posted by Biffo
    Careful Tom the blueshirts down here are chomping at the bit to return Flanagan and will not be transferring to Parlon and be damn sure we wont be either.
    By God, Biffo. That's some U-turn

You've been defending him on here for years
    I have not. He is fighting a hard campaign and may well be more of a threat to FF than FG at this stage.

I'm not a PD, but I think you can disregard their 2% & 3% in polls, they have a serious chance of holding many of their seats.
    I think McDowell, Harney, O'Donnell & Parlon have a very good chance of holding on, with hope not completely gone for Grealish & Tim O'Malley.
    If Parlon is playing every card at his disposal you can't blame him, I hope to hell he doesn't hold on at the expense of one of the FF candidates.

As to the Flanagan dynasty, such as it is, I don't know if Flanagan the Younger shares the politics of his father, but in the absence of any renunciation and given he's also in FG, it would be interesting to know if he & FG share the opinions on Jews expressed by Oliver J in the 1940s.
    My Homer is not a communist!
    He may be a liar, an idiot, a pig, a communist, but he is not a porn star!
    (Abe Simpson)

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast