Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gilmore Calls on Ahern to Resign

Politics.ie Regular seamasdefaoite's Avatar

Gilmore Calls on Ahern to Resign

Labour Party Leader Eamon Gilmore this morning called on An Taoiseach Bertie Ahern to resign, saying he should step down now rather than make a political fight out of the issue.

Mr Gilmore said that An Taoiseach's statements to the tribunal had not been satisfactory, and that, in the interest of the country, the office and of his [Ahern's] party, Mr Ahern should resign.

More:
    RTÉ News

Earlier:
    Newly Elected Labour Party Leader, Eamon Gilmore TD has announced that he intends to question an Taoiseach, Bertie Ahern about the conflicting accounts that he gave to the Mahon Tribunal regarding payments to him by businessman Michael Wall.

Labour Press Statement
    [color=#BF0000]Seamas de Faoite,[/color]

Perhaps Gilmore can raise the specter of the St Liukes Fund?

About time somebody said something.

my sentiments exactly

Politics.ie Member CookieMonster's Avatar

Oh god, I can just imagine the smug reply Ahern will have about the new boy making a scene. I hope Eamonn have the fibre to pull it off.
    A poster of some consequence...

he wont be in any mood to make smug comments. trace back to may when vincent brown really layed into him. the venom in his reaction was clear. lets hope we can see that again

Excellent news from Eamon Gilmore. It's time this spiv of a Taoiseach was made accountable for his financial double-talk and sharp practice. I notice that, like all the other corrupt and venal men hauled before the Truibunal before him, that Bertie has also had recourse to the 'I can't recall ...' excuse. Shame on him and those who act as apologists for him.

Politics.ie Regular The Trinity Politick's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by CookieMonster
    Oh god, I can just imagine the smug reply Ahern will have about the new boy making a scene. I hope Eamonn have the fibre to pull it off.
    I think Gilmore is more....serious....than Pat Rabbitte. For example you could get a chuckle or sly grin out of Pat that usually ended the torrade against FF. Gilmore is far more serious. I reckon he should and will do well.
    “If you elect a matinee idol mayor, you’re going to have a musical comedy administration.” -Robert Moses

Quote Originally Posted by setanta
    Excellent news from Eamon Gilmore. It's time this spiv of a Taoiseach was made accountable for his financial double-talk and sharp practice. I notice that, like all the other corrupt and venal men hauled before the Truibunal before him, that Bertie has also had recourse to the 'I can't recall ...' excuse. Shame on him and those who act as apologists for him.
    Exactly. Ahern also seems to be suffering from a form of psychosis. Where are the men in white coats? This is not how he wanted it all to end - there is a ruthless determination in there to ensure that the official record does not record the obvious. Brian Cowen is nuts to align himself to Ahern at this stage yet he is on the record in the Sindo ( ) as saying that tribunals should be shut down! Sure, lovely lads like 'Bertie' should be free do whatever they like and never be accountable for any of it.

First post updated with Gilmore call for resignation

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast